We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Newport Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Newport Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

From start to finish the staff at Newport Guest house were great. The room a shabby chic cottage feel was very clean and well kept, the breakfast in the morning was of a very high quality, the sausages and bacon are sourced locally and the service is top rate. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for one night only ,arrived early and although a parking space was reserved for us there wasn't a space available however the owner let us use his permit so was able to leave the car all day and night,very welcoming and the room was ready too so got our keys about 1 pm,the room was beautiful and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mayesm2016
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room we stayed in was warm comfortable and immaculate, the decor was very contemporary, the bed very comfortable, the showers hot. The location was very convenient for seeing all Lincoln's attractions. The breakfast was ample and varied and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Liked the fact that it was dog friendly too. Thank you to all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anngarrybray
essex
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thank you very much for a wonderful 3 night stay at your guest house from 8th February - 11th February 2017. Excellent Staff and a warm welcome from Michael and Jeanette. Room immaculate, breakfast first class. I was very touched by the staff leaving me a huge box of chocolates in my room for my birthday. So very well situated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essexpegasus
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, we very much appreciate you taking the time to review our guest house, we try very hard to do our best for our customers and it is very rewarding to all our staff when our efforts are appreciated.

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was lovely, staff were very helpful and the location was very near to the Cathedral, Castle and the town centre. As we went on a Sunday it was easy to find a free parking space nearby and the guest house had information about the areas best to park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Very kind words, very much appreciated, look forward to meeting you again in the future. Thanks again

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The first thing I'd like to comment on is the rudeness of the responses from the owners of this Guest house to other reviewers. I think it's inappropriate to advise people that there expectations should be lower just because you've not booked the most expensive room available. This night away was purchased as a gift to us so we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMcWinty
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry you have misunderstood our response, I thought it was relatively easy to understand, most people thank goodness see things differently. We are also so sorry you didn't read our "before you book" tab on our website and we are sorry you chose to air your grievances on line rather that to ourselves, you will never get to...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a room at this guesthouse and we were very pleased. We were in room 13 at the rear and it had obviously been refurbished. The room was lovely and clean and the furniture was modern not what I expected as when I have been to other similar places like this they are usually tired and old. Newport was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tsimmons06
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Our staff really appreciated your kind words, many thanks.

northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked through groupon (the photo is not the Guest House !) Great position very close the the city centre and all attractions All clean, tidy and a very good breakfast everything you need but perhaps the tv screen a little small. The lady of the house could have smiled a little more! Great for a few days. No parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, I think the wind changed direction when my colleague grimaced once in her youth!, I will try to get her to smile a bit more, she has done it once before so I know it can be done. Many thanks

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in room 7 which was supposed to be a double room but was more like a single. It was also very shabby. Looking back at previous reviews on 29th November the owner said that It was the smallest double room and that they were looking into renovating it and also remarketing it as a separate room type to ensure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

We are always disappointed when our guests expectations are not surpassed and we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Of course you were put in one of our standard rooms, of the 2 choices advertised I.e. Standard or superior rooms, you chose standard. Thankfully most people who pay a Significantly higher rate than you paid are always...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read the other reviews I was really looking forward to staying at the Newport. Our room and ensuite were very disappointing. There was no luxury or nice little touches. The bathroom was no treat. It was clean and very warm but the toiletries were poor and the mirror was no good for putting make up on. Why was there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanandSue2017
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed with your experience.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
0.6 mi away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#6 of 53 in Lincoln
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newport Guest House is luxury bed and breakfast accomodation in a recently refurbished Victorian town house just a 5 minute walk from the historic city centre of Lincoln. The building has been extended and tastefully decorated to the highest standards with each room being individually designed to be comfortable and relaxing whilst being in a warm and welcoming home from home atmosphere.Newport Guest House offers 14 newly refurbished rooms which are tastefully decorated with high quality furnishings. Each room has its own en-suite bathroom and comes equipped with a 32" flat screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdriers, complimentary toiletries and free wireless internet. Unlike many other hotels/guest houses within Lincoln city, we allow all pets to stay. Please note that all of our rooms are strictly non-smoking only. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newport Guest House

Address: 26-28 Newport, Lincoln LN1 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range: £61 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Newport Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newport Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Preston, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Newport Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 11 Excellent”
 of 5 bubbles essexpegasus, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try room 13 at the top of the house but nicely furnished and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles tsimmons06, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay a little extra and have the larger room”
 of 5 bubbles michaeljG5019IF, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles JanandSue2017, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper, a room at the back would be advisable.”
 of 5 bubbles M6452ABsues, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5