We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Elmwood Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elmwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Start your review of Elmwood Hotel
 Click to rate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Guy on the desk was friendly, The room was clean but tiny, not even room for a suitcase. Desk had peeling surface, bed had very poor quality mattress. Shower was a curious affair that sprayed the wall but not me. Radiator couldn't be turned on and it was cold. Room was just off reception and the noise all night of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian d
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like others, I don't want this to be a depressing review, so will start with the good. The reception staff were friendly, the showers were warm and the room was clean. However, no duvet on the beds, only a blanket, which did not feel clean. Also, no chain on the door, which felt like it could be opened from outside,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LPS26
Malta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well i'll start from the good points. staff friendly, breakfast was good and close to underground. The rooms very small not even a place were to keep the luggage. so many steps and there is not lift. We had a 9 month baby and they did not even have a cot .We left our luggage in a very small room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nella-fo
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review towards your recent stay at Wlmwood hotel. We noted your issue with the baby cot which we never advertised that we can provide a cot, we have upgraded you to a bigger room with extra bed for free and resolved your problem duringbyiur stay and you had room 33 bigger and larger. Thanks for your review...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst "hotel" I have ever had the displeasure of staying in. The rooms are dirty, taps were not even fitted to the sinks, I found someone else's hair inside my bed sheets. The shower was filthy. I had to change my room because it was so bad, then I as put in room 1 which was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent comment on your stay at Elmwood hotel,firstly please accept my apology in behalf of all managers and staff for any inconvenience caused during your stay, and we noted your comments and points and we promise to improve the cleaning services . Please don't judge us from one visit and we hope to welcoming you again in...

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Easy to check in and we paid on arrival. Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Hotel is a 2 minute walk from Kings Cross St Pancras, couldn't have asked for a better location. The room was quite small but it was very clean. Bathroom was very clean also. We stayed for 2 nights/3 days, room was cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephaniegemma
Wales
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Me and my partner booked this B&B months in advance just as an overnight stay before getting the Eurostar the next morning - we do not live around London and so £60 seemed like a price that would get a basic yet comfortable and pleasant room. The pictures that are shown of the rooms did not prepare me for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor H
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I booked for a two night stay and based this booking on price and location. It cost £130 for 2 nights which I though was a great deal for the location. The staff on reception were very polite. Be warned if you have physical disabilities this is not the hotel for you. The staircase is steep and narrow and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LesleyCMC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in a few hotels were you get what you pay for however this 'not so cheap and cheerful' was abysmal. We were on the second floor in a room of about 12 x12 that had a double bed a single bed and a 1 foot wide wardrobe a dressing table a chair and a 1 foot wide b/s...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chezzy48
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review towards your recent stay at Elmwood , your opinion is appreciated , we are a very busy hotel all the year round , and I agree with you the breakfast at our hotel is always busy , but we serve it for long over 2 hours and we always make sure that all our guests had...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I traveled to London with my boyfriend to see a band in Camden. We arrived at the hotel and wasn't even greeted by the strange man on reception, there was no conversation or customer service from the get go. Once we paid and was given keys we went up to the room and it was the worst hotel I've ever...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jademsuns
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review towards you visit at Elmwood hotel. After reviewing the whole case and after investigating with the night manager who welcomed you and tried to help you as much as he could, you unfortunately not qualified to any refund You booked a Double en-suite room at this hotel included breakfast and all taxes for £50 in...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This hotel alright for short stay but would not want to stay too long. Reception area very small, can hear noise outside easily, single room very compact and can hear noise from next room. Good location, near stations and places to eat and drink. Cheap for central London.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review towards your recent short stay , we appreciate your time and your words, and thanks for the positive words related to the hotel location etc , our hotel is located in a side road off Kings cross station in a front of a quite nice Garden, and we are amazingly surprised describing our hotel as a...

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#550 of 1,090 in London
879 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#725 of 1,090 in London
528 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#524 of 1,090 in London
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#959 of 1,090 in London
268 reviews
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#93 of 575 in London
558 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#68 of 575 in London
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elmwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Elmwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel”
906iand, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“My sister stayed in a room facing the main square-could not sleep for gangs outside - a rear room might be better but no view if you do!”
  • Peeling furniture
LesleyCMC, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not sure mine was on Third floor, no double glazing.”
martinrR8801FG, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“no lift lots of stairs”
FarmerGilesRutlandUK, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 28 spotless”
kernowt2016, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5