We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clink78

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clink78
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,881 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,116: English reviews
Ocean City, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Clink, is built and themed around an old prison, so as you may guess, the characteristics of such a place are reflected in the rooms, and surrounding amenities. The rooms are small, and it genuinely does feel as if you are in a prison cell, as the beds are designed in typical hostel bunk fashion, although with nothing but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonny_DNJ
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Jonny, Thanks for your great review! Great to hear you loved your stay :-) We indeed recommend to leave valuable things not in the luggage room but in a separate locker, we have them available for a small fee. During your stay you can of course leave your stuff in the free lockers in the room. Hopefully we see...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Decent and cheap hostel in very convenient location. Nice and friendly staff, breakfast included in the price and a very good pub to meet new people. It was kind of noisy though and the bathrooms weren't so clean. Value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theodore s
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Thanks Theodore! We're happy to hear you liked the staff and our location :-) We hope to see you back again soon! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in an 18-person dorm with the 4 of us. Beds were ok, showers and toilets as well. Really clean. Breakfast was basic but good enough for us. The clash bar was very nice with reasonable prices. The staff was also friendly Even though it was a great stay I ran into 1 issue... on our second night we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robindebecker
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Robin, Thanks a lot for sharing your review! Great to hear you loved the bar! Sorry about the padlock, this is indeed not right. I have forwarded this to the team and we will make sure this doesn't happen anymore. Thanks for letting us know! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wifi was quite well. It is really clean place. Location is good, just 10 min walk from kings cross station. But rooms are too small. Climbing to top of the bunk is not comfortable. There is nothing to sit in the room except beds and I couldn't breathe in a room for 4 people when i wake up in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for sharing your review! The rooms are indeed not the biggest, but we do have big common areas and like it when our guests hang out there to meet up with other travelers :-) Great to hear you liked the location! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights at a 4 person mixed dorm room. Check-in was possible until really late at night (in my case 2 a.m.) and it really helped for a person who wanted a bed but can't afford to stay at hotels next to the airport (I was coming from Stansted). All facilities were nicely cleaned, and free breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saepenyochilli
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

That's great to hear, thanks Saeko for sharing :-) We provide also free ear plugs at the reception so no need to bring them yourself! Hopefully till soon! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Slept in a 14-person, mixed dorm. To my surprise, this was very doable (I am used to private rooms in hotel). Common room/kitchen/bar was nice - there was an option to prepare your own meal (a big plus!). Very close to King's Cross/St. Pancreas international. Overal, cleaniness was ok, bed linnen provided, optional towel rent, friendly staff. If I ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dymphy G
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Dymphy, Wow that's great to hear you had a good experience :-) We hope to see you back again in London or in our Amsterdam hostel ! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall it's fine for a short trip. I wish the kitchen would be larger and spread on two sides so we have more space, instead of one side as it is now. Even just three or four people are in the kitchen and it can be blocked. Should have the toaster for overall use instead of just in the morning....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanguyen2
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback! Unfortunately due to the old building we have no space to have the kitchen larger than it is. I can imagine you would like to use the toaster all day, but due safety reasons we only have it there in the morning as staff is around. Great to hear you liked our services :-)! Kind...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is kept as clean as possible for the amount of foot traffic, there is good, quick wifi available all over, there are plenty of places to hang out, the staff are friendly and helpful, the showers offer lots of privacy - nice visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherinemc97
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Catherine! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us :-) We hope to see you back again soon! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The common room is really nice! The kitchen is big and its nice to hang out, there's a bar downstairs. The only thing bad was the dorm, in a room of 12 we only had 2 plugs to charge our cellphones..in the middle of the room, and lots of beds for a very small room. The position is 10 min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Sophie, Thanks for sharing your review :-) I can imagine not enough sockets was annoying to you, we are looking for solutions for that! Happy travels! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as I stayed in ClinkNoord in Amsterdam and it was an amazing experience, however this hostel does not meet the same standard and is abysmal in comparison. Probably the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. I thought given the history of the bulding this would be a novel place to stay- but the basics weren't right While...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelp23
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Kelp, Thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear you were disappointed after staying with us in Amsterdam! Due to the old building, the rooms in Clink78 are indeed not the biggest (they differ in size). We do have lockers for each bed. Thanks for your feedback, that's helpful! Hope despite this you enjoyed your time in London :-) Kind...

642 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (373)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (215)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm Basic (20)
Viewed
Prison Cell (28)
Viewed
Private Room Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#60 of 802 in London
572 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#34 of 802 in London
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 802 in London
2,228 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 802 in London
423 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 802 in London
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighbourhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clink78

Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Price Range: £17 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clink78 staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Clink78 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to the upper levels if you can not downstairs- may be less mouldy.”
 of 5 bubbles kelp23, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms far from the bar are quieter ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles AnneAnke, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in Girls' wing have extra showers.”
 of 5 bubbles EvelinRiverland, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in a girls dorm over the weekend and it was really quiet even through the bar downstairs was busy”
 of 5 bubbles StrawberryFields23, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bottom bunk. At 58, I would have hated to climb up top!”
 of 5 bubbles PokeyHokie, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay