We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brunel Hotel

Save
Share
79-81 Gloucester Terrace Paddington, London W2 3HB England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
travelup.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (134)
Room & Suite (242)
Dining (23)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#916 of 1,157 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Brunel is centrally located just 5 minutes walk from Paddington Station, the terminal for the Heathrow Express.The hotel is within walking distance of Bayswater and Oxford Street with their world famous shops and restaurants, and just a minute or two from the tranquil green spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
131Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
15Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
461Reviews1Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 110
  • 141
  • 65
  • 106
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Louis Q wrote a review 9 Jan
1 contribution
Overall, I had a great experience with the Brunel Hotel; staff was incredibly helpful, and the amenities were great. The room was wonderful, not to big but clean, and perfect to walk around the city, We (me, my wife and two daughters) we were satisfied with the hotel service and location.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
danielmanier wrote a review Mar 2020
São Paulo54 contributions40 helpful votes
I'd say this is the worst hotel I ever been in my entire life. Facts: 1) Old building - anyone walking on the floor above you, you will hear it. Every single step. 2) Bathroom - if you are above 6 feet, you will not be able to use the bathroom. It is EXTREMELY small. There are no windows and the exhauster does not work. 3) Staff - extremely rude and non flexible at all. They only say "there is nothing I can do". And they do nothing to solve your problem. Simple as that. Never stay at this hotel! Pay a few more pounds and go to another place. To be honest, I don't even know how can Brunel Hotel can be considered a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs. Go any other place and you will have a better experience.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Minnetrista wrote a review Jan 2020
Mpls., MN54 contributions42 helpful votes
Traveling on a budget we selected this hotel for three nights, with two rooms for our family. The lift was a little "scary" and so small barely a person and suitcase would fit! However, it served our needs and was very quaint and old. It's nearby several Undergrounds and the main Paddington Station. There are many restaurants nearby so the location was ideal. Breakfast is served in the basement and was surprisingly adequate for us, though we only got to enjoy once due to our busy schedule. This hotel will serve well if your expectations are not too high. Mostly it is clean and safe.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Alexis wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
The service we received from staff was unacceptable. I had emailed two different members of the hotel staff asking if I could store bags there while I was in Paris before coming to London, and they said yes. When I arrived at the hotel with only a few minutes to spare (I thought it would be a quick handover) to catch a flight to Paris, the man working at the desk (I wish I had his name) rudely told me that they don't hold bags. I showed him the email and he said he would have to call his manager. His manager didn't answer the phone and wouldn't be there for another ten minutes. I showed him the names again of the staff members who said I could store bags, and once I said the name Arslan, he changed his demeanor and pulled out claim numbers out of the drawer. I'm sure he knew the policy and just didn't want to let me store my bags for eight days because I'm American and he thought he could take advantage of me because of my identity. I should not have had to put up with his behavior. Once we did check in to our room a few days later, it was incredibly small for my mom and I. We had four suitcases in total and we had to shove them under the bed just to be able to walk around, or I should say squeeze through, the room. The pictures shown must be their most spacious rooms, but our room wasn't representative of the displayed pictures. The bathroom was small but there were no mechanical issues. The shower head was rather loose because previous guests most likely used the head to put their shower bottles on. The only nice thing about the room was that all the furniture looked updated, but it was not a comfortable stay. My mom discovered that the beds were just cots with mattresses on top. Additionally, the spoons that came with our kettle and coffee cups were dirty. The wifi service that was complimentary with our stay was not accessible from our room. None of our phones or tablets could connect throughout our stay. The staff also came into our room to clean and had moved our luggage and put it on the floor. My mom who is a germaphobe was not happy about that. Besides the room, the single elevator in the building isn't reliable and incredibly small. The breakfast provided was pretty decent, hot and cold food available. I would not stay here again, and I would not recommend this hotel for anyone else.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sophie C wrote a review Oct 2019
5 contributions
Got taxi'ed here from a sister hotel, despite paying more for the room than the Brunel Hotel itself charges. Room itself was absolutely tiny. I say this as a petite 5ft woman- I could barely sit down on the toilet it was so narrow and small I fail to see how anyone above my size could comfortably fit. The bed itself was also so short anyone over about 5ft 2 wouldn't be able to fully extend their legs. Noise from other rooms, the road and also some sort of doorbell all night- managed an hours sleep before what was a very important day that inevitably went all the worse for it. Didn't get any breakfast despite it being included in the price. To top it all off, got a huge insect bite from my stay (not sure if its flea or beg bug on my ankle, other reviewers seem to have suffered the same and it appeared the morning after) which is pretty uncomfortable and disgusting. Decor was OK, location pretty good- but otherwise- a total dud of a stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from BrunelHotelLondon, Manager at Brunel Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2019
Dear Sophie, Thank you for your feedback and we our are sorry you to hear about your experience. Regarding your original booking, as you can rightly claimed, you were not booked at the Brunel but due to an overbooking situation in your original hotel, you had been relocated to us. This obviously put a bad start to your stay. Regarding the location of the Brunel itself, we are right in the city center within walking distance to Hyde Park and Paddington Train station and as such it does get pretty noisy during the day as well as the fact that we are a listed building which restricts our ability to upgrade the building and soundproof it. I would though refute the claim you have made about the size of the bed. All our beds are of hotel standard size of 6ft2inches. I am unsure why you would suggest otherwise. Also, like all hotels we are also prone to bugs being transferred to the property. But I can assure you the hotel has been free of any bed bug infestation in particular for the last 12 months. I can say this with a guarantee because we have installed bed bug monitor systems and have a clear record of all infestation instances, audited by a third party. You may have experienced a insect bite. Your claim also suggests this may be true, as bed bugs would leave you bitten all over the body rather than one big bite as you have claimed. Breakfast is included in the price for all the guests and would not be refused to any guest unless they come after the breakfast service hours. Albeit, we are sorry your experience at the hotel was not up to your expectations. Thank you once again for the feedback as it will help us improve our procedures in handling guests better in the future. Best regards, Kanak
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
brunel hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Brunel Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Brunel Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Italian Gardens (0.3 miles), Paddington Station (0.2 miles), and The Swan (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Brunel Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Brunel Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Brunel Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bel Canto Restaurant, Nipa Thai Restaurant, and Sheila's Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Brunel Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.3 miles), Tower of London (4.4 miles), and Houses of Parliament (2.5 miles).