We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Metropole Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Metropole Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,320: English reviews
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

me and my husband came for 7nights on 25th nov 2016.We stayed in the billy butlin suite which was excellent as it is on the ground floor,as i am on oxygen and in a wheelchair.The staff were excellent and very helpful.the room was very clean and comfortable.The only trouble was the food was discusting it was cold,the only time it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Simply go elsewhere. Room on arrival not cleaned even after check in time. Given a second room with no towels. House keeping abysmal. Beds not made up and toiletries not topped up. Room cold. Instead of them looking after you, you chased after them constantly with regards to poor service. Friendly staff but a lot of improvements needed.

Helpful?
Thank Gordon S

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I only stayed for one night, and I had a very pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and polite, the room was clean, you can hear the trams and traffic outside but it's not that loud, it didn't bother me though. Jus basic room, and but jus right for what I wanted.

Helpful?
Thank Zoë H
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Myself and family came over the first weekend in November 13 of us in total. Overall, we were all satisfied with the stay. However, as some of us were partnered up and had double rooms, my boyfriends sister was on her own, on the very top floor in the corner of the hotel where you could clearly smell smoke from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charliebird94
Francis S, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We have been coming to the Metropole over many years and yes, it is a Britannia hotel. We have always had a nice, clean and comfortable room, indeed this time, booking half board via booking.com, we found not only did we have a Seaview room but a corner of the hotel room, giving a sea, side and townside view, a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David E
Francis S, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read that all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and especially that you felt we offered value for money. Your very positive comments about the cleanliness of the Hotel and the friendliness of the staff are noted and... More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had initially planned to go to LLandudno with National Holidays, they wrote advising the trip had been cancelled offering alternative weekends. As Blackpool was the only one that fitted with our party arrangements time off work etc we decided to book. This is the first time we have been on a National Holiday weekend, I checked the reviews on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We previously stayed at this hotel a year ago, and we had a sea front room and it was a lovely room ( although there was dead pigeons outside in the balcony which wasn't nice ) but we had high hopes again for this hotel. Me and my partner decided to take an overnight stay to Blackpool just as a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenwaaah
Francis S, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Read the review's n was dreading it! Are room was OK, bathroom spotless! The food spot on the waiting staff brill! The receptionist's were not approachable never smiled. The toilets in reception area were very dirty the tables in the bar area were dirty. The entertainment was good. Its a old beautiful building n needs some TLC. Would stay there... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrealindley01
Francis S, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read that all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and especially that you felt we offered value for money. Your very positive comments about the friendliness of the waoiting staff is noted and have been passed on. We... More 

uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Metropole with a friend last week, on booking we requested 2 single rooms and next to or close to each other.... 233 rooms at the hotel but the rooms allocat4ed were 14 and 163... not the best start but no real issue. Checking in was simple, receptionist was really nice, polite and helpful. We were told room ready... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wayne196600
Francis S, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read that all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and especially that you felt we offered value for money. Your very positive comments about the receptionist is noted and has been passed on. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here from Monday 21st,had a nice time Food very good. Room was very nice ,better than expected nicely decorated,only thing i didnt like was the key card kept playing up.Its a very old hotel it does need doing up in places,One gripe i do have is the misserble staff .need to work on customer care hardly saw any memeber... More 

Helpful?
Thank gary s
Francis S, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read that all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and especially that you felt we offered value for money. Your very positive comments about the good quality food fayre is noted and has been passed on. We look... More 

1,025 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1012)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (227)
Viewed
Bathroom (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (530)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
2,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#31 of 72 in Blackpool
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3,513 reviews
0.6 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 72 in Blackpool
992 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: £32 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Metropole Hotel staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Metropole Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the suites”
 of 5 bubbles maureenbF1982HE, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms over looking the sea would be better as its noisy by main road”
 of 5 bubbles 134garys, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if not happy with room ask for a different 1 [ simple]”
 of 5 bubbles nugent3, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view is worth paying for - as the other views aren't going to be great here!”
 of 5 bubbles HelenBrownLancashire, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“been 4 times this year and rooms vary from cell size to lovely large rooms with comfortable chairs and a reclining sofa.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciayates417, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay