The Strand Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Strand Hotel

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#167 of 432 small hotels in Blackpool
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Evening entertainment

Location

326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Manchester Intl Airport
45.6 mi
See all flights
Liverpool John Lennon Airport
34.8 mi
See all flights
51Reviews2Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 9
  • 3
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pam M wrote a review May 2022
Scotland, United Kingdom15 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister and I stayed here 13th to 16th May 2022. Greeted warmly on arrival by owner Mary and her friend. It was only 12.30pm but rooms were ready so swiftly checked in. Room allocated was super, large bay window with great seaview. Comfy beds fluffy towels and bathroom with bath and large showerhead over bath.
Had 3 course dinner at night food piping hot and tasty. Breakfast was good too. All staff friendly and helpful. Entertainment was first class on all 3 nights. Brian (Mary's husband) worked the bar along with a lovely chap. Drink prices were good as was service.
The location of hotel was good for us on the seafront tram stop across the road and bus stop right outside the hotel.
It was super relaxing to watch the sun go down from our bay view window and the tide come in.
Will hopefully be back this year, have stopped in many hotels in Blackpool over the years and the Strand has been simply the best
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Lift available for all floors sea view rooms are nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a four day break at the Strand hotel Blackpool and can honestly say this hotel is a wee gem. Mary and her family go out of their way to ensure their guests are looked after to a high standard. The hotel is spotlessly clean in all departments and the food is varied and a choice of menu on a daily basis. The rooms although a tad on the small side were more than adequate for our needs with comfortable beds and en suite facilities. The hotel itself is situated near the North pier with the tram stop just across the road. Our trip was organised by Breaks to Go and again we would not hesitate to book with this company as everything went smoothly without any problems
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert R wrote a review Sept 2023
Aberdeen, United Kingdom2,876 contributions172 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Strand whilst on a bus tour from Scotland. Asked for and got a sea view room with a walk in shower. Seen some earlier reviews moaning about the food, but we thought it was fine. 3 starters, mains and puddings, and never a problem . The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. Best thing about the restaurant was the excellent cheery service provided by the 2 young ladies in our half, and the other waiter seemed to be very good in his half of restaurant. It was amazing how the food was served up to all the customers in a quick and efficient manner. Some of the entertainment at night was fine, with a couple of games of bingo thrown in. Hotel is at the North end of Blackpool but tram stop and bus stop make travel in to main areas very easy but would recommend you get bus at busy times as the trams got packed and failed to stop. Mary and her team run a tight ship and we had a great time. Only one fault was our shower which was quite erratic between hot and cold and dated furniture, but you get what you pay for and we got our moneys worth…
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean wrote a review Jul 2021
Irvine, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had no warm water I didn’t complain till day three I was told to let the shower run . After breakfast I let the shower run and waited that long for hot water I fell asleep when I woke up the shower was turned off and my room door was open when I complained they said the shower was running all night I asked why they were lying . They also said when they went to turn of the shower my room door was open so they left it open .they said I had an attitude prob and were going to move me to another hotel three hrs later they said breaks to go couldn’t find another hotel and I would have to stay there . They moved me into another room that the toilet didn’t flush . All the downstairs windows had towels running along the ledges as the rain was letting in . Horrible place horrible management avoid at all costs
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mary Holliday, Owner at The Strand Hotel
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Oh what a nightmare for you, Or maybe you were the nightmare ? You were not happy from the moment that you arrived, You were stressed and made a comment about the health of your husband. Your shower did work and yes you did turn it on and leave it on all bloody night, and it was only brought to our attention when the fire alarm system alerted us that the sensor in the room was signalling activity and that was why a member of staff came and knocked on your door and got no answer because you were completely out of it as they found out when they opened your door and seen you on the bed, But the shock was the steam that had built up in the room because you left the shower running and also the couple in the room next door said that the water from the shower had been running all night. So thanks for that and my extra water bill. As for the towels all over the windows lol the night porter put 2 separate towels down as the bi-folding windows had not been closed properly and as there was heavy rain . this is bound to happen. So I suggest that when you want to go on holiday again, hopefully the restriction on travelling abroad will be lifted and you will be able to go somewhere that other humans don't speak your language and wont be able to understand you, and lucky for them that is, As all that comes out of your mouth is pure rubbish. So good luck in the future Have a nice life Bye Bye
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Disappointed wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked the Strand from 11th June to 18th after reading the reviews about the brand new refurbishment but was extremely disappointed when we got there. As far as we could tell only the dining room and other reception areas had been updated but the rooms had only been given a very minor makeover.
Our room was very basic with twin beds, a very small wardrobe and a rather battered dressing table and we did notice a considerable amount of dust behind the TV, but our biggest problem was the bathroom which had a 7" step straight out into the room. This was very dangerous in daylight but if anyone had to go in the middle of the night it was an accident waiting to happen.
We decided it would have been too depressing to stay there for a week and decided just to leave. We were shown several other rooms which were just of the same quality and also an offer to have dinner there but here again we didn't think the food was great.
I appreciate the owners have had problems with the covid and such, also it was a fairly budget price but please do not advertise it as a complete makeover as it is certainly not. Thankfully the payment machine wasn't working as the owner had dropped it the day before so at least we only lost our deposit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
Room Tip: Didn't stay long enough to find out.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mary Holliday, Owner at The Strand Hotel
Responded 8 Jul 2021
A Miserable disgruntled couple , all this lies because the front bay window room was already booked. Then a nasty telephone call from their drunken daughter saying we were scum bags and the whole of Blackpool is a rotten dump. If this was such a concern of hers, then why did she allow her 80 year old parents to travel on several different types of transport to get this dump "in her words" of a town. This hotel does not welcome such vile nasty humans like that, And neither does Blackpool. So get a grip and try and find some happiness within your souls..
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Queenie R wrote a review Jun 2023
48 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very poor room, shoebox bathroom with no window, (had to open shower door to make space to sit on loo) wonky beds (turn over and roll out) and a terrible amount of dust on top of wardrobe and tv. Didn’t go looking for dust, the room was so small we had nowhere to put our cases so thought we might get space up there. No hooks in bathroom for towels or clothes. No chair for dressing table, the one chair in room was too big to use there, just not enough space. Room was a twin but only had 1 mug on tea tray, had to ask 3 times. Tea bags were loose ones just thrown in a dish, surely not hygienic to have them open? Claustrophobic….and when it rained heavy the stench in the bathroom was horrendous, and no window! Beds weren’t really made on housekeeping, just straightened. Don’t know how often bedding is changed but we didn’t get a change, was there 4 nights, so maybe it’s a weekly thing? Clean towels every day, a bonus point there. Food…..first 3 days no complaints at all, really tasty well cooked meals and a choice of 3 options so enough to please all. But, we were served braised steak on the last night and had it been on the first night we would have eaten out the rest of the week, it was disgusting, my dog wouldn’t have eaten it. And most of the diners left it, not just me. Shame really when all the other food had been good. Entertainment ok, happy hour 7-9 in selected drinks. Bingo every night. Saw the owners around, she gives and collects your keys, he calls bingo and is the chef, things must have changed here as people rave on reviews how friendly and inclusive they are. Linda was the only person to show an interest in anyone and practically ran the whole thing. The place needs a bloody good clean, yes some rooms are refurbed and are getting praised but we paid the same money and got a dirty shoebox. ALL rooms should be cleaned and fit for purpose, surely? Dining area and lounge are nice areas, lots of sparkle and bling but very comfortable. Nice little bar. Only one toilet downstairs (disabled) which is very busy when lounge is full, other toilets on 1st floor accessible by lift but a lot of elderly with mobility issues here, another downstairs convenience would be an asset. Did we enjoy it? Mixed feelings, met some lovely folk, just won’t go back to Blackpool, very run down, and The Strand needs a good clean in a lot of areas. Could be a cracking hotel, it has great potential but it is sadly lacking in the cleanliness and they need to change the menu a little (braising steak) They have a lot of regular returning guests who keep up the good reviews, reviews which helped me decide to stay there, never again. 3 out of 5 from us, and I’m being generous . That room was an absolute disgrace.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check your room asap after arriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mary Holliday, Owner at The Strand Hotel
Responded 2 Jul 2023
If you were so unhappy then you should have complained at the time. The meals are of the best quality and everyone else enjoys the meals that are served, Again why did you not mention this issue you had at the time ? The rooms are of a standard size and again we have no problem with anybody else. Obviously you are just one of those humans in life that likes to moan. If you want a 5 star hotel then go and pay for it as you only paid a cheap special price at this hotel. Don't waste time coming on to TripAdvisor to whinge, come and tell the staff on duty. Also you were staying for 4 nights and a bed change would not happen for that period of stay. You have made a comment about 1 meal that you did not like but enjoyed the rest of the meals but to start moaning about the 1 you did not enjoy again you should have asked for something else as we bend over backwards to make our guests happy. You seriously need to take a good hard look at your life and the state of the world we live in its all a mess. So don't come to Blackpool and slate it, Every city and town across the country has good and bad parts. Please don't come to Blackpool again as it is obviously not to your standard neither is any hotel in it. I hope that one day you have to moan about something really serious that pops up in your life so you can look back on your words and see how pathetic and trivial you really are. Sad people. Have a nice life Bye Bye.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liam N wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are basic, tiles in bathroom that have cracked have been filled or re-sealed are not the work of a professional, doesn’t make it great, the bed we had if you’re going as a couple be prepared to be squashed very small double almost like 3/4 double, the room was like a shoebox & definitely didn’t match the price per night fee! The price has got to be towards the entertainment because the hotel is bare basic as in the decor (not to be my taste but maybe to someone else it will be) let’s say it far more suitable to the elderly.

Not all bad though, the entertainment was very good over the time I stayed there, nice atmosphere in the hotel, friendly enough staff, they always wanted to do the best they could for each individual customer.

The price was charged per person per night, the cost certainly added up & with that type of money could’ve gone to abroad for a long weekend with that money. A long weekend in this hotel would’ve set you back roughly £600, for winter weather in Blackpool….

I don’t not recommend this hotel because it does have good entertainment & the waiting on & bar staff are kind friendly people. Just not for me…
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum W wrote a review Nov 2023
32 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely fabulous!

I stayed for 3 nights from Friday 3rd November until Monday 6th November. I arrived about 2pm and was lucky enough to get a space right out the front of the hotel

The check in was simple and painless, I was meted by Mary and another lady sorry I don’t know her name, but they both made me feel right at home straight away, I was allocated room 307 which was on the 3rd floor, it had a really comfy double bed and a nice bathroom and shower was good too!

I stayed bed and breakfast however on the Sunday night I also got tea, the food is really good quality and the portion sizes are good as well.

The staff in the restaurant are so nice and always welcome you with a good evening or good morning and they can’t do enough to help you. There was one boy and one girl who looked very young but they were very good along with the other staff in the hotel.

My thanks also goes to Brian which I think is Mary’s partner who served breakfast and help with food in the morning and evening, he is really pleasant and really good to talk to, Linda who works on the bar most nights is a delightful lady, so happy to help and enjoys a good chinwag! I also spoke to I think his name was Alan the chef also really polite, along with the night porter Colin who I chatted to one morning around 4am after being out to the clubs 😂🤣

I think I’ve mentioned everyone, I also made some good friends with the other people on the hotel and we all said the same thing that it’s a great hotel 🏨.

It’s outside the main centre of town but I find that a good thing, there is a tram stop right outside which takes around 5 minutes to get out to the tower and a bit more to get to the pleasure beach.

I’m going to look at getting next year booked when I get a bit of time tonight.

Thanks you Team Strand for a wonderful stay and making me feel so welcome.

Callum
307
X
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mary Holliday, Owner at The Strand Hotel
Responded 9 Nov 2023
Thanks Callum So happy you enjoyed your stay at The Strand We look forward to seeing you again in the future 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Billpegasus wrote a review May 2021
Kilwinning, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked with Blackpool breaks they changed the hotel from the original booking due to problem at the hotel. So we sent to the Strand Hotel it has been newly refurbished to really good standard through out the whole hotel .the room we had was well laid out comfy single beds on the 3rd floor with sea view not the biggest room we have stayed in but was ideal for Mon-Fri break ,the food was a good standard can’t fault the meals ,staff in restaurant were really good and worked hard nothing a problem for them ,the evening entertainment was ok usual bingo and guest artist ,as this was opening after lockdown well done to. All at the The Strand for a really good Break keep up the good work ,only down point think Bar Prices Were on the High side .lift to all floors
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum W wrote a review Apr 2024
32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Exceptional hotel!
Last visited last November and had a really great time, this time I was in room 103 with shower and bath overlooking the sea and promenade. Shower was powerful and the heat just right. Bathroom and bedroom a good size as well.

Hotel interior is lovely the rooms are nicely decorated as well along with the reception and dining room. Meals are really good quality especially the roast beef on Sunday nights…so much beef 🥩 😊 the breakfast are good as well, although I would love Mary and Brian to introduce a bit of black pudding and haggis, get him told
Mary 😍😂

Drink prices are really good value for money think pint of cider is £4.20 but then also had happy hour between 8pm and 10pm which meant you could get a pint for £3.20 and most spirits for around £2.40 with a mixer.

Everyone is lovely from Amy to Brian and Mary to Colin and Lee the night porters and the cleaners along with Mary’s son and the extended family who always welcome you with a smile 😊 I didn’t get a chance to see Linda this year but I hope your well Linda 🙂‍↕️

I’m looking forward to returning in November again

Thanks again Team Strand for wonderful stay.

Callum.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Just Enjoy it really!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
martin f asked a question Nov 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there guest parking at the hotel.
Callum W wrote a tip Apr 2024
32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just Enjoy it really!"
Read full review
Thomas M wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking not always available "
Read full review
Derick Emson wrote a tip Nov 2023
Barnsley, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is lack of parking as hotel is on promenade."
Read full review
Happy Places wrote a tip Aug 2023
Cheshire, United Kingdom33 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We parked the car and opted for the team day ticket. The stop is right by the hotel and worth every penny. A visit to cleverly is a must. "
Read full review
deniseedgar64 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom16 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tram stop is just across the road."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Blackpool area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireBlackpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE STRAND HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Strand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Strand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Magic Wand Factory (0.2 miles), The Gynn Heritage Trail Blue Plaque (0.1 miles), and North Shore Methodist Church (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Strand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and evening entertainment.
What food & drink options are available at The Strand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Strand Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Strand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include East4West Indian Restaurant and Takeaway, New Treasure City, and The Palm Court Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to The Strand Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blackpool War Memorial (2.7 miles).
All Blackpool HotelsBlackpool Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BlackpoolHotels near The Strand Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire