We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Tower Bridge Rd Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (521)
Room & Suite (381)
Dining (64)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#409 of 1,170 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, Borough Market, The Shard, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, our highly individual hotel is ideally located for easy access to some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an engaging neighbourhood. Read more about our local attractions, shops and markets. This 90-room boutique hotel is designed to meet the needs of discerning guests from business travellers to foodies and fashionistas, to those simply looking to relax and enjoy the local attractions whilst staying in the comfort of stylish Bermondsey accommodation. b2 Housekeeping have always taken pride in our high standards of keeping the hotel ‘squeaky’ clean for our guests – their skills are now even more important to us than ever. We are super sanitised and super vigilant about cleaning every surface, nook and cranny for our guest’s safety from the moment you come through the doors to the moment you leave. We welcome families with children as well as pets, and have several Family Rooms. As a London family hotel we have a range of special offers to suit all read more here. Perfect for a staycation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Bulgarian and 5 more
1945Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 873
  • 730
  • 211
  • 73
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Katherine P wrote a review Jan 2024
25 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed in this hotel as we we going to the graceland elvis exhibition. A lovely welcome as you arrived and a warm hotel. Room was very spacious, with a fridge, and a very comfortable bed with a warm bathroom. Had a good night's sleep., even though the room was a little hot, but you only have to ring reception to ask them to turn the heating down if you prefer. Breakfast was more than I expected. Cereals, pastries, yoghurt, and a variety of hot food if you wanted. Staff polite. A sainsbury across the way if you need any snacks, etc, as I don't think they serve alcohol here, but are more than happy for you to bring your own in. Not far from tower bridge, and close to the tube station. A very enjoyable stay and would return again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Dear KatherinepZ7343IH, Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback following your recent visit to the Bermondsey Square Hotel. Our team takes great pride in providing a friendly and welcoming atmosphere, so we're thrilled that you appreciated their efforts. Your kind words serve as motivation for us to continue delivering excellent customer service. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Kind regards, Andrea Jako | Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
zadojny wrote a review Jan 2024
montreal383 contributions104 helpful votes
Booked a room with two beds and bathtub for Jan 8th to the 15th , when we got there we were greeted by a lovely young lady by the name of Claudia , very kind and polite and extremely helpful. So we put our things in our room and left right away to go exspore.The next day I go up and went to take a bath well no bathtub only shower and I made it a point to ask for a tub. I went down to the desk to say there was a mistake with our room i book with a tub. The lady behind the counter checked the system and told me she did not see it and asked me to prove that I booked a room with a tub. I said I have no proof I am here in England and my conformation is in Canada on my computer and I paid the extra for what I asked for. A little lady with red hair came out of the office to listen to my conversation and gave me attitude and told me if I wanted a tub I would have to pay an extra seventy pounds a day for the upgrade. I said excuse me I have already paid for it and I want what I paid for. She folded her arms and stood her ground and said there is nothing we can do for you unless you pay the extra seventy pounds. I said look it I did not come all this way to have to put up with your attitude I just want what I paid for and said there is nothing I can do. So I said no problem give me back my money and I will go else where. She then said we do not reimburse funds. Look this hotel is clean and the room are extremely small but clean . On their page they show you a complementary breakfast that show eggs and bacon and so on. But they serve cold hard boiled eggs in a buffet with a few other things..Nothing like what they show on there page. The is no restaurant that you can eat lunch our supper at and for two days the elevator was down. They have two doors but one was out of service so when you would push the button for the elevator the broken one door would open so you would ave to walk up and down the stares and we were on the fifth fllor and I am 67 years old with a bad hip. Sorry would I recommend this hotel ( no I would not ).. is it close to everything no it is not , yes the bridge is in walking distance but a long walk very long walk..I would honestly say the only good service that came from this hotel is and was from Claudia..Besides that not worth the money nor agrovacation ..
