We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Liverpool

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Liverpool
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed at the liverpool hostel numerous times, hostel very modern with plenty of parking and hostel in good location. I have always felt safe in the dormitory rooms and would recommend this hostel if you are a solo traveller.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neiljones174
YHALiverpoolManager, Front Office Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words, Neil! Hopefully we'll see you back again soon.

Cornwall
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, nice and clean. Self catering kitchen plus meals available. Bar and a separate TV lounge.Friendly helpful staff. The YHA was being refurbished but disruption was kept to a minimum so I didn't even notice. Friendly and helpful staff. Parking onsite and was allowed to keep my car there for the day on which i checked out. Would thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XWCornwall
YHALiverpoolManager, Front Office Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your lovely review! Hopefully you'll come and visit us again some time soon.

brazil
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bathroom is poorly maintained and needs an exhaust fan and hook to hang towel. The sink is very small, the bathroom is very wet, there is no space to support things in the bathroom, everything is on the floor, there is nowhere to change clothes after bathing. Of all the hostels I stayed during my travels in Europe this...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patriciajanzss
YHALiverpoolManager, Front Office Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi Patricia, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were left with a wet bathroom. We are getting all of our bathrooms replaced this winter, so hopefully you will have a better experience when you return next time.

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in august for one night with friends as we had gotten 1 day passes for the creamfielda festival. Before we flew out we were aware we would be arriving in liverpool at 8am. I had emailed the hostel previously about getting an early check in that was stated we could get for an extra charge when we booked....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah H
YHALiverpoolManager, Front Office Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you have misunderstood our check in and out times. When you emailed us to ask if you could arrive early, we explained to you that you were more than welcome to come to the hostel to sign in, use the facilities, and drop some luggage in our...

Monterey, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed one night at the YHA Liverpool hostel and I really enjoyed it. I do recommend this hostel for several reasons: The hostel has a great location, near the bus station, Albert Dock and dynamic shopping and restaurant streets; it is very clean, looks new and open spaces; they offer great choices of food or beverage (including a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jassride
YHALiverpoolManager, Front Office Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi Jassride, Thank you very much for your kind words! Hopefully we will see you back again soon.

Lake District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in the girls dorm and it was ensuite bathroom. It has a self catering kitchen and free parking which I was very happy about. It's a great location too, walking distance to the docks/river as well as the central shopping area of liverpool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amysradar
YHALiverpoolManager, Front Office Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi Amy, Thank you very much for you lovely review. Hopefully you'll pay us another visit soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a couple of nights in December. The hostel is in a fantastic location - very close to the dock and within walking distance of the station, the shops, and most of the main tourist attractions. My room was very comfortable and surprisingly spacious for a hostel (lots of room to put suitcases etc which was great -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
YHALiverpoolManager, Front Office Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Thank you for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear about the broken lockers in the room, I will have our maintenance man check that out! We are having all new bathrooms being installed this winter, indeed. So next time you visit us, there will be no more queuing up for the shower.

Campinas, Brazil
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Room was very clear, organized and quiet (I didn't hear noises during the night), with a good bathroom inside. There is good place to prepare and eat your own food, with a shared full kitchen. Some lockers inside the room were a little broken and hard to open/close, but they didn't affect me to store my things in there.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodrigoegoncalves
YHALiverpoolManager, reception at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hello Rodrigoe, Thanks for your review :) Gemma

Manchester
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We are a gay couple in late middle age and hadn't stayed in Youth Hostels for 25 years but we were made to feel immediately welcome at this friendly and cosy hostel by the dark man with beard and blond girl on duty when we checked in at 5.20 pm on Friday 2nd Dec. They patiently explained the hostel rules...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyHManchester
YHALiverpoolManager, reception at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hello Andy, that's great! glad you enjoyed your stay :) we hope to see you again in the future Gemma

Arinsal, Andorra
Reviewed 2 December 2016

If you are searching for a place to sleep a night, two, theree, something good and don't want to spend all your monety is YHA is the best choice. Clode to Albert Dock, museums, shops... is so worth to stay there.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert R
YHALiverpoolManager, reception at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hello Albert, thanks for your kind review :) Gemma

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Liverpool
Pullman Liverpool
#4 of 99 in Liverpool
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock - Liverpool One
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Liverpool
0.4 mi away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
3,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool Albert Dock Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of everything Liverpool has to offer, this backpackers' hostel is just a stone's throw away from the historic Albert Docks. Close to the city centre, this newly refurbished Youth Hostel in Liverpool is perfect if you're looking for a cheap city break. YHA Liverpool at a glance: £70,000 renovation Extended bar - perfect for relaxing with friends over a drink! Fully refurbished reception area with brand new furniture, lighting, flooring and decor Updated lounge and games room Enhanced CCTV security Not far from the Tate and the International Slavery Museum, Maritime Museum and the famous Beatles Story, there is plenty to do in this city of culture. Don't miss out on the ferry across the Mersey - the terminal is just a short walk away. Just minutes from city centre shopping, live music venues, clubs and bars, including the famous Cavern Club, YHA Liverpool is the perfect location for a budget weekend break. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere at YHA Liverpool makes this a perfect venue for catching up with friends and seeing what this beautiful city has to offer. YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA Liverpool! ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Liverpool

Address: 25 Tabley Street | off Wapping, Liverpool L1 8EE, England (Formerly International Youth Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Price Range: £19 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Liverpool staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Cork, Ireland
4 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Liverpool staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms at the front have traffic noise as its on a busy road”
 of 5 bubbles brix47, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The private rooms fill up very quickly, so make sure to book as far in advance as possible.”
  • Room 214 - Private Room
 of 5 bubbles AnaM630, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If not with a group, ask to be placed away from school groups”
 of 5 bubbles DMac_Adelaide, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“get a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles 389CathyF, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Back of the hostel as the front is on a main road”
 of 5 bubbles LisaO179, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay