Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Traveller (2916)
Panorama of the Indoor Swimming Pool at the Low Wood Bay
360
Panoramas (2)
Oak Duplex Bathroom
Room & Suite (323)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#10 of 19 hotels in Windermere
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa is located right on the shoreline of Lake Windermere with spectacular views. The resort rooms are varied in size and style and there is the exclusive Winander Club with it's own private bar and breakfast lounge. There’s a choice of 2 restaurants, Blue Smoke on the Bay, which offers a relaxed wood-fired cooking experience and The W (formally the Windermere Restaurant) a modern restaurant serving classic British and continental dishes. The Spa is a major attraction to the resort and benefits from beautiful panoramic views across Windermere from the indoor pool or the outdoor infinity pool. Spa Breaks include a choice of treatments and indoor and outdoor thermal experiences. For the adventurous, why not take advantage of our onsite Watersports centre which offers instruction wake surfing, canoeing, paddle-boarding, motorboat hire and sailing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Boating
Canoeing
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Green
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Carlisle Lake District Airport
36.8 mi
See all flights
Newcastle Airport
66.5 mi
See all flights
4,079Reviews62Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,439
  • 826
  • 408
  • 227
  • 180
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jf367 wrote a review Jul 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom21 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is in a great location to explore Windermere, right on the lake with beautiful views of the landscape. We paid extra for a front facing room, and the views made it worth the price. The room itself was decorated to a very high standard, the bathroom was a good size with everything you needed. Check in was very easy, and we appreciated the additional security of the on site staff obtaining names of people entering the car park. During our stay, there were a number of restaurant closures meaning we wouldn't have been able to eat in the hotel if we had wanted to, however, we had other plans so it wasn't a big concern. We did manage to book in for breakfast, which is highly recommended - a gorgeous setting, great options and generous portion sizes. We also had a few drinks in the bar, which was also a great atmosphere. Overall, we'd definitely recommend as a relaxing base, but make sure you book in for any reservations you may need while there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel LowWoodBay, Guest Services / Front Office at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Dear Jo & Sarge, Thank you for reviewing you most recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel position with beautiful vistas across Lake Windermere. Our Lakeview Bedrooms are equip with everything you need for a luxurious stay and are highly recommended to make the most of our lakeshore location. Our breakfast is the perfect way to start the day and Langdale bar is the ideal place to settle down and enjoy an after dinner digestif. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Daniel Buck Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LJ0524 wrote a review Oct 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok, forgive me for the long winded review.
Firstly, the staff at Low Wood are excellent, faultless really.
We payed to stay in a double room as the Lake view
rooms were £200 more, we felt we’d as well benefit from the view by stepping out of the hotel.
Our room was spacious and the bathroom included a roll top bath, which was lovely, unfortunately the shower was rather poor. A shower took possibly 10 mins longer as it wasn’t powerful in the slightest. The grout between the tiles (floor and walls) would benefit from a steam clean to eliminate the build up of lime scale there.
The facilities were very good.
You need to book the Health Club (includes pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi) in advance AND the gym needs to be booked separately. Keep in mind that Covid times create different rules.
The gym is very well equipped and usually most of the machines are available particularly during non-peak times in the year.....and with Covid.
The restaurants on site definitely know how to cook a steak. Blue Smoke had perfectly cooked fillet steak and The Windermere provided wonderful Beef Wellington (sorry vegi/vegan customers, can’t comment on the meal choices for yourselves).
I’d say the breakfasts are fairly good, though a little gristle in my sausage puts me off somewhat.
Everything is table service throughout the hotel and mostly you don’t need to wait to be served.
Overall the general experience was really good.
I do feel this area in The Lakes is becoming a little overpriced and tourism is high here but it very much depends and what you’re looking for in your break away?!
It is a hotel that has mastered how to adapt to the new restrictions of Covid and it’s as close to normal as you’ll probably get.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel LowWoodBay, Guest Services / Front Office at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Responded 15 Oct 2020
Dear LJ0524, Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. I'm delighted to hear you had a magnificent stay and found our staff to be wonderfully engaging and helpful. I'll certainly look into your comments about the bathroom to ensure it meets our usual high standards. Our Blue Smoke on the Bay restaurant features a wood fired grill as particularly famous for its steak selection, which I'm pleased you were able to sample. We as a management team have worked tirelessly to ensure our COVID19 safeguards are as good as can be and I'm pleased this provided you with peace of mind across your stay We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Daniel Buck Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
barbaragoldberg wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a wonderful 4 days and can't recommend the hotel highly enough. The location is perfect, directly opposite a harbour and water sports centre (which offers hotel guests a discount). The hotel facilities are excellent, including the rooms (great size) the dining options, the pool and the gym; in my experience hotel gyms can be limited, but the equipment and space were impressive.
All the staff were, almost without exception, friendly, helpful and eager to please, summed up by one of the waiting staff who said almost nothing mattered "as long as you enjoy yourself".
Although none of the reservation slots for breakfast or dinner were really suitable, they managed to accommodate us, similarly the health spa which operates a booking system to control numbers, but the large number of no-shows meant that we were able to access what we wanted, when we wanted, using some common sense.
The dog friendly nature of the hotel is demonstrated by the doggie treats available at the hotel bar - another demonstration of their attention to detail. Despite accepting 4 legged guests, the cleanliness or calm of the hotel were not negatively impacted at all and shouldn't deter those without dogs.

It would have been helpful to know in advance that a few facilities (outdoor pool/terrace) were only available to guests in one (more expensive) part of the hotel, but didn't impact on our enjoyment one bit.

Well done to all the management and staff for providing such a great place for an English holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Lake view room recommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel LowWoodBay, Guest Services / Front Office at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear BarbaraGoldberg, many thanks for your most wonderful review of your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your British Staycation and was able to make the most of our Resort status with many amenities on and around the Resort. The recent COVID restrictions do create a need for guests to be more organised in booking all Breakfast, Dinner and Health Club facilities prior to arrival; however I am delighted to hear that you were still able to get slots through cancellations when approaching the situation with a flexible mindset. The outdoor pool, hot tubs and fellside sauna can be accessed complimentary as a Winander or Spa guest or can be purchased as a Thermal Journey along with a host of indoor spa experiences for three hour slot directly with the Spa. Overall I am delighted you found every member of our team to be friendly and attentive and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Daniel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Babynole80 wrote a review Sept 2020
Cary, North Carolina176 contributions54 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we walked into the hotel, we felt unwelcome. We waited 8-10 minutes for someone to come to the front to check us in. I could hear the staff in the office behind reception and peaked by head in the door to see a girl sitting at a desk (who saw me as well) - no acknowledgement or gesture to her colleagues to come greet us. Another staff member who had walked by us several times finally asked us if we had been helped and then went to tell the reception staff to help us. No warm greeting and no apology for having to wait. The hotel has paused housekeeping, except for every third day, as part of their ‘safe haven’ Covid measures. I understand that some guests appreciate this, but when paying over £300 ($400 USD) a night, we expect a certain level of service and cleaning. The notice in the room said if you wished to have your room cleaned, just notify the front desk. We did this the evening before and the man at the front desk was so uninterested in helping us and more interested in telling us about the safe haven. He didn’t even write down our room number (at least while we were standing there), but did say he would look into it. Well, we never got our room cleaned and never even got new towels. Very disappointing.

The one positive experience we had was at the outdoor poor (twilight experience). Nick was very attentive and personable.

The hotel is in a great location with a beautiful view, but at this price point, the level of service and hospitality is significantly lacking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel LowWoodBay, Guest Services / Front Office at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Responded 30 Sept 2020
Dear BabyNole80, Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am disappointed to hear you felt unwelcomed throughout your stay. Our Receptionist was most likely on a telephone call when you were waiting but I would like to apologise for the undue wait upon check in. As you correctly state, we service our bedrooms every third day as standard and you can request a daily servicing or further replenishment items upon request. I'm saddened to hear you had made this request but it wasn't delivered. Thank you for your lovely comments about Nick, I'll be sure to pass them onto him and pleased that you found the twilight spa very relaxing. We have undertaken a variety of adaptions in service to make the Resort more COVID secure and placing the health and wellbeing of all our guests and staff at the forefront of decision making. These measures shouldn't impede on the levels of hospitality received and a good welcome is a vital part of our guest experience. Kind Regards, Daniel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holly H wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After researching hotels in the areas surrounding the Lake District, we were impressed by the website and several posts on social media. Although we were torn between a handful of ‘luxury’ hotels, the facilities which we had seen advertised drew us to book Low Wood Bay. We were incredibly excited for the trip but we were mindful of the fact that there would, without doubt, be some limitations and discrepancies due to COVID.

However, we felt completely let down throughout the trip, largely due to the misrepresentation of the hotel. Unfortunately, we were placed in a room which faced onto the court yard, meaning that we had to have our curtains closed throughout our stay to maintain privacy. Admittedly, we booked a standard room but the standard of this room was incredibly poor. It was very outdated compared to images from the website with leaks in the roof and a bathroom which was desperate for repair.

The staff were seen regularly cleaning touch points and this is of credit to them. However, within our room we were horrified to find soiled underwear from the guests beforehand.

Many restaurants were closed or completely fully booked. We had not received a call or any communication that required us to book a week in advance. Thankfully, we were more than happy to eat out but this was problematic for many guests.

Our main disappointment was that we were unable to access the hotel pool and that the beautiful infinity pool so regularly advertised is not included in your hotel package. I think this needs to be more clearly stated on the website as others were also under the impression that this was included in their hotel stay. (The girls at the spa reception were lovely.)

Overall, we felt the price of the hotel does not reflect the quality you receive and if we were to come to the Lake District again, we would not rebook.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nevil Jeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Dear Hollllyyy_H, Its disappointing to read we did not meet your expectations, resulting in you not visiting again due to shortfalls in room quality. I have double checked the Web site and the willow rooms are pictured and represented correctly. However as I have noted before, I will check the willow rooms and have any maintenance concerns resolved. We are working hard to improve pre arrival communications and only today introduced a 5 day pre arrival call, on top of the already implemented prearrival email communications. I've also checked the Web site and on numerous occasions, both with room descriptions, rate explanation and indeed within the health club and spa pages. We have outlined a simple to understand inclusive chart, outlining what included within you rate when it comes to the indoor health club, Spa experiences and out door infinity pool. I'm sorry if you missed these charts, resulting in your disappointment.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick L wrote a review Oct 2020
Netherfield, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel and stunning location with amazing views across the lake. We’re not food snobs but the quality of the breakfast was terrible. Undercooked sausages/bacon/mushrooms. Overcooked poached eggs. Simple things that any b&b nail. It was very poor. Evening meal was beef Wellington which again the pastry wasn’t cooked. With everything else being spot on the food really marred the whole experience. Such a shame. I would imagine they get it right most of the time but as it was busy they obviously didn’t take any care over the quality of the food we got served. When you spend over £200 a night on a room you expect the simple things to be perfect. Won’t be returning unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel LowWoodBay, Guest Services / Front Office at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Responded 15 Oct 2020
Dear F1526GVpatrickl, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I'm disheartened to hear of your comments regarding your breakfast experience; this naturally isn't up to our high standards and I will personally raise this with our Head Chef to ensure its an isolated occurrence. I'm pleased to hear you found every other aspect of your stay to your satisfaction and particularly enjoyed our stunning location with fabulous vistas across Lake Windermere. Kind Regards, Daniel Buck Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnMaBond007 wrote a review Feb 2020
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom41 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve just returned from a wonderful nights stay at Low Wood Bay, which I booked as a surprise, for my husbands birthday. I opted to book us into the Winander - which I highly recommend. Yes, it’s more expensive than the main hotel, however, totally worth it.

I booked us the Spa package, which consisted of B&B, Dinner in either of the 2 restaurants, 3 hour thermal journey in the spa with a couples mud rasul experience and a bottle of prosecco in the room upon arrival.

Check-in was private, personal and friendly and the receptionist/hostess was lovely.

The room was outstanding, truly beautiful. It had a bath in the window, in front of the patio doors, so you can unwind and relax, whilst looking out at the scenery. The bed was extremely comfortable and more than ample in size. The pillows were a little uncomfortable but that is more than likely down to personal preference. On the bed was a birthday card, box of chocolates and a balloon, addressed to my husband for his birthday, a lovely touch.

The amenities in the room were lovely. Lots of different teas, coffee, a fridge, biscuits, gingerbread, ESPA toiletries etc.

The spa was beautiful and the staff very efficient and friendly. The outdoor pool, overlooking Lake Windermere and the snow capped hills, with a glass of prosecco, was something else. Everywhere was clean and tidy also. The mud experience was okay, it was complimentary, so I cannot complain. Would we pay for it? Probably not.

Dinner at Blue Smoke on the Bay was exceptional, it truly was. We sat at a table, overlooking the flaming grills, the atmosphere was lovely. My husband had the steak and couldn’t believe how good it was. I opted for the burger, which was also fantastic. Our sides and starters were also excellent.

We came back to our room to find a turndown service had been provided, along with a “White Company” pillow mist sleep spray and organic tea bags infused with lavender for a peaceful nights sleep - a lovely touch.

We chose to have breakfast on Winander Level 1. Food was cooked to order and the breakfast again was fantastic. They also have a great selection of fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, breads, meats, smoothies etc that you can help yourself to. The breakfast service was also excellent.

The whole experience was wonderful and paying the extra and booking the Winander was definitely worth every penny. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Buck, Other at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Hello AnMaBond007. Thank you for the most wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We are very proud of our exclusive Winander Club which features as you say; a prosecco arrival, stunning bedrooms, plated breakfast offerings with a beautiful views, private bar area and roof top terrace. Our Blue Smoke on the Bay is one of two restaurants available on the resort, with a modern grill menu and open plan kitchen creating your very own 'Chef's Table' experience on the booth seating. We are so pleased you chose Low Wood Bay to celebrate your husband's birthday and enjoyed every moment of your spa escape with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Daniel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil M wrote a review Jul 2020
St. Albans, United Kingdom38 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed at Low Wood before we were keen to return as we know how fabulous it is there. However, we were understandably nervous about staying away from home during this Covid-19 period. However we were so pleasantly surprised and reassured at the attention to detail in order to keep guests safe. This included sanitising the room before and after cleaning, staff continually wiping surfaces throughout the spa and hotel, all cutlery wrapped and sealed before use, comfortable distances and screens between table, safety signs and sanitisers throughout and temperature checks before using the spa. We stayed in the Winander for the first time and didn’t regret it. The service and attention by staff is first rate. Due to COVID you do need to book restaurants and the spa in advance of your visit (Spa is a 3 hr slot that you need to book) and book a time for breakfast each day when you arrive. We ate out on one night and didn’t feel as safe so ate in the Blue Smoke in the hotel for the other three nights. Like all hotels, they have really suffered during the lockdown so it is great to see them back open and operating so safely now as I hope that encourages people to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel LowWoodBay, Guest Services / Front Office at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Responded 1 Aug 2020
Thank you NeilmO4600UI for your wonderful review. We are always pleased to welcome back familiar faces time and time again. We have made some important changes to how we operate during this world pandemic and are thrilled you have found our efforts to maintain the safety of all our guests and staff to be reassuring. Our Winander Club offers a unique experience to guests on the Resort and something not too be missed; especially for those special occasions! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards, Daniel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sherles00 wrote a review Mar 2020
Lancaster, United Kingdom159 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Came here as a treat with the females of my family for my birthday. Spa was out of this world - one of the best we have visited. Great little extras such as ESPA face masks and products included for you to self apply, complimentary juice, cakes and fruit. The outside pool, spa baths and sauna were amazing and exhilarating (you can access these free of charge though if you’re a hotel resident you don’t need to book a spa thermal journey). It was bliss sipping a glass of Prosecco in the hot outside pool in freezing Temperatures whilst admiring the lake and fells. Only gripe I had was there were not enough beds in the chill out area and a number of people just hogged them. One lady was asleep on one for over 2 hours!

We ate in the Windermere restaurant. The food was exquisite. It could do with the heating turning up in there though. It felt a little drafty.

We had lunch in the cafe bar outside the spa. Very limited menu - choice of 3 wraps that’s it and if you were veggie there was no choice. This was disappointing, as they no longer sell food in the lounge, so the only other option is the blue smoke restaurant which has large portions and high prices which you don’t necessarily want before a spa session.

We stayed in a triple room in the old part of the hotel. This is the reason I’ve given it 4 stars instead of 5. It really needs updating. The carpet, and furniture are tired and the prints on the wall look like something your granny would have up. we were also awoken at 5.30am by staff laughing and joking below not sure if this was the kitchen or reception. The bathroom was nice - this has obviously been more recently updated and great to have good sized ESPA toiletries.

Would we visit again... most definitely!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel LowWoodBay, Guest Services / Front Office at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Hello Sherles00, Thank you for choosing to stay at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa for your girlie spa escape. We are so very pleased you enjoyed your Spa experiences and take on board your point about more beds in the Thermal Journey. We are constantly reflecting upon our service offerings and will look into developing more smaller offerings for lunch. Norman's does offer a crispy Quorn strips with coronation chutney and mixed leaf wrap as a vegetarian option, however we apologise that this had already sold out on this day. We have a wide range of bedrooms with a variety of furnishings available in the hotel, we apologise that the furniture was not to your taste and for the disruption you experienced in the early hours of the morning, rest assured this matter will be addressed as we understand the importance of a good night sleep. We are delighted you would consider returning to us once again and cannot wait to welcome you all back very soon. Kind Regards, Daniel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olivia M wrote a review Oct 2020
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom63 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After having to rearrange our wedding twice, September was our 'third time's a charm' date, and it went so well! In two months, we had to scramble to figure out a new place to get married (Kendal County Offices), and what to do about a COVID-secure celebration post-ceremony, as the restrictions and rules were set in place. As we only had a few people as guests, we were able to celebrate in privacy in our own room and it was better than we could've ever imagined considering current times! Demi, in particular, was a fantastic wedding coordinator and kept track of everything, so really all we felt we had to do was choose food, express some decoration wishes, and when we arrived after our ceremony it was like magic! A beautiful way to celebrate our wedding with excellent staff, and in a very secure feeling venue. The extra touches like their well wishes and gifts sent to our room on the wedding night, and decorations for the day itself were so appreciated.