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Dear Zadojny, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We regret that this stay did not live up to your expectations and you were unhappy with your room and breakfast. Your stay has been booked through Hotels.com and as confirmed at the time you came to the desk to request a room with a bath, the room type that you booked does not come with a bath and we do not advertise this on any of our partners' platforms. We tried to accommodate your needs by offering you an upgrade to one of our suites that have a bath, which does require an upgrade fee due to the difference in price being high. As you were not happy with the upgrade price, you chose to stay in the standard room with a shower that you booked. We have passed your comments about the breakfast and location to the relevant departments and we will keep them in mind while we work to improve our guests experience. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a more positive experience. Kind Regards, Andrea Jako | Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HolsWithKids wrote a review Dec 2023
Bridgend, United Kingdom491 contributions136 helpful votes
Dated rooms, not particularly clean. We were unlucky enough to be given a connecting room and the gentleman next door had a horrendous cough which meant we couldn’t sleep. I am sure he also heard all of our conversations. On check out we mentioned this and the receptionist said that is a problem with connecting rooms. Obviously we didn’t expect to get one of these rooms. Paper thin towels, marks on the walls and the toilet needs a good bleaching, this is not 4 star, low 3 star at best. Breakfast is halal but we like chicken sausages and turkey bacon however I found it inedible and just ate the beans. On a plus note the staff when we checked in were friendly and helpful as was the gentleman who booked us in at breakfast. London Bridge Tube/ Shard is about 10-15 minutes walk away. Would we stay again? No
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are better hotels nearby for similar cost.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2024
Dear Babesb79, Thank you for choosing the Bermondsey Square Hotel during your recent visit. Please accept my apologies that your stay was not as expected, I appreciate you writing a review and regret that you were unhappy with your bedroom. We appreciate your valuable comments and will consider these when next upgrading our bedrooms. We are delighted that you found our staff friendly and helpful during your stay. I will share your comments with the team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope you will stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements. Kind regards, Andrea Jako | Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nobody126 wrote a review Dec 2023
492 contributions144 helpful votes
Not a hotel I would return too. Ideal hotel for Tower Bridge etc. However our room was not up to standard Broken plugs sockets.. Cold air continuously. When ask to move they said had no more rooms. Gave us a heater. Not good when you have a 75-year-old in room. Both disabled too The room was spacious . Breakfast service was a but of let down. Very bust there. Not enough tables. Was not shown or told what to do or what service we had. The stock was poor . Cups were not available for ages. No cossiants available. Very poor! On the upside opposite a sainsbury so we grab breakfast there. Dog friendly I believe. Shame . Mybe we just got a awful room. However been cold In winter is not acceptable in a hotel like this .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback for us after your visit at Bermondsey Square Hotel! I would want to sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience you had this time at our resort. I know how frustrating it can be when your stay does not live up to your expectations, but please know that this is not the impression we want to leave on our esteemed guests. We are constantly able to enhance the guests experience by gaining fresh insights about our hotel. We take great pride in our hospitality values, thus hearing about your experience obviously made us unhappy. It goes without saying that receiving input from our guests is essential to our business, and we appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts. I would want to sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience you had this time at our resort. I know how frustrating it can be when your stay does not live up to your expectations, but please know that this is not the impression we want to leave on our esteemed visitors. We are constantly able to enhance the visitor experience by gaining fresh insights about our hotel and the way our rooms are decorated. We take great pride in our hospitality values, thus hearing about your experience obviously made us unhappy. It goes without saying that receiving input from our customers is essential to our business, and we appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts. Please allow me to reassure you that the hotel will use your comments to improve future services. We highly value your patronage and genuinely hope you will afford us the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Polixenia Mitrache – Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Margus E wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Pricing: it looks cheaper as it eventually is. Cash back rewards are done difficult to achieve and virtually equal cheating. Breakfast: vegetarians and vegans don't have virtually any choice there regardless expensive price of hotel. Otherwise okeish.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you require environment-friendly breakfast, this place is not for you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback after your recent at the Bermondsey Square Hotel! We regret that this stay did not live up to your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken on board and will be passed to the relevant departments. We strive to provide a high-quality service and we regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service that you deserve. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a more positive experience. Kind Regards, Polixenia Mitrache – Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
