We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lock & Key Hotel

15-17 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 5AP England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (148)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#44 of 104 hotels in Liverpool
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
26 bed boutique hotel in the heart of Liverpool City Centre. The hotel is located in the Ropewalks district which is with close proximity of the Albert Dock, M&S Arena, Lime Street station and the L1 shopping complex.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Hair dryer
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
166Reviews1Q+A30Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 120
  • 21
  • 9
  • 5
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
kirsty w wrote a review 14 Feb
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom314 contributions78 helpful votes
On Tuesday 13th Feb'24, We had a one night stay over in Liverpool, Staying at The Lock & Key Boutique Hotel. We arrived at 1220pm, although check in wasn't until 1500hrs, We were allowed to leave our luggage until check in time. After spending a couple of hours around Liverpool, We went back & checked in at approx 1545 & given our key to room 302. Luke on reception had already put our luggage in the room for us. Room 302 was a spacious Double with a kingsize bed, walk in area to hang clothes & store luggage, sofa settee, a table & 2 chairs plus a table & mirror. The bathroom had a walk in shower with waterfall effect, plus sink & toilet, all very clean & tidy The side street the hotel is on, is quiet busy & noisy during the day but was very quiet during the night. The bed & pillows were so comfy, we got an excellent night's sleep. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food etc. We'd like to say a big THANK YOU to Luke who was so professional & help yesterday & this morning. Thank you for a great stayover, we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: High floors may not be ideal for those with mobility issues.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tom S wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
+1
I stayed here recently and unless I am forced at gun point, I won't be staying again, which is a massive shame as the bar is quite good, once you look past the dirty mirrors and the fact it's the size of a dolls house. The breakfast was half decent, and if the previously mentioned gun man is peckish, I wouldn't hesitate to point him in the right direction. His plan would soon be foiled by the fact that the door to the room doesn't shut properly. You know when you stay in a properly maintained hotel and the door shuts it's self.. this one didn't, this would allow for my escape or to be quietly murdered in my sleep. We found out at 5:30 am that a pigeon had taken up residence in an air vent that is exposed to the outside. He seemed quite happy in there, but ferral pigeons cary around 60 infections diseases, not something I want to spend the night with. The design of the bathroom is either genius or totally impractical and borderline stupid. The shower will turn the whole room into a flooded mess in the time it takes you to get a shower cap on.. This might be an attempt to wash away the mold on the trim around the edge of the shower. The flood defences, AKA, bathroom door is looking a little tired. By this, I mean it's rotten to the core and falling apart. The skill level of the maintenance team is somewhere between zero and that of a newborn baby. They have seemingly lost all their paint brushes as every painted surface looks like a field after a rainy glastonbury festival. The filler used on the ceiling looks like the face of the moon after a heavy night on the town. When we raised our concerns with the girl on reception during checkout, her level of not giving a sh*t was on such a scale that it's yet to be invented. Maybe she manages the maintenance team and the pest control people. Very unlikely that she has anything to do with the kitchen as that was the only bit that they got right.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lindsey08 wrote a review Dec 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom42 contributions33 helpful votes
Unfortunately due to rail strikes & family issues we had to cancel our booking in December, I cancelled within the full refund time, I’d booked to pay at hotel but they took the money for 2 rooms months before anyway, I’ve asked for a refund for 3 weeks now but no reply & no refund do beware when booking. The other room was used so we only asked for 1 room to be refunded.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t pay extra to pay at hotel as they take it anyway
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Connolly, Owner at Lock & Key Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Dear Lindsey08, My name is Luke, I am the Hotel GM. I am sorry to read this review regarding your booking being charged early & no refund although youve cancelled in the correct timely manner. Please can you contact me directly at enquiries@lockandkeyhotels.com or call 0151 909 8766 and ask for myself. So I can look into your booking properly and sort for you. Warmest regards Luke at Lock and Key Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bbotty wrote a review Nov 2023
Fawley, United Kingdom40 contributions14 helpful votes
What a great hotel, staff very attentive room 303 very spacious with good facilities. Location brilliant very short walk to the Albert dock and the shops, breakfast not included but we had a full English at the bar and it was very nice, also had a few drinks at the bar the night we arrived it’s small but with a good atmosphere
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Jenkinson, General Manager at Lock & Key Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Dear BBotty, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Lock and Key Hotel. So glad you had a fab experience with us. Thank you for all your lovely feedback and hopefully see you on your next trip to Liverpool. Warmest regards Luke at Lock and Key Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GoPlaces551023 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
What a great place to stay. Feel youre in the heart of Liverpool and convenient to walk everywhere. Above all though it is a quirky hotel...so friendly from the point of arrival n the lovely welcome from Luke and all the staff, small relaxed bar open all day for snacks. Don't expect everything to be perfect..but that is what makes it a real person centred place to stay. Beautifully clean n tidy..very comfortable bed and all the facilities in your room. Will be recommending it to friends n family.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Go for this lovely real hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Jenkinson, General Manager at Lock & Key Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Dear GoPlaces551023, Thank you so much for your 5 star review. So glad you loved the hotel & our team. Your feedback has been shared with our team much appreciated. Hopefully see you again in the future. Warmest regards Luke at Lock and Key Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kenk wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom167 contributions84 helpful votes
My wife has a knack for picking hotels that are both interesting and good value. She managed it again with Lock and Key. Quaint building, great location, VERY friendly and helpful staff, well furnished rooms and an appropriate price. Who could ask for more? Not only that but the hotel has an excellent small restaurant and bar where you can get a dynamite breakfast ranging from granola and yoghurt to a Full English, not to mention a great before dinner cocktail. We will be coming back to Liverpool and this is definitely where we will stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Jenkinson, General Manager at Lock & Key Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Dear 52kkop, Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Look forward to your return. Warmest regards Luke at Lock and Key Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ginger N wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
Perfectly situated for Albert Docks, Liverpool One and all of the tour buses. The breakfast was tasty, fresh and hot, and our room was very nice. It could just have done with a little shelf in the bathroom and somewhere to store spare clothes apart from those you hang. There are masses of places to eat and drink in the vicinity too. Well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Jenkinson, General Manager at Lock & Key Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Dear Gingern344, Thank youso much for your 5 star review. So pleased you had a fab experience with us. Thank you for recommending. Warmest regards Luke at Lock and Key Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adam F wrote a review Oct 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom25 contributions22 helpful votes
Stayed in Room 304. The receptionist was very nice but sadly the room wasn’t, the bathroom door doesn’t close due to poor hanging. The toilet cistern is still covered in the masking tape from when first fitted. The sink is fitted on a tilt and the bedroom window frame has never been painted and the window blind doesn’t work. We requested a quiet room, sadly the fire alarm went off full blast at 11.30pm, nobody came to inform us whether it was false or not. Finally drifted off to sleep to be awoken at 2am when the person in the room above stomped around for 35 minutes. Didn’t inform receptionist when we left as nobody at reception, so just left the keycard on the main desk. Described as ‘boutique’ but based on our experience we’ll definitely give it the ‘boot’ next visit as we found this definitely more of an ‘eek’ experience best forgotten!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There’s better nearby.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Naomi P wrote a review Oct 2023
St. Asaph, United Kingdom7 contributions
Great hotel - staff are lovely and friendly can’t do enough to help and recommend local restaurants or attractions. Breakfast was lovely, the only slight criticism was that I was limited for choice for vegan options. Bed was comfy and the room was well decorated.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: King room may mean 2 single beds pushed together so clarify before hand.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Jenkinson, General Manager at Lock & Key Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Dear 286naomip, Thank you so much for your 5 star review, So pleased you had a lovely stay with us. Hopefully see you again on your next trip to Liverpool. Warmest regards Luke at Lock and Key Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Exploration781177 wrote a review Sept 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom2 contributions
Wow wow wow , great staff , gorgeous and clean room , the breakfasts were really tasty and well cooked and presented , close to all the shops , restaurants and the arena , would highly recommend and will stay again 😁
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Liverpool area.
PRICE RANGE
£63 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideLiverpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LOCK & KEY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Liverpool)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lock & Key Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lock & Key Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Live Liverpool One (0.1 miles), The Oracle Bar (0.2 miles), and Alcotraz Liverpool: Cell Block Three-Six (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lock & Key Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lock & Key Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lock & Key Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lock & Key Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Akasya, Greek Taverna Bold Street, and The Vibe Cafe.
Is Lock & Key Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Liverpool.
Are pets allowed at Lock & Key Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Lock & Key Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Cavern Club (0.3 miles), Williamson’s Tunnels – Friends of Williamson’s Tunnels (1.1 miles), and Western Approaches HQ Museum - The Battle of the Atlantic Experience (0.5 miles).