While the staff did not wear masks, which at time felt a little close (but we're assuming they all are checked regularly to make sure they're tested) the guests were made to in public areas, and all of the rest of the precautions taken like cleaning of the rooms prior to our arrival, and all the signage they had in place was absolutley top notch! We dined in the Windermere the night before the wedding, and felt very well looked after, especially considering this was the first time we'd been to a sit-in restaurant since March.

We had Room 36, which had a lovely bathroom with a giant tub, and a view right out to the lake. The only downside was that there must have been a private event going on downstairs directly below us as there was pumping bass and music till about two a.m., but we were so knackered, we really didn't care! Absolutely lovely, helped us have an unforgettable and wonderful wedding day, and we will definitely be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 36 is excellent, over the Blue Smoke so maybe not for those sensitive to noise, but the view...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel LowWoodBay, Guest Services / Front Office at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Responded 1 Oct 2020
Dear Olivia Marion, Thank you for choosing Low Wood Bay to celebrate your special day. We are currently holding a number of intimate weddings to compile with the new restrictions. Demi and the weddings team work tirelessly to ensure everyone's day is magical and memorable. You'll be pleased to hear since you were with us it's now law for all staff to wear a face mask to give you that peace of mind. I'm sorry to hear of your noise disturbances on your second night; our bars and restaurants now must be closed by 22:00 each night including private functions so this should mitigate any further distruptions. Room 36 is one of our Lime Lakeview bedrooms situated in the original main house, with beautiful views across Windermere, equipped with his and hers sinks and large round feature bath and separate shower. Congratulations once again and we hope to welcome you both back next year for your 1st Wedding Anniversary. Kind Regards, Daniel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Helen G
1 contribution
I’ve had the same problem love the spa though so it’s worth trying to get through. We’ve decided to book online rather than do vouchers in future for just this reason
Ge H asked a question May 2023
Quebec, Canada42 contributions11 helpful votes
Hello, is there anything of intrest or restaurants, pubs within walking distance to the hotel? thanks..
Answer from rogerssusan1961
Benahavis, Spain133 contributions12 helpful votes
Good morning. Yes lots. Ambleside is a lovely town, shops, restaurants and pubs. £6 cab to return to hotel. Walk Wansfell Pike, pub after you get down!!!!! Watersports and much more. The spa as mentioned in the original review is tremendous
Romford, Essex246 contributions21 helpful votes
Thank you for your answers. Last time we stayed the Winander Club guests where allowed access to the outdoor and indoor pool but not the Spa downstairs which was only for spa guests This is how we accessed both. I know its al changed since. But as the Soa was separate last time I wasnt sure if you could freely access them all. Thanks again!
Dreamer648084 wrote a tip 28 May
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking availability, Windermere Road can get a bit jammed during busy periods (school holidays) so give yourself extra time."
Read full review
emmjay40 wrote a tip 27 May
Lancaster, United Kingdom14 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The robe has to last the duration of your experience and is unpleasant to wear when it's wet. Towels are plentiful so use them to dry off."
Read full review
ARJWONE wrote a tip 25 May
Manchester, United Kingdom50 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would stay here but for a lower price"
Read full review
Warrior wrote a tip 21 May
29 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was easy and plentiful. Food and cocktails were amazing. Spa was fabulous. Staff were so attentive and polite"
Read full review
Carla R wrote a tip 18 May
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We visited on a Thursday and it was less busy than a weekend."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Windermere area.
PRICE RANGE
£150 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
low wood bay hotel windermere, low wood windermere, hotel low wood, low wood hotel windermere
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictWindermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LOW WOOD BAY RESORT & SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Michael Coates Clay Shooting (4.9 miles), Ambleside Cowhides & Sheepskins (1.6 miles), and Holehird Gardens (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tacos Del Sol Ambleside, The Old Stamp House Restaurant, and Fresher's Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (1.3 miles), Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (4.7 miles), and Rydal Mount & Gardens (3.2 miles).
Does Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Windermere HotelsWindermere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WindermereHotels near Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire