We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 538: English reviews
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A nicely decorated, clean hotel in a good location with excellent food. Booked two rooms and arrived on Friday afternoon to a freezing cold room. Radiators not working in room or bathroom. Bathroom radiator and leak from extractor fan in the other room. Was assured they would be fixed. No one came on Friday so moved to another room which... More 

Helpful?
Thank gill_mantovani
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. A little over exaggerated this review. When heating problems arise over the weekend we cannot just snap our fingers and voila ! the plumber appears. They have weekends of too. Never the less the plumber came on Saturday morning and he waited and waited for 2 hours in fact but could not get into the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend came for bonfire night. Great local knowledge by the owners and the room was fab. We stayed in a room with a 4poster bed and it was clean and nice. Only issue was the creaky floor boards from the room above. We would go again!

Helpful?
Thank Tabitha S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at The Glenburn for two nights in their Deluxe Four Poster room. Very nice, cosy hotel with a friendly feel. The staff were very accommodating and made us feel welcome. In the room we stayed in we could hear other guests in their rooms in the morning and evenings but we weren't disturbed overall and helped us get up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodie R
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 4 nights in the river cottage, which is part of the hotel. It has 2 double beds and a bunk bed. Lounge area and small kitchen. It was very cosy and clean. The kitchen was basic and could have done with a dish washer fitting. It has wifi which was not like most places, as reasonable speed. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank kwl1966
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed at the hotel with my family, which included a 2 and 7 year old. We stayed in the family room, which was nicely furnished and spacious enough. The room was clean and tidy. It consisted of a double bed and bunk beds for the kids. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. They were always willing to answer... More 

Helpful?
Thank John J
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The room was very clean as was the bathroom if a bit on the small side. The decoration was very tasteful and well maintained throughout the hotel. Excellent food although the menu was rather restricted and having to order when making the time reservation was a bit frustrating. However this did mean that the food was freshly prepared and ready... More 

Helpful?
Thank Muriel475
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Car parking can be a little tight for those with bigger cars but we do have a space for everyone. We are hoping to resolve this for next season by widening the spaces. Pre ordering of dinner is helpful for both the guest and the hotel as everything is freshly made and it saves waiting... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Very nice hotel, staff were very friendly and accommodating. Dinner was very nice and tasty and very reasonably priced. The rooms were very clean and my partner loved the four poster bed! I would definitely use this hotel again

Helpful?
Thank Simon M
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate you comments and compliments. Look forward to seeing you again at the Glenburn More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We booked two nights at the Glenburn and throughly enjoyed our stay. The room was small but, we knew this when we booked - it more than met our needs. Clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated and maintained. All staff were friendly and welcoming. We were most impressed by the high standard of our evening meal, cooked to perfection. Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate W
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and pleased you had a great stay. Hope you will come and see us again. It was lovely to meet you both.... really nice people. More 

peters33
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Fantastic location within walking distance to Windemere and Bowness Lovely room, four poster bed. Tastefully decorated, very comfy bed. Only down fall was there wasn't a bath in the room but easily forgotten. Had dinner the first night in the hotel, food was delicious. Breakfast was delicious and very well cooked as well. Staff very friendly and helpful. Tip ,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank peters33
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and your lovely comments. Hope we see you again at The Glenburn More 

1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The room was nice and the host (Andrew) was terrific. He helped us with lots of things. Real champ! The room was clean and the shower was nice and warm. Although we felt a bit cold in the night but thats just us.

Helpful?
Thank Waseem B
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So very pleased you had a good stay at The Glenburn. I will pass on your comments to Andrew ( think you mean my husband Peter) because we don't have an Andrew but i am sure he won't mind.. he will like being called a "Real Champ". Hope you will stay with us again. More 

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (94)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (11)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (11)
Viewed
Family Triple Room (10)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior Room (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,294 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: £70 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Shrewsbury
over a year ago
over a year ago
Saint Helens, Oregon, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 7 which was at the front but there was no noise from the road overnight”
  • Room 7
 of 5 bubbles Muriel475, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very central location which is brillaint”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms aren't noisy. Beds extremely comfortable.c”
 of 5 bubbles trillb, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 13 with four poster bed, lovely walk in shower very nice and quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles harrytownsend, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were in room 14 up two quite steep flights of stairs- no lift”
 of 5 bubbles traceyt256, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay