We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Harrington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Harrington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here so that we could be close to the Royal Albert Hall and it is in an ideal place, just a short walk away. The apartment which was on the second floor was spotlessly clean and well appointed. I suppose the only thing lacking if we had stayed for a long time was a washing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trevor679
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Trevor679, Thank you for writing the great review of our property. We are glad that you had a good stay. Please do remember to book with us directly to take advantage of the offers we have for returning guests. Have a lovely week. Patrick More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night as I couldn't find another hotel in the area on short notice. The one bedroom apartment was noisy - I couldn't sleep the whole night. You notice any car driving past, let alone sirens (which are regular occurrence on a Friday night). You also notice every door being opened on the floor. For the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tala_NL16
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Tala_NL16 Thank you for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor, We are sorry to hear that our reception team barely responded to your trip and hope that you were not injured. Whilst we recognise that it is important for our staff to be friendly and engaging with all our customers, when it gets busy we may not be aware of... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The tone for our four-day stay was set at check-in where the main focus of an unfriendly reception was for us to acknowledge item by item a list of about 10 things that guests are prohibited from doing/limitations on service and pay a £100 security deposit. When we got to our one-bedroom apartment a large crack in the window gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClimbingOut
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear ClimbingOut, Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor with your feedback. Please note that as has been mentioned in other responses, the £100 is a pre-authorization which is a hold on a credit/debit card. This is common practice at most hotels in Europe, however we do not actually take the £100 from your card. We can... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this apartment for 4 nights from 9 November in a 1 bedroomed corner apartment on the second floor. Not only is this apartment well located if you want to visit attractions in the Kensington area but it is also easy to access Central London from too. Although the apartment was a little tired and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tessa1963
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Tessa1963, Great to hear you had a good time in London while staying at The Harrington. It is great for the Tripadvisor community to be able to ready very positive yet balanced reviews. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Harrington when you are next in London. Enjoy the coming summer! Patrick More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Harrington apartments for 2 nights last week and what a find! I have no idea how anyone could find fault here as a couple of reviewers have done. The welcome at reception was friendly and efficient, our request for a high floor had been taken into account. The 2 bedroom apartment we were allocated was excellent.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gail99Cheshire
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Gail99Cheshire, Wow, thank you for such a lovely review. We always aim to upgrade customers’ expectations and it is great to hear from happy customers when this is the case. We hope you had a lovely time in London whilst staying with us and hope that you will return soon. Please don’t forget to visit our website to take... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having read some of the recent reviews we contacted the hotel to ensure we were not booked in to the basement room and were reassured to find we had been allocated a studio room on the fifth floor. We greatly enjoyed our stay and found the staff we met to be friendly and helpful. The room was clean, well equipped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janette T
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Janette T, Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. We will attempt to make our photoID policy clearer to our guest however we are often constrained by the requirements of online booking partners such as booking.com. We have this policy in place for the safety and security of all guests and staff. As to the £100... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked for two adults and one child, only found out when arrived had to pay extra £30 per night for extra bed as child was over 2! Appartment was badly worn, heavy scuff marks to walls and floor, bed loose and uncomfy, bath badly chipped,TV had poor picture and very limited channels, staff miserable and unhelpful. Advertised as Luxury Apartments,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank marc d
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Marc d, Thank you for your feedback. Please note that our policy towards extra beds is clearly displayed on our website and all our agents’ websites, however we are sorry if you were not fully aware of this before arrival. It is a common practice in the hospitality industry to differentiate between infants (under 2 years) and children (aged... More 

Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

An excellent location 2 mins from Gloucester Rd tube with 3 lines to almost every part of London. Plenty of cafe's, bars & restaurants, shops, Waitrose and Tesco all on the doorstep. Excellent well organised check in, upgraded us to a 1 bed apartment, very spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Big comfy bed, 2 large TV's, small kitchen area with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frandis
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Frandis, Thank you for writing such a brilliant review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your recommendations which we have taken on board. We have also made sure that maintenance are aware of the issue with the bathroom door. The parking tip is a really good one for any guests coming in... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This place is a scam for your money,the staff are very rude and disrespectful as they laughed at me and my partner explaining what the previous receptionist had said to us about getting the 100 refunded back into my account the following day which was a lie, I would never stay here again Worst experience ever in a hotel👎👎 never... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank RChery
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 28 Nov 2016 Dear RChery, We are sorry to hear about your experience at The Harrington as this is definitely not the high standard of service for which we are normally known. There should never be an occasion when our staff are rude and disrespectful. I can assure you that... More 

Athens
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

only one minute from picadilly line and a nice walking distance from South Kensington, I think it will be my first choice from now on for business purposes. At a very good price I had a whole appartment, very clean and modern, rare to find in London

Helpful?
Thank gerkouv
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Gerkouv, Thank you for feeding back to the Tripadvisor community. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our wonderful location. Hope to see you back soon, and don’t forget to book with us directly to take advantage of the offers for returning guests. Kind regards, Patrick More 

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#117 of 1,078 in London
366 reviews
South Kensington
130 Queen's Gate
130 Queen's Gate
#423 of 1,078 in London
187 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#360 of 1,078 in London
476 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#602 of 1,078 in London
31 reviews
South Kensington
Cheval Harrington Court
Cheval Harrington Court
#3 of 792 in London
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in chic South Kensington, just two minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments including studio apartments, one bedroom apartments and two bedroom apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has flat screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Harrington

Address: 1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Price Range: £115 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrington 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Harrington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Harrington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 294 has a flashing light outside which might annoy some light sleepers.”
 of 5 bubbles Trevor679, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles Gail99Cheshire, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms have nice street views”
 of 5 bubbles Frandis, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Clean, Friendly, close to underground loads of eating places close as well”
 of 5 bubbles markdV3446SV, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid basement rooms unless you can sleep with all the noise.”
 of 5 bubbles happyholidaygirl059, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay