We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thistle City Barbican

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thistle City Barbican
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,824 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,468: English reviews
Start your review of Thistle City Barbican
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here as a group of 8 last weekend. On check-in they moved our rooms so we could be closer together-nice gesture. Staff helpful and friendly. If you register on the hotel website before booking you get free breakfast which was a very good range of choices and delicious. Only downside for me was we were on 6th floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdeleTurner
Leicester
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip to London. Don't normally stay here but my usual hotel was fully booked. The hotel was in a perfect location for the Business Design Centre, only a 10 minute walk away. The hotel is clean and the rooms are very comfortable. When I first got to the room it was like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrMcCain
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed one night only at this establishment in a twin double room. The first room I was given was tiny and claustrophobic. The door was too small for the doorframe-it let in light from the corridor and rattled with the air movement. My view from the room overlooked a dismal, concrete council estate. The windows couldn't be closed properly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kryptonight_69
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very spacious room with not so good view. Plenty to choose from at breakfast time, and very nice pastries. We needed 2 rooms and unfortunately they were on different floors which was a little inconvenient but I guess that's all thast was left!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
North Wheatley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I'm struggling to work in my room. My glasses keep steaming up! Couple more years and they should gut this place. It's had its day and that was a few decades ago. Sleeping was a nightmare unless you like to sleep on a lumpy bed in a noisey sweat lodge. Breakfast is spot on though. Small blessings eh?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma W
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further, particularly the heating in the room you occupied, I would be grateful if you could contact...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is not in a great location - down a busy and dark street 5 mins walk to old street tube - however the hotel was clean, simple and basic but actually had everything you could need including for once a decent hair dryer. There appeared to be 2 or 3 different bars and 2 of them were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carse66
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel has a number of facilities including a restaurant, 2 bars, leisure club with pool and an award winning...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for one night. Its 10/15 min away from Angel station. Lola did our check in, she was very helpfull and explain us everything about the hotel. The room it was not too big, needs a bir of update as its a bit old. Bed was very confy. The only downside room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NuriaFersan
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you, particularly Lola. As you mention the hotel has a number of facilities including a restaurant, 2 bars, leisure club with pool and an...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't be fooled by the reception area - it looks like you've entered a really high-class hotel. You've not. The level of tiredness of the rooms is matched by your own level of tiredness following a night of trying to sleep in a furnace. Ok so there was both an air conditioner unit and a ceiling fan, but neither one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sebsdad
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further, particularly the heating in the room you occupied, I would be grateful if you could contact...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a package to go and see a football match and we stayed in this hotel at a rate I thought wasn't possible in London. It is and even includes breakfast. The layout is somewhat confusing but for the rest no complaints. Decent size room. Decent Bar, staff is friendly and breakfast a joy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthijs K
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel has a number of facilities including a restaurant, 2 bars, leisure club with pool and an award winning...

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Free wifi, got a complementary upgrade to a better room. Very good value for money hotel, an enjoyable stay. The breakfast is standard and cheaper than in other hotels (12 pounds), but I'd recommend to eat out

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iJores
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. For the best deals, including free breakfast, please visit...

415 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (374)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#444 of 1,088 in London
603 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#296 of 1,088 in London
489 reviews
Clerkenwell
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#293 of 1,088 in London
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: £92 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book direct with the hotel so that breakfast is included!”
 of 5 bubbles O6475OXpatriciab, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Floor 3 was fine....”
 of 5 bubbles V144MQianm, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Took extra coffee so I could relax a little longer with another cup of coffee”
 of 5 bubbles ssjclerk, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we had a premier executive room, which was large and clean. Beds were fine”
 of 5 bubbles lvdb1970, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid unless last minute, and nowhere else to stay stick to the budget rooms as all the rooms are apparently budget, so why pay more?”
 of 5 bubbles tomm263, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5