Castle Lodge Guest House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Castle Lodge Guest House

Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 ranch in Liverpool
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
At our Guest House, we have 27 rooms and offer a high standard of overnight accommodation with a continental style breakfast whilst maintaining our inexpensive rates. Based in Liverpool and situated just 5 minutes from the city centre using local travel, we have been welcoming guests since 2000. With Anfield Football Stadium, home of Liverpool Football club within a 10 minute walk from us, we are ideally located for those looking for accommodation on match days. All rooms are of a high standard and include tea and coffee making facilities and TV for your personal viewing - free Wifi is available to our guests. Free off road parking is available to our guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

94 Sheil Road, Liverpool L6 3AF England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 46 out of 100
46
Liverpool John Lennon Airport
Chester Airport
17.3 mi
See all flights
196Reviews2Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 121
  • 52
  • 9
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Abi wrote a review Jan 2020
North Wales, United Kingdom9 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night as a group of friends. It was a spacious room with five single beds, the beds were very comfy. Staff were extremely warm and welcoming throughout our stay. The hotel is located about 2 miles out from the centre, however it was cheap and easy enough to get there in a taxi / uber. Our room was very clean and tidy, we will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Donna Ellington, Guest Services / Front Office at Castle Lodge Guest House
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Thank You! For your lovely comments Its much appreciated Kind Regards Donna
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth I wrote a review Apr 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Warm welcome, friendly and helpful staff. We were upgraded to a larger room and a complementary self-service buffet breakfast was included in the price which took the logistics out of the start to our busy schedule each day. Conveniently situated 5 minutes from the city by car or about a 30 minute walk for those who want to add a little exercise to their day. Would definitely stay again. The only things to mention are that there is some road noise and the room was quite hot, but otherwise clean and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sim1974 wrote a review Nov 2022
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Here for a stag do,we had a warm welcome when we arrived also nice basement Liverpool bar which had pool tables, music and tv. We had 3 rooms which we're was clean and had a good night sleep.

Your not to far from shops and McDonald's at the end of the road
Liverpool city centre is about 15 minutes on bus.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pandalou wrote a review Dec 2021
Yorkshire, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unreliable unprofessional property owners AVOID!
Informed me they had cancelled our booking due to a ‘technical problem with their system’ …??? this was a few months after we had booked for a date this month. They have ignored requests to cancel the booking with booking.com and have given no reassurance that money won’t still be taken on the due date. Hence to say we won’t be booking with them again and do not recommend anyone else does.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Donna E, General Manager at Castle Lodge Guest House
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Dear Guest Due to the recent covid problems on the planet we are quite shocked at your comments and the fact that you have no understanding of problems facing businesses whether it a technical problem or a staff problem. You Booked through Booking.com unfortunately we can only contact them on your behalf as we did The property did not take your payment and you was told there was no charge at all and this was explained to you that you should contact Booking.com direct if you needed any further assistance as they are a third party and all queries need to go through them. We are sorry but we cant agree with you under these exceptional circumstances and the fact you were not charged and why you should leave such a nasty comment even though you never stayed at our premises. Kind Regards Castle Lodge Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather B wrote a review Sept 2021
Halstead, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The men running it were friendly.

We had to borrow their vacuum cleaner as the carpet was so dirty, as were the kettle, cups, light switches etc. It certainly wasn’t sanitised. My husband had to buy disinfectant wipes to clean everything. I was afraid the sheets weren’t clean but hopefully were. I felt like someone was living there and was kicked out for us to stay.

You could feel the springs in two beds.

I’m a light sleeper and suffered severe sleep deprivation as I got to sleep around 5:00am after the partyers outside stopped yelling up and down the noisy street or at each other in their groups.

The main door to our place was a thick, heavy one that people slammed all night till @ 5:00am, making the whole building shake and outside you had to walk past people on the steps smoking marijuana.

Parking was a very tight squeeze.

The help yourself breakfast was ok and I appreciated the man going to get me some gluten free stuff as they hadn’t read my email about my allergy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Donna E, General Manager at Castle Lodge Guest House
Responded 29 Oct 2021
Dear Guest Our rooms are sanitised on a daily basis. We feel that you must obviously be one of those people who are over fussy and like to make a fuss and complain about everything as and thats your prerogative. You were given an apartment at no extra charge. Maybe its better to stay at a five star hotel on your next trip and not a guest house.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yazmyn E wrote a review Nov 2021
Downham Market, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The shower door was broken and I had to fix myself, every bed head board was broken and fell off, found things underneath the beds where it hadn’t been moved to be cleaned or hoovered. All the blinds in the bedroom and bathroom where broken so no privacy at all, paid a lot of money for something that wasn’t very good, definitely won’t be going again. The staff where nice just don’t think they are willing to put money in to make it a nice place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Donna E, General Manager at Castle Lodge Guest House
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Dear Guest Unfortunately we cant agree with this on this occasion and the fact that you were moving beds leads me to wonder what you were up to and hoping to find! The showers and head boards are maintained on a weekly basis and the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis we have blinds and curtains in the rooms so we cant understand why you said there was no privacy We realise that some people like to spend their time doing this kind of slander and that's their prerogative this has been reported to Trip advisor as we think maybe you are a fellow hotelier in competition with ourselves. Kind Regards Castle Lodge Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wunderlust wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stunning guesthouse with a public bus stop right outside the door that will get you to the tourist hub in 30 minutes. Donna and Stefan on reception, George on breakfast, and Lulu on rooms could could have been more helpful or friendly. Thankyou - great memories!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo Wood wrote a review Jun 2022
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom80 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ideal location to the stadium, very clean hotel and rooms. Towels
Provided also ,staff helpful and friendly , a secret Liverpool room
In the basement with music and pool table etc , can take own drinks
In if you want , definitely will return when in area next .we didn’t stay for breakfast as had to leave early but apparently it’s delicious!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: On street amd hotel parking available for free , 1 .1 mile straight rd to Anfield stadium , bars...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Donna E, General Manager at Castle Lodge Guest House
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Thank You so much We look forward to seeing you again Best Wishes Donna
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A C wrote a review Apr 2024
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Greeted with Prosecco and chocolate for the children!
Such a warm, friendly relaxed welcome from the man and blonde lady on arrival.
Free secure parking, free breakfast, free pool and darts and a football room that kids loved.
Rooms not five star but it’s a guest house & very lovely place to stay! Thanks so much. The man on reception on an eve was very helpful and nothing too much bother.
We stayed the day of grand national so worried about the noise but it was silent despite the buzz of the place ! Such a friendly, welcoming place!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah K wrote a review Oct 2021
Dunstable, United Kingdom106 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room had 5 single beds as we are a family of 5. The room was clean, close to Anfield and 10 minutes drive to town centre.
We had an en suite bathroom. The breakfast we had was good.
Reasonably priced accomodation.
Friendly staff team.
My kids loved the basement room that was full of Liverpool memorabilia.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Donna E, General Manager at Castle Lodge Guest House
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Thank You for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes Donna
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daz Easty asked a question Nov 2017
Huddersfield, United Kingdom252 contributions115 helpful votes
How much would a taxi from the city centre/Lime street station be and how long would it take ?
Answer from Ian H
19 contributions3 helpful votes
depending what time of night.. but £5 -£7 max
Aurore1610 asked a question Nov 2018
Onnaing, France28 contributions18 helpful votes
Bonjour, les serviettes de bain sont elles fourni lors du séjour ? Merci
Answer from Donna E
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Dear Guest Towels are provided. We look forward to meeting you. Kind Regards Donna
Bev hamilton wrote a tip Mar 2024
Dalton-on-Tees, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Taxi is 5 pound to the centre"
Read full review
Jo Wood wrote a tip Jun 2022
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom80 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"On street amd hotel parking available for free , 1 .1 mile straight rd to Anfield stadium , bars and places to eat and takeaways on route"
Read full review
David L wrote a tip Mar 2019
Tasmania, Australia20 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Simply ask and they provide"
Read full review
John G wrote a tip May 2017
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"2, 4 or 6 person rooms and all within easy reach of shared bathrooms, Very Nice Staff"
Read full review
PaulWeaverUK1965 wrote a tip Apr 2017
Poole, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you arrive at Liverpool Lime Street Station I recommend using a taxi to get to Castle Lodge."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Liverpool area.
PRICE RANGE
£86 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideLiverpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTLE LODGE GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Castle Lodge Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Castle Lodge Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Spartacus Bubble Soccer (0.7 miles), Sheil park Pub (0.3 miles), and Newsham Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Castle Lodge Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and street parking.
Is parking available at Castle Lodge Guest House?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castle Lodge Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Anar Turkish BBQ Restaurant, Greenchillies South Indian Restaurant, and Akshaya.
Are there any historical sites close to Castle Lodge Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Cavern Club (1.9 miles), Williamson’s Tunnels – Friends of Williamson’s Tunnels (0.9 miles), and Western Approaches HQ Museum - The Battle of the Atlantic Experience (2.1 miles).
Is Castle Lodge Guest House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Liverpool HotelsLiverpool Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LiverpoolHotels near Castle Lodge Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire