We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Citadines Barbican London

Orbitz.comUS$140*
View Deal
#439 of 1,063 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Citadines Barbican London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

630 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Citadines Barbican London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 465: English reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We choose Citadines Barbican for our 16 day stay in London as it had a kitchen unit. It had a kitchen unit and so much more. All staff, front desk, housekeeping and maintenance were very pleasant with smiles and friendly hellos. Our room was small but clean and efficient. The bathrooms are great. Our room was to the front of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John and Gail W
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear John and Gail, Thank you so much for your amazing feedback. Receiving such opinions from our residents inspire us to continue to deliver service from the heart. As you say, you would definitely stay here again- We would be delighted to welcome you at Citadines Barbican anytime! Warmest Regards from the entire Team, Orsi Assistant Residence Manager

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We had a studio room, and it was excellent for our needs - cooking facilities, a comfortable chair to sit in, excellent bed, double-glazing to keep out the street noise. The staff were excellent - really helpful, and courteous - and they jumped on the internet when they couldn't answer any question. Continental breakfast was fabulous - a great way...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosalie_mccoll
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Rosalie, Thank you very much for your compliment. Your heartfelt words will be shared with team Team that I am very proud of now (as usual). We all would be happy to see you back in our Residence! Warm Regards, Orsi Assistant Residence Manager

Strasbourg
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Very good service, pleasant people and convenient location. Come and salient during night time. I stayed in the hotel just for one night but enjoyed it a lot. Next time I will be in London I will definitely consider booking a room there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vasylm786
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Vasylm786, Thank you so much for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at Citadines Barbican. Kindest Regards from the entire Team, Orsi Assistant Residence Manager

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2015

This motel was clean and spacious and very well located but the best thing was the staff, they were so helpful and friendly. I was amazed at how well we were treated. The underground is a few minutes walk away but you could easlier walk to the Thames in less then a half hour.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet2960
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Janet2960, Thank you very much for your amazing comments and for scoring us 5 on the TripAdvisor scale. I am very happy that our Team looked well after you. I will certainly share your comments with them as opinions like yours motivate us all to continue to give service from our hearts. We are looking forward to welcoming you...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Really nice 'chain hotel'; a cut above Premier Inn-type places. Really nice fellow on reception; all staff very friendly. Couple of plugs in the room didn't work, but room itself was spick and span. Really no major complaints.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank welshy223
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Welshy223, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to learn that the majority of your stay was positive and your kind comments will be certainly shared with the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit in London, Kind Regards Orsi Assistant Residence Manager

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 20 August 2015

The reception opens for 24 hours, and the staff is very kind. Transportation is convenient, and the location is good, too. A computer and the printer in the lobby are usable free. I recommend Citadines Barbican.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mika300
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Mika, Thank you for your amazing 5 score! I am delighted to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in our Residence at your next visit in London. Kindest Regards, Orsi Assistant Residence Manager

Reviewed 17 August 2015

The worse, the wifi. Bad to work. The rooms were nice and clean, but there's no a nice view. The staff very nice and friendly. A good location, near subway and Saint Paul's Cathedral with some nice pubs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paula r
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Paula R, Thank you for your kind review. I was delighted to see that you were satisfied with our Team and the service. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the strength of the wifi- we are currently working on improving this service. We hope to see you back in Citadines Barbican! Kind Regards, Orsi

France
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

+ : Room is nice and well isolated for noise between rooms - : never seen such a poor wifi (sometimes even impossible to connect) and first entrance to the room is common with your neighbor and when he's entering his room it sounds as if he's coming in yours !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Echos63
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Echos63, Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you found the room at your preference. I am sorry though you were not satisfied with the wifi and the interconnecting rooms. Please note we are currently working on the improvement of our wifi service, so this should be fixed shortly. Regarding the room, as we are undergoing...

Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed two nights last week. The place is basic as far as the rooms are concerned when compared to alternatives of equivalent price. I unfortunately forgot a couple of items in the fridge in a bag that were a gift to take home. Only half of the contents were food (there were non-food gift items also). When I called...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank stephenkemp1
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Stephenkemp1, I am extremely sorry to see your experience at Citadines Barbican was negative. Please rest assured this is not the general service we provide, our Team is polite and helpful on similar occasions. The policy is, in fact, to throw away food items and as far as I have been informed, this was the case with your left...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We chose Citadines as a good basic hotel for a Friday and Saturday night, located only 15 minutes walk from Liverpool Street Station and not far from some good restaurants and pubs in Liv St and Whitechapel area. The rooms include a small kitchenette but are very small. There didn't seem to be any housekeeping (cleaning room, making bed etc)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David M
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear DTM56, Thank you for your review and for rating us 4 on the scale. I am delighted to learn that the majority of your stay was positive, I wish to apologize for the entrance door though. In fact we had problems with the buzzer, which has been fixed immediately the week after. At the same time, our Team has...

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#267 of 1,063 in London
1,427 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#164 of 1,063 in London
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#304 of 1,063 in London
528 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighbourhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Price Range: £124 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#50 Green Hotel in London
#279 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Citadines Barbican London staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Broadstairs
England
over a year ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Citadines Barbican London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See overall comments”
Ann666my, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Renovated rooms on higher floors facing Goswell Road for best views of the "City " skyline.”
geero, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Hotel is undergoing renovation, however, this did not impact onour stay”
travelpeeps0708, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I also liked the rooms space and all the decor and amenities in the room. I liked the kitchenette though I did not used it, its an amazing provision.”
ericselasee, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the newly refurbished rooms”
980sissiw, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$140* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$149
Agoda.comUS$140
Hotels.comUS$140
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates