We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amethyst Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Amethyst Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
northumberland
Reviewed 9 September 2011

had a smashing time here, we stayed for 2 nights and our son and his partner joined us the second night, john @ pearl made us straight at home, laughing and joking with all the residents, it was so easy to walk the 10 minutes in to the centre of blackpool, we had a fab time at the legends show,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lainyNorthumberland
west midlands
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Well we went again and it was even better and we will be going again.John & Pearl are the perfect hosts and dont read reviews that tell you otherwise.They both have a great understanding of how to accomadate people in a home from home atomosphere.They will always endeavour to help you in any way they can.The rooms are all very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissiebear
Helmsley
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Having booked a family room we were greeted by Pearl who showed us to our room, not a bad size room compared to other Blackpool's hotels standard rooms that we've stayed in. The room was extremely clean & the hotel well decorated, bathroom was clean & tidy overall the accommodation was pretty comfortable. Both John & Pearl were extremely helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy N
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We were given the family room located at the top of the building. The bathroom was spotless, however the same could not be said for the room itself. Spillages and hair in all the top drawers, cobwebs on lights and dirty earplugs on the floor. Breakfast was nice, 1 sausage, 1 rasher bacon, 1 egg, beans and hashbrown. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank skyerocket1612
ToddyBlackpool, Owner at Amethyst Hotel, responded to this review

This review is not for our Amethyst Hotel, we have no record of this person/s staying here. All our guests are asked what they would like for Breakfast, and our rooms are spotlessly cleaned at all times, we also have regular anonymous overnight stays from Visit England and im sure that if this person was correct with these complaints we...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Amethyst hotel was a complete gem of a hotel! my partner and i thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! the rooms were traditional but quirky, elegant and above all comfortable. unlike the hotels we are used to the owners of the hotel made us feel at home straight away! always their to give advice on where to go to eat, drink, have fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jemnus
leigh lancs
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We recently stayed at Amethyst Hotel Blackpool. When I made the telephone booking I was offered a choice of room, I chose the Gold Room. But we werent given the room when we arrived, I was disappointed but say anything as I didnt want to make a fuss. Then when speaking to other guests we found out they had been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suzywongLeighLancs
ToddyBlackpool, Owner at Amethyst Hotel, responded to this review

OWNERS RESPONCE. Dear Sue First of all you were not promised room 3 (Gold Room) as this room was allready booked by a regular weeks before. You mentioned that the couple you were discussing prices with had paid less, the reason for that is they had booked on line before we had chance to change prices for new years eve,we...

Wigan
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Only stayed 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, hotel was clean, well presented and i would recommend anyone to stay over. The landlady/landlord are very helpful and pleasant people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TubeyWigan
west midlands
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Brilliant second visit to the Amethyst Hotel,John & Pearl excellent hosts yet again.We were made extremely welcome and enjoyed a great weeks holiday,plenty of food,relaxing,chatting and laughter.Lovely comfortable,clean rooms and ensuites.Great family and friends made good company and we were more than happy to return this year and hopefully will do so again next year.Thanks John,Pearl & Molly for making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissiebear
united kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2010

only stopped one night when booked over the phone was promised a parking space when we arrived was told they had given the space too someone who was stopping longer which at first felt like we had been lied too to get the booking as a parking space in blackpool is vital during the illuminations but to be fair the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madpartyboy
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We have been staying at this hotel now for 6 years, we have never had a bad experience, think the only room we haven't slept in is John and Pearl's. John, Pearl and Molly the dog are fantasic hosts, we would class them and their children Kelly & Catherine as family. John and Pearl make a mean full English and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#438 of 915 in Blackpool
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
2,864 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pembroke
The Pembroke
#277 of 915 in Blackpool
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3,514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#345 of 915 in Blackpool
114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#227 of 915 in Blackpool
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Amethyst Hotel

Address: 86 Palatine Road, Blackpool FY1 4BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Number of rooms: 49
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amethyst Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?