The Grand Hotel Leicester
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Grand Hotel Leicester

Traveller (260)
Room & Suite (56)
Impressive Hotel lobby with many original features
Dining (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#30 of 44 hotels in Leicester
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Grand Hotel Leicester, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in the heart of Leicester city centre. Located just a short walk from the train station and at the top of the High Street, guests can enjoy a fabulous meal at the onsite Brasserie restaurant. The impressive Hotel bar and lounge with many original features is a perfect meeting place for coffee or cocktails. Free wifi throughout the Hotel, including all 104 en-suite bedrooms which also feature a complimentary hot drinks tray and bathroom amenities . One of the most central and sophisticated hotels that Leicester has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Slovak

Location

Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
East Midlands Airport
Nottingham Airport
19.9 mi
See all flights
1,178Review11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 228
  • 346
  • 301
  • 164
  • 139
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
nikki b wrote a review Jan 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom6 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Grand Hotel because we were going to the theatre and was close by. We booked and then i read the reviews. I was expecting the worse !! However the staff were efficient and friendly, we stayed in a double room which was roomy and the bathroom was huge with loads of hot water. The hotel is in the middle of the city so it was a little noisy but not excessive and earplugs are provided. The room rates were great, the hotel was great, the location was perfect for us, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would book again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor looking onto the main street but it was fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anjit012, Manager at The Grand Hotel Leicester
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Nikkib674 I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards Anjit
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NJ1 wrote a review Feb 2020
Sutton, United Kingdom152 contributions113 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Grand. It was once, but no longer. If you discount the grubby external, then the lobby and old fittings are a pleasant surprise. This place has seen better times and needs some money spent on it. That said the staff were friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant. The rooms are tried and dated, but clean and a fair size for a city centre hotel. Did have a ‘first’, as supplied with free ear plugs in the room due to the possible noise from the street outside. Wouldn’t rush back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anjit012, Manager at The Grand Hotel Leicester
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear 108nigelj Thanks for your feedback. This feedback helps us to improve our service.I am also glad to hear that staff where friendly and helpful. Kind Regards Anjit
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
B00TB0Y wrote a review Feb 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom272 contributions144 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed three times in December for Xmas parties local to the hotel, one being host at the hotel itself, great position for nights out at the Athena and bistro live.
Check in staff as polite as ever and same completed within two minutes of arrival for two visits, the other visit our room was not ready upon arrival but was offered a drink whilst we waited and two free drinks vouchers for later.
Booked the same privilege room for all three stays so there where no surprises on the room front, cleaned to the standard expected.
The room prices varied for all three stays but averaged out quite reasonable, a pleasant stay for all and I'm sure we will return in December again, as I always comment on, the only thing slightly annoying is the residents car parking, size of spaces and cost.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anjit012, Manager at The Grand Hotel Leicester
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Bootboy Thanks for your feedback. This really helps team motivated. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kris M wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has gone down the pan, literally. The pictures say it all. The net curtain must have been like that for months if not years. Simple fixes yet seems the Management don't really care. To top it all a shower that stayed at 50 degrees, took 20 minutes for the staff to sort out and give us a key to another room meaning walking along a corridor in our pj's just for a shower. We did get money back for the room but the shower issue must have been there for a while as it didn't seem just like a temporary problem. When we went to check out the attitude of the staff behind the reception desk was terrible. One guy hid behind a pillar trying to listen, the lady taking my car park payment couldn't care less and another member of staff did a runner. No mention of how our stay was, no apology and no acknowledgement that the hotel had messed up. The hotel knows what the issues are yet refuse to do anything about them. I know that they will book our same room out without fixing the shower or replacing the curtain in the hope that the new residents won't complain. It's not so much getting our money back, it's the attitude of the staff and the way they are letting the hotel go to pot. Shameful!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anjit012, Manager at The Grand Hotel Leicester
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Krissyb0y Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I will definitely speak to the concern department. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ellnunn wrote a review Jan 2020
213 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited here at the weekend with my husband. Arrived at around 8pm and the lady on reception was pleasant.

I feel that the photos on a different booking site were very misleading, as are the lobby and bar area that have evidently been upgraded in comparison to the remainder of the hotel.

I can cope with things being a little dated but there is no excuse for things being dirty, especially at the price of a nights stay. The bedding was unclean (dark brown stains on the pillow), the bathroom clearly hadn’t been cleaned in a while there were marks on both the sink and the bath as well as thick dust on the tap and the floor/bathroom door were gross! There were also stains on the carpet and the curtains in the bedroom - I won’t mention the kettle/mugs to have tea from.

In addition to this, do not stay here if you want to sleep. Understandably it is in an old building but there should be a noise warning. We were on the 3rd floor and we could clearly hear everyone outside walking by until 4am.

On check out you also have to pay an extra £10 for parking which seems bizzare and the receptionist didn’t even ask us how our stay was!

Just disastrous, avoid!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan W wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom43 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Opened the door to my room and manoeuvred myself and suitcase around the bed. Ear plugs were a nice touch at the side of the TV-fortunately not required. I set my laptop on the slightly sticky desk. The dark accommodation has a general air of tiredness. In the shower room I am sure that the hot/cold is the wrong way round on the mixer tap. Windows could definitely do with a clean.
Interaction with the hotel staff was fine-friendly & helpful in the bar and restaurant.
Ah-the restaurant. I'm sure he's a lovely man but it is odd to have the visage of Mr MP White staring down at you from every wall while you enjoy your breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anjit012, Manager at The Grand Hotel Leicester
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear Jonathan Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Walrus90 wrote a review Mar 2020
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom370 contributions131 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent hotel. Stayed here on a weekend trip to Leicester. Excellent location as it’s close to bars and restaurants but also only 5 minutes away from the train station.

Rooms spacious and tidy. Only issue I had was the noise from the street outside, however once I closed the bathroom door and put in my ear plugs it wasn’t an issue.

The hotel decor itself is full of history and lovely to have a little walk around.

All staff extremely friendly, thanks to the barman, the lovely female receptionist with the brown hair. Thanks to the chef for the beautiful cooked breakfast on Saturday (even if we were the only ones in the restaurant)

Had room service twice and both times the food was excellent and delivered promptly.

We have decided that once the lockdown is over we shall 100% be revisiting.

Thank you for an enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anjit012, Manager at The Grand Hotel Leicester
Responded 27 Mar 2020
Dear Danieliliff55 I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comment to the team as this positive feedback helps them motivated. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laggarwal wrote a review Feb 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom31 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel had overbooked on booking.com and moved us to another hotel, I personally was not notified and was told that booking.com should have called me. However, we were a group of friends that were there for an event. One of the group members informed me of what had happened and the change in hotels and we requested for our whole group to be moved to the other hotel as we wanted to be together. This caused much confusion with some people being informed and others not. Thereafter checking in to the new hotel was a nightmare as Mercure had not provided them with all the information that was needed. And then during check out we were informed to pay at the other hotel (not Mercure) only to have our card charged twice by the other hotel and booking.com. can't really comment on the hotel rooms as we didn't stay there but the management of our booking was a complete mess! The staff remained polite and tried to be helpful (despite the lack of communication as to what was happening) hence I wouldn't mark it as terrible. however, this was a lot of stress for a simple one night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anjit012, Manager at The Grand Hotel Leicester
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear Laggarwal We are really sorry for the inconvenience you had. We did provide them with customer details. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RachelShepp wrote a review Jan 2020
Horndean, United Kingdom13 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for 2 nights and won’t be returning.

My room on the 4th floor (406) was out dated at best and was rather battered with tired furniture. Very strange layout. Damp smell.

On arrival the room was freezing. I looked for a radiator only to discover it was behind the rather strange built-in chest of drawers and not accessible. In fairness, after speaking with reception this was fixed and the temperature improved. Why wasn’t this done before a guest arrives in January?

After a full day of meetings I got back to the room at 7pm to discover it hadn’t been made up (!) and water pouring from my shower which was all over the floor and seeping into the bedroom carpet (now I understood where the damp smell was coming from). Housekeeping came quickly - lovely and apologetic lady - and started clearing up. This was clearly a known issue.

All staff were very pleasant but got the impression they knew very well what the issues were and felt embarrassed.

Beautiful building and with some investment could be great but sadly it I cannot recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hanna S wrote a review Jan 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location near the train station and city centre. Lovely that we can leave luggage safe so we can look around the city without it. Rooms are weirdly laid out but extremely spacious. However when I informed reception that a chair in the room was broke and I trapped my hand in the handle they seemed more concerned that the key to the room was near my phone than taking note of this issue.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anjit012, Manager at The Grand Hotel Leicester
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Hannalous Thanks for giving us 4 star review. I will definitely pass your feedback to the team. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from guestwithstandards
Spain304 contributions124 helpful votes
Not sure, probably not. (I hope not as apart from authentic Guide Dogs, pet dogs have no place in an Hotel - in my humble opinion).
Answer from Ginette Perry
Leicester, United Kingdom626 contributions107 helpful votes
Yes it is 10 minutes up new walk
leanda c asked a question Aug 2016
Derby, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Where is the nearest parking
Answer from guestwithstandards
Spain304 contributions124 helpful votes
The nearest Parking is behind the Hotel. It is, I believe, shared with other local businesses though the Hotel does have a limited space dedicated Parking right next to the Hotel rear entrance. Entry and Exit from the Carpark is via ticket operated barriers from a back street roughly parallel to Granby Street. Hotel guests will pay upon checkout and receive a pass for exit. DJG
Answer from candyNorthampton
Earls Barton, United Kingdom84 contributions70 helpful votes
11 pound but there’s a weatherspoons going up towards the station
Alisteir M wrote a tip Feb 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book well in advance."
Read full review
Guest wrote a tip Oct 2020
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bother with anything other than a Privilege room. Still drab but clean."
Read full review
BrightonCoco wrote a tip Jan 2020
Cornwall, United Kingdom46 contributions62 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay if there is a function and ask for a room away from the central well."
Read full review
nikki b wrote a tip Jan 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom6 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were on the 2nd floor looking onto the main street but it was fine"
Read full review
Clive Bowman wrote a tip Jan 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get one around the back if you don’t want to be woken by the night club drunks."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Leicester area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure leicester hotel leicester, ramada leicester, leicester ramada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mercure Leicester City Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLeicestershireLeicester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GRAND HOTEL LEICESTER - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Leicester (0.1 miles), Cocoa Amore (0.3 miles), and Angle Axe Throwing Leicester (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Herb, Bistro Live Leicester, and Watson's Cocktail Bar.
Is Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Leicester.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Leicester Guildhall (0.3 miles), King Richard III Visitor Centre (0.3 miles), and Leicester Cathedral (0.2 miles).
All Leicester HotelsLeicester Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LeicesterHotels near Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire