Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Briery Wood Country House Hotel

Traveller (585)
Panorama of the 11 Family Room at the Briery Wood Country House Hotel
360
Panoramas (41)
Autumn colours in the gardens
Room & Suite (219)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
£139
£135
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 19 hotels in Windermere
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Moments from the eastern shores of Lake Windermere and set in seven acres of beautiful secluded gardens and woodland lies Briery Wood Country House Hotel. This beautiful Lake District hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by spectacular landscapes, lakes and fells. Briery Wood is within easy reach of the popular villages of Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, so it's a great base for exploring the Lake District, whether you are looking for a spot of retail therapy or outdoor adventure. The informal and friendly service is so good you'll hardly notice it. It's our job to make you feel at home...Which isn't hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges whilst enjoying a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Latvian and 1 more

Location

Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Carlisle Lake District Airport
37.1 mi
See all flights
Newcastle Airport
66.5 mi
See all flights
1,093Review21Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 783
  • 236
  • 52
  • 17
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Catem380 wrote a review Apr 2020
Nantwich, United Kingdom14 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here last month on a travel zoo deal & was very impressed with the value for money. Throughout our stay we were made very welcome our 9 month old daughter with all staff extremely friendly. They made sure there was a high chair ready each morning at breakfast & generally couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in the room above the kitchen & although the hotel had warned us it may be noisy before we booked, I was very apprehensive after reading the bad reviews about this room. I needn't have worried though as we didn't hear a thing all day/might, even while putting out daughter down early evening. Like others say I think the room is in line for a update however we found it absolutely fine if a little tired in parts. We ate in the lounge/bar both nights as it absolutely poured down and we didn't want to venture out. The meals were all reasonably priced & nice although the menu was slightly limited & bar food service ended at 6:30 though it suited us fine with a baby. We had a excellent stay & would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LexMuir wrote a review Oct 2020
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom87 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited for four days walking in the area on a DBB basis. We chose a garden room, which had an exit leading to a small terraced area with a bistro set which we managed to use even in October because it was so sheltered. I had requested a ‘dog free’ room to avoid any smells but was advised that they had none of these, although I was reassured that rooms were always deep cleaned after being used by dogs, and they were true to their word. Our room was spotless, although fairly small.

The hotel itself is kept just as clean throughout, with very efficient and friendly staff across all areas. The food was just fantastic, beautifully presented and wonderfully cooked - we both noted that we rarely even had to season. We like to treat ourselves occasionally to a spot of fine dining and the food in Briery Wood was as good as some Michelin starred restaurants we have visited.

Price of drinks was just what you’d expect, so no surprises there, with a well stocked bar offering a good range including a decent selection of gins and malt whiskies. They have a very decent wine list offering something for most tastes and budgets.

All in all, a great, friendly hotel and we’ll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Surridge, Guest Services / Front Office at Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Responded 27 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time spent with us. The Lake District is certainly a wonderful place to visit for walkers with so many walks around ranging from gentle strolls to full on mountain hikes. Our Garden rooms are very popular, offering direct access to our landscaped gardens which are tended by our dedicated grounds team. We pride ourselves on being a dog friendly hotel, welcoming our four legged friends but recognise the importance of a deep clean to ensure that the rooms are suitable for non dog owners, and people with allergies, and our housekeeping team do a fantastic job of keeping the hotel immaculate. We are proud of the 2 rosettes we have been awarded by the AA for the excellence of our food, and the positive feedback we get from guests such as yourselves reflects this. We have a well stocked bar, with the recent surge in the gin market inspiring us to have a range of about 60 different gins for our guests to choose from, as well stocking a range of whiskies from around Scotland and around the world, including a single malt made right here in the Lake District. It's great to hear that you are already contemplating a return visit to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back when you do.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Honestopinionscount wrote a review Nov 2020
Dorset, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Briery Wood in July 19 to look around prior to booking our wedding and we fell in love with it straight away.

From that point on, communication with the hotel was on point and liaising with Lisa, Roger and Tracey made our queries and requirements simple.

Originally we booked the 'Just Us' 2 night wedding package and 2 months beforehand we decided to invite our parents then unfortunately due to illness my husbands parents had to cancel and the hotel were so understanding.

We arrived the day before the wedding and Dan made us all feel so welcome. He sat down with us to run through the finer details in readiness for our big day including the menu for our afternoon tea, when we wanted our complimentary bottle of Prosecco and he kept us topped up with gin!