31gs1979 wrote a review Nov 2023
Rome, Italy87 contributions101 helpful votes
Too expensive for what you get. Hotelchas no facilities, reception looks like hostel reception. Very basic breakfast. Nothing hot. Coffee from automatic machine was horrible. Not coming back sorry. Probably a 3 star hotel at best at the price of an expensive 4 star.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 2 Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us after your recent stay! I understand how disappointing it must be when the standard of your stay is not equal to that which you expect, and please rest assured that this is not the lasting impression we wish to leave with our valued guests. We are constantly able to enhance the guests experience by gaining fresh insights about our hotel and the way our rooms are decorated. We take great pride in our hospitality values, thus hearing about your experience obviously made us unhappy. It goes without saying that receiving input from our customers is essential to our business, and we appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts. Permit me to reassure you that the hotel will take your feedback into consideration for better services in the future. We highly value your patronage and genuinely hope you will afford us the opportunity look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Polixenia Mitrache – Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LJK wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom22 contributions10 helpful votes
Lovely place. Very easy check in and out and good breakfast. Great location near lots of restaurants and bars. 10 mins walk from London Bridge so very convenient . Nice staff on the desk and nice to have some outdoor space available should you want it
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 24 Nov 2023
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Bermondsey Square Hotel and our lovely team of staff. We are happy that our staff's service met your expectations and that our well-located proximity to a variety of transportation options and a bustling restaurant area added to your overall favourable impression. We sincerely hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcome you back and I would me more than happy to assist you with a reservation. Warm Regards, Polixenia Mitrache – Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Judysulli wrote a review Nov 2023
Gateshead, United Kingdom58 contributions9 helpful votes
Lovely staff. Every member of staff has been friendly and polite. They let us check in our bags early. Room very clean and exactly as described. Complimentary water in fridge. We loved this hotel. Best one we have found in numerous visits to the capital. We will definitely be back. The staff are a little gem. From reception to room staff to restaurant staff, every one has been so approachable and made us feel welcomed. Thank you for your hospitality x
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 23 Nov 2023
Dear Judysulli, We appreciate you taking the time to write such kind remarks about your recent stay at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. It brings me joy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our accommodations and atmosphere met your expectations. We sincerely hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcome you back and I would me more than happy to assist you with with a reservation. Kind Regards, Polixenia Mitrache – Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sophie P wrote a review Oct 2023
9 contributions
Easy check in, room ready prepared for 3 of us with sofa bed already made up. Room got everything you need. Breakfast was good. All staff very friendly. Interesting area, lots of good eating places locally.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, I wanted to take a moment to express my gratitude for your valuable feedback you recently shared with us! I am thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us and our lovely team of staff. I will share your wonderful comments with my entire team who will be thrilled to hear your kind words. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and I would me more than happy to assist you with with a reservation. Kind Regards, Polixenia Mitrache – Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cindy H wrote a review Oct 2023
9 contributions5 helpful votes
A good place to stay if not expecting luxury. However very clean and had a great nights sleep. Breakfast very nice with a great selection. Coffee pod machine in room though a bit stingy with the pods! Overall satisfactory
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: More coffee pods in the room please!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bermondsey Square Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Responded 27 Oct 2023
Dear Hvidcindy, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to know that the cleanliness and breakfast were up to your standards. I have passed your feedback about the coffee pods to the relevant department and we appreciate your feedback. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards, Andrea Jako | Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
£127 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bermondsey square hotel, hotel bermondsey square
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonSouthwark
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BERMONDSEY SQUARE HOTEL - Updated 2024 (London)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Maltby Street Market (0.3 miles), Fashion and Textile Museum (0.2 miles), and White Cube Gallery (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tower Tandoori Restaurant, Tower Mangal, and Cafe Amisha.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bermondsey Square Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (1.9 miles), Churchill War Rooms (2.1 miles), and Tower of London (0.7 miles).
Does The Bermondsey Square Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.