We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Elmwood Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elmwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elmwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 331: English reviews
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The Ritz this ain't, but you know what The Elmwood is perfect for a short break. My husband and I stayed with our 11 year old son. For the price it was brilliant for a base for somewhere like London. Yes the room was small,(double and single bed),and the bathroom was more like a cupboard, but it was ideal for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Debra, Thank you for your kind review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel & sharing your opinion on line with the future travelers , we are pleased to have your family at our little hotel & in behalf of the hotel managers and staff please accept our regards until we welcoming you again in the near future.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 5 November 2016

La ubicacion es excelente, el personal muy amable y el desayuno muy bueno y es gratis. me fui de Londres 8 dias y cuando volví, regresé a este hotel asi que lo recomiendo. En la zona tambien hay vida nocturna. La estacion central de kings cross pancras esta a 100 metros. The ubication is amazing, the recpcionists are very kind!!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arucha81
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your time sharing your opinion towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel with future travelers And thanks for giving us top stars We enjoyed having you at our place & in behalf of the hotel managers & staff please accept our regards , We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I'd rather sleep in a tent. This place was deplorable. We only stayed a night but really contemplated leaving to go to a hostel. The room was small with a soiled comforter. We opened the door to the bathroom and it smelt horrible, I can't even describe it, maybe mildew and body odors. The shower curtain had dried white...substances we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chanel J
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback towards your recent stay at Elmwood Hotel, And sharing your personal opinion with future travelers. We apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will take the points you mentioned very serious and we will deal with it soon, to avoid the same issues to happen again in the future. One more thing ,...

tonbridge
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed here on Sat 22nd and booked 2 x double rooms as some friends were meeting us. We arrived at about 13:30. Check in was simple enough and nothing really to write home about. The room we had was on the same floor as the reception. It had a double bed, tv, tea & coffee facilities and a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gavinc
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments also sharing your opinion with our future travellers , Your comments is appreciated & truly we are a budget hotel in central London, Regarding the safe box inside the room without batteries , its is mentioned on the guest information paper inside the room that to activate the safe contact the reception staff.

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Well, on the plus side the room, number 11, was dirty old disgusting dark dingy. The mattress was at least 50 years old, totally unacceptable, Not a bad if you were back packing in India but shocking for a hotel in the heart of London. It would have been far more comfortable to have slept in the car. I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Chris, Thank you for your review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed of your stay at Elmwood hotel. We will take your comments very serious and we will pass it to the hotel owners in order to deal with all the weak points you mentioned as soon as...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after coming back from Disneyland and staying here was a disappointing way to end to our time away. The only positive points was that's it's close to St Pancreas and Kings Cross and near all shops and food outlets. Arrived at around 7pm and was shocked when me and my Husband walked into what is meant to me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh F
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Tanks for your review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel, We are very sorry to hear that you weren't satisfy from our service. We apologies for any inconvenience caused during your short stay at our hotel. We have taken the points you mentioned very serious and we are dealing with it now and for sure we will treat all...

Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We booked the Elmwood Hotel because of it's proximity to St Pancras, and we didn't want to spend an exhorbitant amount. The room was down a very narrow twisting staircase, which was very difficult to get suitcases down,and a shocking fire hazard. The tiny room had 2 beds, a single and a three-quarter, and the smallest en-suite ever, the lighting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night. It was OK not my usual time of hotel but it was for one night. It was cleanish but ok. Shower hot heating warm and central to all london links. Kings cross five minutes away central to all london attractions. It was quiet room considering how near to kings cross it was. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 714Yvonne
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review towards your stay at Elmwood hotel. Thank you for your time sharing your experience with other future travellers To Elmwood hotel, and thank you for your positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future whenever you travel back to London and to your 2nd little home in London your...

New York
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I always stay at the Kings Cross area, due to the superb transportation links available. I've stayed at 3 other properties. This guesthouse was just a few blocks from the tube, buses, trains. The park across the street, is a little dicey however. No issues though, and very well lit at night -the whole sidewalk/street area, but occasionally "noisy" and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank budgetqueen
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel & for sharing your experience with other future travellers , we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay , and liked our service & location. In behalf of Elmwood hotel staff & managers we send our warmregards and we are looking forward to welcoming you...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

To avoid wasting my time on this shoddy establishment I'll bullet point -Mould in the bathroom -Room nothing (and I mean nothing) like pictured on website -Holes in the laminate floor under each bed post -Skirting board falling off -Dirty kettle that still had water in from previous guest -Staff said about 2 words to us the whole time we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoeyrobinson
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear our guest, Thank you for your feedback towards your recent stay at London Elmwood hotel. We are very sorry to see that you are disappointed from our service. And please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We take the points you mentioned very serious & we will deal with it, and for sure...

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#551 of 1,089 in London
879 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#723 of 1,089 in London
528 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#527 of 1,089 in London
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#954 of 1,089 in London
268 reviews
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#94 of 573 in London
558 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#69 of 573 in London
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elmwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Elmwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My sister stayed in a room facing the main square-could not sleep for gangs outside - a rear room might be better but no view if you do!”
  • Peeling furniture
LesleyCMC, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not sure mine was on Third floor, no double glazing.”
martinrR8801FG, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“no lift lots of stairs”
FarmerGilesRutlandUK, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 28 spotless”
kernowt2016, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the top floor,request a lower floor if you don't like stairs.”
debrahO1175UK, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5