On our wedding day we could've had breakfast in bed but we wanted to have breakfast with my mother in the main dining room.

A private room was made available for our use for the entirety of the day and if the weather was bad this is where the ceremony would have taken place but we were lucky to have stunning weather for October and had the ceremony in the gazebo in the beautiful gardens. Roger and Dan were great, so attentive and nothing was too much for them. Stevie also went the extra mile to make our day special. Such lovely people.

One thing you will never do is leave Briery Wood hungry and the food was amazing, some of the best we've ever tasted and that is down to the fabulous chefs. There was plenty of choice at breakfast including a freshly cooked full English which was tasty. We had afternoon tea on our wedding afternoon and there was so much we had it put in boxes to takeaway the next day! Evening meal was so de-li-cious my taste buds are tingly now thinking about all the delights and we were certainly  stuffed by the end of our stay!

If we could give this hotel and amazing friendly staff 10 stars, we would.

We will definitely be returning next year for our 1st wedding anniversary and we truly can't wait.

Thank you so so much Briey Wood, credit to you all.

Carley & Paul xx
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Surridge, Guest Services / Front Office at Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Responded 13 Dec 2020
Thank you for sharing the details of your big day with us. As you can imagine, it has certainly been a strange year as far as weddings are concerned, but we haven't let that stop us celebrating these special moments with the brides and grooms who choose us for this special moment in their lives. our Just Us wedding package is perfect for the present climate, allowing small parties such as yourselves to have Covid compliant weddings, making the day feel totally special for all members of the wedding party. The hotel is licensed for the ceremony itself with the option of having it in one of our lounges or, weather permitting, out in the landscaped gardens in the purpose built gazebo, which has proved to be an extremely popular venue for the big 'I do' moment. To make the day extra special, after the wedding, we offer the wedding party a private room for afternoon tea and the evening meal that follows, as well as offer the bride and groom the option of breakfast served to the room in the morning. We certainly look forward to celebrating your anniversary with you next year and hope we will get to see you on other return visits during your journey through life together.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DarrenDeane wrote a review Jul 2020
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom99 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had emailed the Hotel to ask if check in was flexible. I received a reply to say that I could try and check in early, if a room was available we could then check in due to our long journey. When we arrived one of the reception staff was unwelcoming, rude and when enquiring about an earlier check in, made us feel like we were trying something ‘naughty’ quoting all the additional cleaning that was required in the room due to Covid. I then asked what room we were in; as contrary to the pictures here on Booking.com I had seen on other sites that some of the rooms were very tired and dated. Again we were met with almost disbelief and defence that I even enquired. Needless to say check in was awful!!!
The room we were put in eventually was refurbished. Not to our taste but it was pleasant and modern. The bathroom done to a very high standard, it even had a jacuzzi bath. However, it was not clean!! After all this ‘additional cleaning’ that delayed check-in, I could not understand why the room was unclean in parts. I challenged this with the manager who did not apologise at all. On day 3 the dirt was eventually removed.
Lisa on Reception is the gem in the hotels crown! She apologised & helped negotiate a resolution.
There were dogs in the hotel that barked a lot, and doors slammed, water being used in other rooms caused a high pitched scream almost which woke us - not a restful stay.
The outside of the hotel is beautiful, the communal areas are pleasant looking but I cannot see where all this ‘extra cleaning’ has happened!
We wouldn’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Revenue Management at Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Responded 9 Jul 2020
Here at the Briery Wood we believe that TripAdvisor is a fantastic tool as it gives people the chance to research their hotel of choice before booking. Sadly it does also give people the opportunity to write totally one sided perspectives that can be quite unfairly damaging. This specific review doesn't reflect the truly poor way in which this gentleman has spoken to our team, leaving a number of staff visibly upset on different occasions. It also doesn't recognise the extensive measures that we have worked so hard on to reduce the risks of coronavirus. We do concede that the gentleman in question did pull a bed side table out and found some dust underneath it. For that and for aspects of the hotel not being to his taste, we apologise. Sadly there will be times when we get things wrong. Although this isn't a frequent occurrence, we do understand this, learn from our mistakes and try to address them. We would implore anyone reading this review however to not form an opinion from this review solely and to read other reviews to gain a consensus which we believe would be more fair.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Perry1406 wrote a review Mar 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom22 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We knew in advance that it may be a wet weekend so prayed that the hotel would be a warm comfortable place to spend the weekend.

