We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Dixie Dean Hotel

57- 59 Victoria Street, Liverpool L1 6DG England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (680)
Dining (40)
Room & Suite (32)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#14 of 104 hotels in Liverpool
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Safe
Iron
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
599Reviews19Q+A66Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 483
  • 45
  • 16
  • 17
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
sazy2010 wrote a review Today
Derby, United Kingdom3 contributions
Great stay for the weekend at Dixie Dean hotel. Hotel is within walking distance of the station and bars/restaurants and is a short walk to Matthew Street and the Cavern Quater so was a perfect location for our stay! There was 6 of us in a Cave room, brilliant facilities really enjoyed our stay. Every staff member was really friendly and accommodating!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DonegalAine wrote a review 23 Feb
Donegal8 contributions3 helpful votes
Two night stay in this lovely hotel. Fantastic location in Liverpool. We travelled with our three kids and the room was perfect for five people. Really comfortable beds and room a lovely temperature. Only downsight to room was the not so clean carpet, other than that though the rest of the room and bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was a lovely buffet breakfast, plenty of selection and all lovely, tasty and warm. We arrived early at the hotel and it was no problem to leave our bags. Check in was quick. Definitely will return & would recommend to family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tyler S wrote a review 19 Feb
1 contribution
We stayed here for the 3rd time, loved every minute off it. April was the lady who dealt with us and she was fantastic for the second time, she was so welcoming and very helpful. The breakfast was help yourself and also very nice. We stayed for tea at the no9 restraunt on are second visit and that was just amazing. Will definitely be back again. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Prentice, Guest Services / Front Office at The Dixie Dean Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hello Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great 5 star review of your recent stay with us. I think the fact that you keep returning to us speaks volumes about the hotel and the level service we strive to deliver. I will pass on your kind words to the reception team. Look forward to welcoming you back to us for a fourth time! Kind regards Melanie Prentice
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachel W wrote a review 18 Feb
Stourbridge, United Kingdom2 contributions
Such a lovely weekend at the Dixie Dean Hotel, the staff were so friendly and gave us some brilliant advice, regarding places to visit and attractions to see. The room was very clean and a great experience for the 5 of us, breakfast was lovely! Options of continental or full English. The staff were very accommodating with putting birthday banners/balloons up that we had brought along ourselves.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: This hotel is within walking distance of everything in Liverpool! Very quiet on a night time and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Prentice, Guest Services / Front Office at The Dixie Dean Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hello Rachel Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for giving us 5 stars. I will pass on your kind words to our whole staff team, they all work above and beyond to ensure our guests have the best possible stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back to see us again soon. Kind regards Melanie Prentice
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hanlon87 wrote a review 18 Feb
Peterborough, United Kingdom7 contributions8 helpful votes
We’re were really looking forward to our stay at the Dixie Dean, but we’re left very disappointed. On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by what I can only describe as ‘druggies/addicts’ sitting on the main steps to the hotel crying. Once inside reception/bar area was clean and very well presented. On check in we were told we were in an accessible/disabled room which we hadn’t booked. We were so disappointed when we got to our room. On booking we were told we would have a jacuzzi bath/ waterfall shower, we ended up with two mouldy, smelly wet rooms. The carpets looked dirty. Windows couldn’t be opened and were covered in mould. I went down to reception to ask to be moved and was told there was no other rooms. We paid £150 for one night and certainly didn’t get what we booked. We were expecting boutique luxury which is what is portrayed on the website but we certainly do not get. We will never go back and definitely didn’t get what we booked or paid for.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Prentice, Guest Services / Front Office at The Dixie Dean Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hello Thank you for your review, we value all feedback. I checked your booking on check in and confirmed the room type you had booked was an accessible room. This was also on the confirmation email that we sent out to you, worded "Room Type Accessible sleeping 2" Unfortunately as the hotel was full we were unable to move you to another room. Kind regards Melanie Prentice
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
S.Lou wrote a review 12 Feb
4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
After paying £118 I was expecting some luxury as the pictures suggest. The reality couldn’t have been further from that! The carpet and bed cushions had vomit stains on them! I don’t believe the carpet had even been hoovered. Stains on bathroom floor. Leather along the bath is absolutely filthy, stains all down the bathroom door. Actually lay in bed and said to my partner I would rather go home. Will never stay here again, my bedroom in the Adelphi was pristine in comparison to this hell hole.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid like the plague!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John R wrote a review 7 Feb
Liverpool, United Kingdom588 contributions186 helpful votes
Although we live in Liverpool we sometimes stay in the city. We booked two nights in the Dixie Dean. On arrival which was early we dropped our bags and headed for the city. Some hours later we booked in and was allocated room 109. The reception area is beautiful and expensively decorated. It would appear no expense has been spared to make this impressive hotel. Room 109 was huge containing a king size bed and two singles. Again the decor was impressive. The room had a huge TV which wasn't positioned to watch from the bed. It took us a while to figure that there was a shower head in the ceiling. The jazzuzi bath is huge but we couldn't figure out how to start or it was broken. The breakfast buffet was exceptional with plenty of choice. The service here was brilliant. The staff are very attentive and friendly. Would I return YES Would I recommend YES
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 109 if bath works
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Prentice, Guest Services / Front Office at The Dixie Dean Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Renno Thank you so much for taking the time to write an amazing 5 star review of your recent stay with us. We have a lot of local people that enjoy staying with us. I'm so pleased that you were not disappointed, the hotel is extremely beautiful its a lovely place to work. The jacuzzi has a switch on the outside of the bathroom, a bit like a lightswitch, that needs switching on. Always pop to reception if you have any queries and they will be able to assist. I will pass on your comments to our staff team. They all go above and beyond to ensure our guests have the best time during their stay. Look forward to welcoming you back to see us all again very soon. Kind regards Melanie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pam J wrote a review 4 Feb
1 contribution1 helpful vote
A great find of this hotel. Group of 6 ladies staying for birthday celebrations. We had a room that sleeps 8, 2 king size beds and 2 x 2 singles pushed together, very comfortable. Decor of hotel is stunning. Breakfast was fab and plenty of it. Staff was lovely. Location is great aswell, close to city centre and all the bars. Definitely be going again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If your driving park in Victoria street multi-storey car park, just across the road and £13 for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jo L wrote a review 3 Feb
1 contribution
The bathroom was gross, black and pink mould around the bath and floor. Black mould poured out the jacuzzi jets and it was unusable. No air con in the room and no windows that could be opened so the room was stuffy. The staff were nice though and the location is great. We paid over £600 for two nights and the room let us down.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
alegna wrote a review 2 Feb
United Kingdom22 contributions15 helpful votes
This hotel is fantastic, the staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms are huge and the décor is fantastic. . Cocktails are fabulous would highly recommend. (2 for £12). The breakfast was delicious, one of the best we have had. We will defiantly be back soon
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Prentice, Guest Services / Front Office at The Dixie Dean Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic 5 star review of your recent stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to our whole staff team, they love to get feedback from our guests. Our cocktails are gorgeous and really tasty. Breakfast is very good value with a wide variety of choice. Look forward to welcoming you all back to see us again soon. Kind regards Melanie Prentice Guest Relations Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Liverpool area.
PRICE RANGE
£76 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideLiverpoolCentral Liverpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DIXIE DEAN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Liverpool)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Dixie Dean Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Dixie Dean Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Cavern Club (0.2 miles), Breakout Liverpool (0.10 miles), and Boom Battle Bar Liverpool (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dixie Dean Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Dixie Dean Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dixie Dean Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dixie Dean Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dale Street Kitchen & bar by Shino, 8 By Andy Sheridan, and Cook Street Coffee.
Is The Dixie Dean Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Liverpool.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Dixie Dean Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dixie Dean Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Cavern Club (0.2 miles), Williamson’s Tunnels – Friends of Williamson’s Tunnels (1.1 miles), and Western Approaches HQ Museum - The Battle of the Atlantic Experience (0.4 miles).
Is The Dixie Dean Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.