We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

St Martins Lodge Leicester

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (32)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Sport in the City 10% off room rate
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 7 small hotels in Leicester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
St Martins Lodge offers luxury room only accommodation for those looking to stay in the City of Leicester for business or leisure. With 28 bedrooms, including a top floor junior suite, each room is individually styled in sympathy with the historic architecture and character of the original building. St Martins Lodge is located in the attractive streets of the Greyfriars area of Leicester which contains some of the city’s historic and cultural gems, including the King Richard III Visitor Centre, the medieval Guildhall and, of course, the final resting place of the Last Plantagenet King at Leicester Cathedral. Discover independent shops in St Martin’s Square and The Lanes or head for Highcross where you’ll find all your favourite high street stores and designer names. There’s so much to see that you’re bound to work up an appetite and the area boasts a fantastic choice of coffee shops, bars and restaurants. St Martins Lodge offers free on-site car parking for guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Arabic, Czech and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Price:Sport in the City 10% off room rate
102Reviews0Q+A27Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 18
  • 5
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Highleghlady wrote a review 9 Apr
Knutsford, United Kingdom414 contributions177 helpful votes
A beautiful old Georgian building, sympathetically converted into well appointed bedrooms with excellent en suite facilities. It was thoughtfully designed. Lashings of hot water, top quality essentials, and included a secure parking area just outside. Close to KRIII Museum, the Guildhall and the Cathedral so if wanting to visit the King Richard exhibition, etc, it's ideal. Also close to restaurants and pubs - all within walking distance
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Just what I was looking for - a beautifully appointed room with a tray of goodies, comfy bed,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Ryan, Other at St Martins Lodge Leicester
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for the amazing review, we looking forward to welcoming you back very soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KKS wrote a review Jun 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favourite Review
We had a great stay in this lovely building. The room was beautiful and the bed was really comfortable The location was perfect , next to the Cathedral and close to the centre of Leicester so we could walk everywhere. The car park is right next to the lodge and we were pleasantly surprised that this was free for guests. We didn’t mind it being room only as we enjoyed the fun of finding somewhere close by for breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nigel Jobson, General Manager at St Martins Lodge Leicester
Responded 3 Jul 2023
Thank you for your fantastic review and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Samantha P wrote a review Mar 2024
Rainham, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
Well the actual lodge was lovely and clean and I can’t fault the room apart from very small for a twin room and the beds were basically 2 single beds right next to eachother (no separation gap between beds apart from about 2 inches !! ) Also no air conditioning and the heat was on full on arrival and we were so hot so we had to open the window to cool the room. The fan in the room had no where to plug in as there was no room and the only way you could plug it in was by the bathroom Door causing a trip hazard unless you unplugged the lamp. These issues were not major but definitely an inconvenience . HOWEVER !!!! Firstly I would like to point out that I do not smoke & I’m very anti. A woman (cleaner) knocked on our door just after 9am to say they were doing a fire test. She knocked again 5 minutes later & asked us if we ere smoking in the room as she could smell smoke in the corridor. We immediately confirmed we were not smoking and it definitely was not us (we saw another resident smoking when he came in the building the same time as us after returning from a cafe for breakfast, this man said morning and was friendly and he was carrying a McDonald’s in his hand he walked upstairs and we assume he was either staff or another resident but we commented about him smoking when walking in, amongst ourselves when back in our room as you don’t normally see it these days as everything is mostly no smoking ). Literally 5 minutes later a man was leering through our window (the window was open slightly with curtains open as the room was so hot ). (Air conditioning didn’t work in room ) the man scared the absolute crap out of me. He said he was security after I said who the hell are you and how dare you look through our window like this (he was literally pushing his head in through the window ) he said he was looking for proof of us smoking ! I was not happy and I said again we don’t smoke & he carried on scurrying through the gravel trying to find his proof. I said find me a lit or warm cigarette butt !! and he couldn’t!! he found found nothing but old cigarette butts outside in the gravel (other rooms could also throw butts outside ) it was not just our window that had access to the little gravel area) (this gravel area is not a walkway it like a small square with steps below which a assume lead to a basement but residents can’t walk out here or access it by foot and pedestrians can not see it or access it either so we felt safe having the window open. I was obviously really annoyed that a strange man was at our window scaring me half to death and being accused of smoking when we don’t even smoke. My daughter was I. The bathroom fortunately getting dressed in there. We were shocked and annoyed but had to leave the situation from escalating as we were rushing to leave for a funeral. We left for the day at about 10.35am and I returned on my own leaving family to carry on at the wake as I have kidney failure and get tired easily. I was mentally and physically exhausted after a long emotional day. I navigated my way back to the hotel with the help of my sat nav (I didn’t know the area as we live in Kent). One arrival to the small car park you have to press the Intacom to be let in and i parked up and made my way over the walkway to the lodge entrance to find our key card was not working. There is no intercom at the door entrance which is shocking. The reception is over in another building away from the actual lodge so you can’t just get in or approach/speak to them. I didn’t even know where reception was as a family member checked us in when we arrived and we just went from the car park straight into the lodge on arrival The time was 9pm at night it was dark, & there were homeless people and drunks on a bench next to the lodge cathedral which is where the reception is located. So I had to walk back to the car park feeling quite vulnerable on my own to call the intercom button in the car park to say I couldn’t get in. He then asked me to walk to reception to sort the card out and he had to give me directions. I got in there thinking the card had not been activated for both nights of our stay by mistake but was then told our stay had been terminated because we had been smoking in the room and we had to vacate immediately!! I can’t put into words how upset I was . So there we were stranded with no where to go at gone 9pm at night for something we didn’t even do. I was then having to call family back from the wake and I was ESCORTED like a criminal to our room so we could pack our bags. We were not even given a key to get I. To pack !!! They have charged the person who booked the room for us £250 for smoking in the room which was not true. It’s caused a big row in the family because family had to come back to try and resolve the situation and they said they have proof. We have all asked for proof and obviously given us no proof as there isn’t any . The reception man would not even give me a copy of the email he read out saying our room was terminated so I could proceed further with a complaint. It’s absolutely disgusting to be treated like this throwing 2 females out late at night and having absolutely no proof as there was no smoking in the room. I personally think they reacted like this as I called the man at our window a weirdo as I’m sorry coming into a window is bloody weird and even the reception man agreed that if someone did that to his wife he would not be happy. So he has bare faced lied saying we were seen smoking in the email (again we don’t smoke ) We are absolutely fuming, upset and shocked . So if you stay here be warned it’s all about making money as they don’t care about the residents staying there or their safety and to think they are linked to the church, kicking 2 quiet respectful polite females (woman and child ) out on the streets for no reason at night . So they took £250 plus the full cost of the room. Money taking weirdo thieves. We drive home at 10pm at night as we could not find another place to stay late at night and got home at 2 am with part of the M25 closed. Never ever again will I stay there again or recommend it. Awful damn right lying staff
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t give your credit card details to booking.com or the lodge. Don’t stay here if your a female
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Ryan, Other at St Martins Lodge Leicester
Responded 10 Mar 2024
Hello, Thank you for the first part of the review, regarding the room, however a plug is situated on the desk/dressing area for a the Dyson fan to be used. The aircon in your room does work however we have checked it today and it was checked by the housekeeping team on the day of your arrival, if you were struggling with it then you could have called us from the in room phone and we would have shown you how it works. In regards to the smoking, this was smelt and seen in the room and I do have the proof which I can show you. Id also like to point out to anyone reading this review that it is a complete fabrication of what actually happened, my team were verbally abused by these guests hence the need for us to get our security team involved. All of which has been reported as misconduct on the booking.com portal. Smoking happened in the room 100%, seen by management, with photo and video evidence. Smoking became illegal in July 2007/ I wont be responding to any other points
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard7031 wrote a review Mar 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom13 contributions22 helpful votes
This is a fantastic, hidden gem of an hotel. My son and I were on a university open-day visit and wanted somewhere in the centre of Leicester, within easy walking distance of where we were to visit, and St. Martin’s Lodge fitted the bill exactly, being a very easy 10 minute stroll away from De Montfort University. The parking is directly outside the building and easy to access. The staff we met and dealt with were friendly, welcoming and very efficient and made us feel at home. The room (we had a double) was spacious, very clean, and beautifully appointed. Most importantly for a city centre hotel, it was extremely quiet at all times of night and day that we were there. We thought that the fact that the hotel did not offer food may have been problematic however, when it was explained that we were situated within minutes of numerous eateries, this did not present any problems. We breakfasted at the excellent Holly’s Coffee shop (13-15 St. Martin’s City Centre) which was a mere 3 minutes walk away from the hotel. You would not believe that the hotel, situated directly opposite Leicester Cathedral and near to the Richard III visitor centre, is in a city centre such is the feeling of peace, quiet and tranquility around it. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will definitely use it for any such visits. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Being in a city centre, definilet a sat-nav guide you there. We used one and it took us there...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Ryan, Other at St Martins Lodge Leicester
Responded 7 Mar 2024
Hi Richard! That's got to be the best review we have had, amazing to read and the team love it! Peace, quiet and tranquility is all we strive for and I can see we delivered on that and everything else on this stay. We cant wait to welcome you back to St Martins Lodge Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jacqueline wrote a review Mar 2024
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom1 contribution
This is our second visit. We have again thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The reception staff are brilliant and extremely helpful; the rooms are stylish and spotless; great touches, too, including a welcome tray, Dyson air cooler and lovely soaps and shampoos etc . Great to have the free car parking nearby too.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Ryan, Other at St Martins Lodge Leicester
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Hi Thank you for the amazing review, we hope to welcome you back again soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Duncan567 wrote a review Feb 2024
Rushden, United Kingdom127 contributions67 helpful votes
An excellent hotel, staff so helpful and friendly, rooms are so well prepared and spotlessly clean. Parking available close by and free to guests. Would definitely stay again so close to town centre and all amenities, restaurants and bars. Very well done
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Ryan, Other at St Martins Lodge Leicester
Responded 12 Feb 2024
Hi Duncan, Thank you for the great review, I am delighted you had an excellent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nick B wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Overall our stay was as to be expected. We booked a standard double room and was a bit shocked to walk in to find a bathroom with no doors. I feel like this is very obscure and should be mentioned on the booking information as this certainly isn't for everyone! Not much soundproofing in the rooms either. Overall and average stay, nothing special, which warrants the average score.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Ryan, Other at St Martins Lodge Leicester
Responded 10 Feb 2024
Hi Nick, Thank you for the review, I can see that you booked a double room with us, and the photos on our booking platforms do show rooms without an open bathroom, however it is walled off to some extent so there is some privacy. We cannot add walls into these rooms to add doors due to our listing, and to be honest we really wouldn't want to as it adds to the character of the building and the room. Our rooms are proofed as much as possible however being a hotel in Leicester some noise will travel and we cant help that I'm sorry. I don't agree with your comment surrounding "average stay" we are far from average hence our status as the number 1 hotel in Leicester equally just winning a highly commended status. If you decide to book with us again please call us direct and we can ensure you have a room that's god a separate bathroom with doors Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anita A wrote a review Dec 2023
14 contributions
Stayed here for one night re a work dinner. Excellent customer service throughout and the standard of bedroom and shower was amazing - excellent quality. i would highly recommend it. As a lady who travels on her own quite a bit i also felt very secure.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: the car park is great and safe and free
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Ryan, Other at St Martins Lodge Leicester
Responded 10 Dec 2023
Hi, Thank you for the feedback and an amazing review. I love the fact you felt secure as a lone traveler :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tf2073 wrote a review Dec 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia74 contributions42 helpful votes
A very pleasant, comfortable inn at a very modest cost. The location is ideal near the cathedral in the old town. Many eating places in the immediate area. Check in is across the street and staff is friendly and accommodating. Convenient to shopping and touristing around.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: On site parking. Check in across the street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Ryan, Other at St Martins Lodge Leicester
Responded 4 Dec 2023
Hello Thank you for the amazing review :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie M wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
What a gem in the heart of Leicester , we were greeted by two very helpful receptionists who explained everything , we stayed in a very spacious twin bedded room with little touches unexpected for the price we paid . Although very close to the city centre it is very quiet and I would highly recommend this gem.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Ryan, Other at St Martins Lodge Leicester
Responded 22 Nov 2023
Hi Thank you for the amazing review! I am so thankful you liked our little touches, we are trying to make it a home from home with little luxuries along the way :) We look forward to welcoming you back soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Leicester area.
PRICE RANGE
£82 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLeicestershireLeicester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ST MARTINS LODGE LEICESTER - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about St Martins Lodge Leicester
Which popular attractions are close to St Martins Lodge Leicester?
Nearby attractions include Escape Leicester (0.2 miles), Angle Axe Throwing Leicester (0.1 miles), and Cocoa Amore (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at St Martins Lodge Leicester?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at St Martins Lodge Leicester?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at St Martins Lodge Leicester?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at St Martins Lodge Leicester?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St Martins Lodge Leicester?
Conveniently located restaurants include Merchant Of Venice Losby Lane, The Rutland & Derby Arms, and Turtle Bay Leicester.
Is St Martins Lodge Leicester located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 miles away from the centre of Leicester.
Does St Martins Lodge Leicester offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at St Martins Lodge Leicester?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, Arabic, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to St Martins Lodge Leicester?
Many travellers enjoy visiting King Richard III Visitor Centre (0.03 miles), Leicester Guildhall (0.06 miles), and Leicester Cathedral (0.09 miles).
Does St Martins Lodge Leicester have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.