We were not disappointed, the hotel was beautiful, the lounges and bar comfortable, the temperature perfect. The room looked brand new, but in character with the age of the building, but with a modern bathroom and good powerful shower.

The staff were all really friendly, helpful and full of advice.

However, the top marks must go to the chefs, the food was gorgeous, bar meal Fish and chips, what a plateful if perfect crispy battered cod, chips and mushy peas with home made bread and butter. Breakfast, a full English, every item top quality, plenty of it, what a start to the day. Evening meal, Rack of lamb, pink and perfect, a light selection of veg, followed by a hand made sticky toffee pudding with a light chocolate roll filled with mousse. Delightful !!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Z8854NZcarola wrote a review Jul 2021
Hinckley, United Kingdom75 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On the positive side the location, gardens and restaurant is as I would have much expected from this hotel. The patio tubs and baskets were extremely pretty as was the outside area apart from the driveway up which badly needs a resurface. We were informed before our visit because of the Covid problem that there would be no housekeeping once we occupied the room. If it were possible I would’ have cancelled then. Three days without housekeeping is not ideal. No cleaning cloth’s or materials were left, no provision to empty bins etc. Not good! We were on half board although informed one evening we had to eat from the bar menu because of staff shortage. When I asked for a bread roll I was told that only came with the restaurant menu although no discount was offered for our inconvenience .Our biggest gripe was the room it overlooked a huge hedge, Consequently it was pitch dark all the time we needed lights all the time. This week being a beautiful sunny week made this room a drudgery to come back to. The food was good albeit not plentiful in the restaurant but another disappointment came because no Greek yogurt was available I had asked for it every day. The sweet fruit yoghurt that was available was accompanied by chunks of melon and apple, not a nice soft fruit in site. Lastly we were paying second place to weddings although they were small groups, we had them every day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Revenue Management at Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Responded 17 Jul 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Briery Wood. I am sorry to read of your frustrations. Firstly, I would like to make it clear that we are welcoming people in to our restaurant and we contact all of our guests prior to their arrival encouraging them to book dinner to avoid missing out. However for those that choose not to book, we are more than happy to offer our bar menu which offers plenty of familiar, comfortable dishes ranging from steak, to fish and chips to curry. Regarding not servicing your room during your stay, I am sorry that this has caused frustration. In our confirmation emails to our guests, we do outline all of the coronavirus measures that we will be following to avoid any disappointment. I am sorry that you did not approve of this specific measure, however at the current time of writing, cases have now reached over 50,000 per day and we feel it is a safer approach for our guests and our team that your room is your safe space during your stay. As we do mention in the welcome letter however, if you would like any fresh towels, toiletries etc, please do let our team know and we will be delighted to help. I am sorry that you were upset by our Just Us weddings taking place in the gazebo. Here at the Briery Wood we often welcome weddings for just two people. The ceremony is in our gazebo and is often prior to check in. It is also not a wedding party, just two people, away from the main building sharing an intimate ceremony which lasts 20 minutes. I am sorry however that this wasn't to your liking. Once again, I am sorry to read of your frustrations during your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter Allen wrote a review Dec 2022
Rotherham, United Kingdom15 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
December 1st for 2 nights. Arriving just after darkness, the hotel entrance and road sign were very visible, there is a short drive way easy to navigate, with plenty of car parking spaces to the rear of the house, the reception has a sloping entrance, making easy work of wheeling our suitcases into reception. We were greeted at reception with a professional but warm and friendly welcome, both members of staff were very engaging, and smartly dressed. On entering the house, you are met with a light and open space, our room was a short walk from reception. The room was immaculate and very spacious, tea and coffee facilities were fine and the little jar of sweets was a nice touch.
We had booked the hotel via Virgin Red, they had listed Briery Wood as a boutique hotel so we had high hopes for some
Amazing food, cosy lounge and an excellent choice of drinks, and we weren’t disappointed! The food was outstanding, dinning both evenings at the hotel, we got to mixed a match our dishes from the veggie, bar and main menus, we were spoilt for choice.
Overall Briery Wood met our expectations for Great location, warm and cosy accommodation, superb food and quiet surroundings, but what exceeded both our expectations here, was the staff, from our initial booking and enquiries, to checking in, dinning, house keeping, table service and general hospitality was exceptional.
A very special mention for a wonderful gentleman who served us both evenings and made us both feel very welcome, Dan you’re espresso martinis will become legendary! Don’t ever stop what you’re doing and the way in which you conduct yourself with guests, you are a breath of fresh air and deserve a gold star for your outstanding service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Mid week stay can be quieter Dog friendly with great facilities Short 10 minute walk to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Surridge, Guest Services / Front Office at Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Responded 24 Jan 2023
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. set in our own grounds, the hotel has plentiful parking available to our guests. Our front of house team pride themselves on the warm friendly welcome we extend to all our guests, with this aspect of the hotel getting much in the way of praise on the various reviews we receive. Our rooms are all well appointed, with most of them having undergone refurbishments over the past few years as part of our ongoing programme to ensure he hotel is as welcoming as possible. Our housekeeping team work hard behind the scenes to ensure the rooms are kept immaculate for our guests. Our chefs are justly proud of the 2 AA rosettes they have been awarded for the excellence of their food, and we offer a number of menu options in the evening to provide something for every palette, with the option to mix and match between our fine dining and evening bar menu. Our assistant Manager, Dan, is a definite asset to the hotel with a natural charm that rubs off on all our guests. I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Briery Wood soon. We'll keep Dan on stand by with his espresso martini.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EMACK41 wrote a review Jun 2021
England, United Kingdom67 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 6th June 2021 for 3 night.

We book this hotel via Voyage Prive thinking they say the hotels are 4 and 5 star. The normal rate for 3 nights was nearly £800 and we paid £565.

The staff were nice but they knew nothing about what services the hotel can do or offer. They told us they were shot staffed and getting in more student staff over the summer.

The hotel does not have any real facilities, only a bar and a restaurant with a very small outside seating area.

Its the 21st century and the WIFI signal in the hotel was terrible. Forget any in the bedroom we were staying in and the staff were no help on this.

The gardens are nice though.

Here are some of the questions we asked and the answers we received.

1. First day we arrived and wanted a bar snack as the restaurant was full. "Can we have a bar snack?" this was around 6pm. The answer was "the chef is busy but we might be able to do you some chips around 8.30."
2. "Can I order a Long Island Ice Tea?" "I don't know how to make that but if you give me the recipe I will try and make it."
3. "Can I have a latte with my breakfast?" "Sorry the machine is not switched on and it takes about an hour to warm up."

Seriously what kind of 4 star hotel is this. We stay at some seriously good hotels but this was the worst. Don't go by their website images and look at ours.

Our room was a disgrace with paint peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom and stains on the walls. Check out our photos.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Try and see the room first
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Revenue Management at Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Thank you for choosing Briery Wood. I am pleased that you managed to find some positives during your stay, although I am sorry that there are clearly things that we could have done better, which we will no doubt be investigating and trying to learn from. I do hope that anyone reading this rudely worded review will also look at our previous reviews and see that our team at the Briery Wood feel as though we are welcoming you in to our home and we are more than happy to go the extra mile for our guests. Once again, I am sorry that in this instance there were aspects of your stay which we could done better with.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick H wrote a review Jan 2020
North of England154 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a lovely weekend break with wife and Woofer. The Garden Rooms are perfect for Dog owners, with a door leading right onto the Gardens. (See photo) Room was fantastic: comfortable bed, plenty of attention to detail, welcome sweets and treats for the four-legged guest, USB ports etc. Breakfast was delicious, and the staff set up a table in the lounge area for you. What elevated the stay to a 5* was the the staff. All were warm, friendly and hospitable. As Arnie once said...I'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from brierywood, Front of House manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review of your stay here with us. I'm delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay so much, including Woofer. We do enjoy meeting the various furry friends our guests bring with them, always ready with a warm furry welcome and the occasional doggy treat. Our ground floor garden rooms are great for the needs of the dog owner, giving the opportunity for late night and early morning walkies without the need to traipse through the hotel. Our rooms come equipped with a selection of complimentary favours, including tea and coffee, a jar of sweets, biscuit selection and we don't forget our canine guests with some treats waiting for them in the room on arrival. Dogs are allowed in all parts of the hotel except the dining room, but we are happy to arrange an alternative dog friendly location for meals so you can all sit together. We have much positive feedback about the welcoming nature of the staff and the excellent service we provide, which is always very gratifying and lets us know that we are doing our job to the best of our ability. It's great to hear that, Arnie style, you'll be back. We'll be waiting with a warm welcome and more doggy treats when you do.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsK113 wrote a review Aug 2021
18 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a beautiful venue for a Wedding, lovely staff and a brilliant experience.
We travelled from London to stay at the hotel for 3 days to get married. We were met on arrival by Tracy which was also the wedding coordinator. Tracy and all the staff were very accommodating and pleasant. Dining room staff and chefs were very efficient and attentive to all of our meal choices and any changes.
It was very easy to get married in the sense it was very relaxed and planned well on the day.
Room 12 - we are a family of 5 with 3 children. The children had made up beds in our room which were very comfortable and clean. Our bed was ‘huge’ and luxuriously comfortable. Bathroom was tidy and clean. We also had a jacuzzi bath which the kids loved. We had a balcony facing the front of the hotel which gave a breathtaking view looking out to forestry and mountains with a faint view of the lake.
Windermere town is approx 10-15 min drive from there, town is pleasant lots of tourist shops with some nice stuff inside, the town is chocked full of different restaurants/pub and cafe’s so your not short on a tea and some nice food.
Lake cruise was included in our package which was great for the kids, amazing views and lasted longer than I expected. We got off at bow ness/lakeside which had a small amusements and a fun park with rides on the green. A few tourist shops up the town which is much busier with tourists and you could spend all day there or get back on the cruises and go further down the lake.
We would finitely come back to Lake District / Windermere one day as the place is beautiful and there is a lot more to see than we done in 3 days.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Surridge, Guest Services / Front Office at Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Responded 8 Sept 2021
Thank you for your review of your wedding with us. It's always something of an honour to play host to a couple's big day and we work hard to ensure the happy couple have the most relaxed wedding possible, with Tracey, our wedding supervisor taking the stress of the shoulders of the happy couple and seeing to the finer details of the event. We have a number of family rooms available, which can accommodate up to 2 extra beds as well as cots if required. Our housekeeping team work hard behind the scenes to keep the hotel clean and immaculate, taking on the extra challenges of the Covid situation in their stride. We are fortunate to be positioned where we are, situated between the villages of Windermere and Ambleside, with easy access to both places and beyond for further exploration of the Lake District either by car or public transport. I'm delighted to hear that your big day went so smoothly and we look forward to welcoming you back for future visits as you continue your journey through life together.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
saxoGateshead asked a question Aug 2023
gateshead36 contributions
Have you got sky sports within the hotel please?
Answer from Sandra J
Formby, United Kingdom14 contributions11 helpful votes
I've been to the hotel and don't know the answer. They don't have television in the public areas but do in the bedrooms. I suggest you ring the hotel direct
JANE J asked a question Aug 2021
Carlisle, United Kingdom15 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi do you have lift access to rooms or any downstairs bedrooms please?
ThinkPink asked a question Jul 2021
Skipton, United Kingdom83 contributions27 helpful votes
Can you walk into Ambleside?
Answer from Chris Hough
M'Hamid, Morocco512 contributions179 helpful votes
Yes it's a bit of a walk but not too bad.
Answer from grahamheath
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Sorry not sure on this
Sightseer52108245946 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Kendal, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t visit if you have babies or are disabled"
Read full review
splashfarm wrote a tip Jan 2024
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room and building is quite warm but the radiators do have TRV's"
Read full review
Mark H wrote a tip Dec 2023
Hartlepool, United Kingdom71 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the alternative breakfasts - and you must try the scrambled egg."
Read full review
Chris W wrote a tip Dec 2023
Carlisle, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not too pricy, lovely atmosphere"
Read full review
Alison wrote a tip Nov 2023
Warrington, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Entrance to driveway was easily missed. Call the Hotel prior to leaving for post code as one listed takes you to the wrong area."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Windermere area.
PRICE RANGE
£98 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictWindermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRIERY WOOD COUNTRY HOUSE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Briery Wood Country House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Michael Coates Clay Shooting (4.6 miles), Ambleside Cowhides & Sheepskins (1.9 miles), and Holehird Gardens (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Briery Wood Country House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Briery Wood Country House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Briery Wood Country House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Briery Wood Country House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tacos Del Sol Ambleside, The Old Stamp House Restaurant, and Fresher's Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Briery Wood Country House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Briery Wood Country House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Briery Wood Country House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Polish, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Briery Wood Country House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (1.2 miles), Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (4.5 miles), and Rydal Mount & Gardens (3.5 miles).
All Windermere HotelsWindermere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WindermereHotels near Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire