We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
39 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Pre-pay and save up to 20% at The Rubens
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$424
TripadvisorUS$423
Rubens Hotel
TravelocityUS$424
PricelineUS$423
Hotels.comUS$424
View all 22 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2068)
Room & Suite (755)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 12/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Rubens at the Palace
Updated 12/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#52 of 1,207 in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Our beautifully restored historic hotel is cared for by a team who take genuine pride in delivering impeccable service and exceeding expectations at every turn. Overlooking The Royal Mews of Buckingham Palace - the entrance used by the Royal family - The Rubens showcases exceptional dining journeys, and enriching and rewarding experiences, from the very first moment guests are greeted by our red-uniformed doormen...
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Pre-pay and save up to 20% at The Rubens

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
187Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
33Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
5515Reviews113Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,941
  • 1,127
  • 285
  • 121
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lorna C wrote a review 12 May
5 contributions
The staff at the hotel was one of the highlights. From the doorman (Aaron), to the staff at Reception and the Concierge desk, to Erika, the breakfast service manager, to Frank in the new York Bar, to Petra, who served us Afternoon Tea, the staff was extremely kind and attentive. All of the food we were served here was wonderful. The "cozy double" room was quite small and packed with too much furniture, but all of it was over-the-top elegant, including the chandelier. The bathroom, on the other hand, was huge with wall-to-wall and floor-to-ceiling marble. (One downside: the marble is quite slick, not a great choice for a bathroom. Also, the shower head was a rain-shower, which I personally dislike.) We felt well-cared-for and genuinely appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 985lornac, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. I shared your fantastic feedback with my team this morning, and they were delighted to hear your kind comments. Thank you for your notes regarding your room, we will certainly take them on board for our future improvements. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
rowly2015 wrote a review Nov 2021
Barnstaple, United Kingdom37 contributions36 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We went for Afternoon Tea the day before both mine and the wife's birthday's and what is also our wedding Anniversary and the the whole experience was excellent. We booked it as the chefs had been on a TV programme that we had watched and their food looked superb. On arrival, we were a bit early, but quickly seated and given a very warm welcome and drinks poured. The food quickly came out and looked great and so it proved on eating!! As it was a special occasion, we had opted for the Bottomless Champagne Afternoon Tea and Ioana was tending our table and was an absolute star, always making sure we had a top up and that all was okay. Sue particularly enjoyed the chocolate moose crown!! Thanks to all the team - we had a lovely relaxed and enjoyable couple of hours.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 3 Nov 2021
Dear rowly2015, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us wonderful feedback online, following from your Afternoon Tea with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the experience. I will make sure that all of my team hear your praise! Please do join us again soon! Warm regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
Melanie D wrote a review 9 May
Cardiff, United Kingdom249 contributions78 helpful votes
I was attending an Investiture at Buckingham Palace and before and during my visit the staff could not do enough to make our stay really special. In advance they fixed for a hairdresser to arrive at 8 in the morning , and pre booked breakfast for my husband. When we arrived and asked if it was possible to arrange a late check out because of the timings of the ceremony - rooms division manager Johal Scott arranged it immediately. The room was lovely overlooking the mews . The staff at every point of contact were so courteous , polite and welcoming . All finished off with fabulous cocktails and lunch before we headed back to Wales. We had a wonderful stay , and we can’t wait to return .We shall recommend this as the Hotel to stay in in London to friends and family in future. Its in a great locations with lots going on around it We look forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room overlooking the Mews was lovely
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Melanie D, Thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback, 'absolutely wonderful hotel and staff ' on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us whilst attending an Investiture at Buckingham Palace. My team will be over the moon with your kind words too. Thank you for recommending the Rubens at the Palace to your friends and family, we look forward to welcoming you back. My best regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
Susie Hancox wrote a review 8 May
London, United Kingdom69 contributions67 helpful votes
The venue for our little London holiday, excellent location, great room beautifully clean but the best part by far was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff and the great ambience in the hotel. For a 5 star hotel it was warm and welcoming, having previously stayed in the Shard this was altogether different. A relaxed family feeling, lovely food, especially breakfast, great bar too. Highly recommend! They charge a surcharge as you leave to cover tips, I think this is great, it just eradicates all that awkwardness - genius idea! Already planning to return. We wandered up Buckingham Palace Road this morning before we left and saw hanging of the guard - simply great.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 991matthewh, Thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled you had a great time with us at the Rubens at the Palace. My team will be over the moon with your comments about them being friendly and professional! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
Robert Oliver wrote a review 3 May
Andover, United Kingdom8 contributions14 helpful votes
Welcoming staff, great location, clean and tidy accommodation though be it tired in places, the Rubén’s is an excellent place to stay if you’re visiting London. I and my wife stayed here as a birthday gift to her and the staff were completely courteous and read that this was a celebration on our booking thus promoting a ‘Happy Birthday’ to our delight. The room itself was tidy, very clean and looked after but as written earlier, it does need a make-over as some of the decor looks weary after years of service. We didn’t try and of the food bar a small birthday dessert that they had left in our room upon our arrival back after our day out, it was a really superb touch that topped off the already excellent service. We shall absolutely be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Roboliverj1990, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I will share your kind comments with my team, who will be thrilled that you found their service excellent and welcoming. Thank you for your notes regarding our decor. We will undoubtedly take them on board for our future developments. I am delighted to learn we will be welcoming you back to the Rubens at the Palace. My team and I look forward to your next visit! Warmest regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
Danyelle wrote a review 2 May
2 contributions
Before going back home to the states I had an overnight layover in London. The Ruben looked like a nice hotel to stay in for the night and it’s location it’s right next to the Buckingham Palace! Upon arrival, we were welcomed in the best way by the doorman and the lobby associates. A live singer was covering a Ed Sheehan song beautifully in the lounge area! When we checked in Dermo greeted us with a beautiful smile and had so many recommendations for us to make the most out of our overnight experience in London. He recommended a place to dine and connected us to a nightlife expert which led to an extremely fun and exciting evening. The next day when it was time to leave we arrived a bit late to the hotel from exploring London before our flight . Dermo addressed this issue with a quickness and immediately ordered us a taxi to take us to the airport and we were able to make our flight on time. I must say Dermo is the main reason my layover went so well. The entire staff was extremely kind and hospitable. I will definitely stay at Rubens when for my next visit !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Itsdanykae, Thank you for sharing your review "I love the Rubens at the Palace" on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I am thrilled you found my team kind and hospitable. Dermo will be so pleased with your kind comments about him, especially since he is the main reason your layover went so well! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. My best regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
Jenna J wrote a review 1 May
3 contributions
The hotel was absolutely beautiful. Dermo assisted us with the check in process, he was very professional and knowledgeable about things to do in the area. He has great customer service skills. I look forward to staying here again on my next trip to London.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 283jennaj, Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience with us. I am thrilled you found the Rubens at the Palace beautiful and Dermo's service, professional and knowledgeable. I will share your kind comments with him - he will be thrilled! My team and I look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
Gilad J wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom50 contributions3 helpful votes
Beware of the room type named “single executive”. It’s been the worst, smallest, most claustrophobic hotel room I’ve stayed in during my 30+ year career. The bed is tiny, it’s surrounded by so little space you can hardly walk around it. There is no other space. You will hit your head on the TV. If you need to work, you get a tiny stool with no backrest. This is torture, not a five star hotel. This room is not fit for human habitation. See photos and avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Gilad J, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay with us. I was sincerely sorry to read your feedback and to know that you have left us disappointed. Being a period converted building, the shapes and sizes of rooms vary, and we offer 14 different room categories to consider these variations. Our Executive Single is the smallest of categories, in which we openly list the floor space and bed size to ensure our guests are well informed to make the correct choice for themselves. I regret that we were unaware of your disappointment at the time, as my team endeavours to find the most comfortable room allocation for our guests regarding their preferences. Should you decide to return to stay with us again, then please, by all means, contact me directly so that I can be of assistance to you. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Rubens at the Palace. Warmest regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
Melanie L wrote a review Apr 2022
Lipsi, Greece31 contributions11 helpful votes
We used The Rubens for clients for a small dinner in one of their private rooms. In advance of the event they were helpful and responsive, dealing with last minute requests with ease. On the night the team were efficient, friendly and helpful. The setting and the food were great. We have already looked at this venue again for another client and we will certainly be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review Melanie. I am so pleased to hear you had an amazing dinner with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
dodgerhoddesdon wrote a review Apr 2022
Hoddesdon159 contributions74 helpful votes
This was a very special treat for me and my sister as the experience was very expensive. The hotel itself was beautiful. Loved the decoration. The staff on the door and reception were very warm and welcoming. The afternoon tea area was very luxurious although we were not keen on the small 2 seater sofa facing the window. Felt like we were waiting for a bus! There was not enough sandwiches and too many cakes! We did ask for more sandwiches, cheese and cue and chicken and we received 1 finger sandwich of each which was quite stingy. The scones were delicious although we has to ask for strawberry jam which is more traditional. For too many cakes. We managed 2 each. We had bottomless champagne (which was beautifully chilled) but it was very slow at being topped up. We had to ask a couple of times. It would also have been nice if we was offered a last top up before our time was up. As it was we were completely forgotten about after our 90 mins. Although we had a lovely time is was not good value for money at all. The staff though were amazing and an absolute credit to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, Heather, I am so pleased you found my team friendly and helpful. I have shared your feedback with my afternoon tea manager and team for future improvements. We hope to welcome you back to the Rubens again. My best regards, Malcolm Hendry, General Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$238 - US$618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the rubens at the palace hotel london, rubens at the palace london, rubens palace
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonVictoria / Westminster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Rubens at the Palace
Which popular attractions are close to The Rubens at the Palace?
Nearby attractions include Buckingham Palace (0.2 miles), Billy Elliot The Musical (0.1 miles), and Victoria Palace Theatre (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rubens at the Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Rubens at the Palace?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Rubens at the Palace?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rubens at the Palace?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rubens at the Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kona, The English Rose Cafe, and Bon Gusto.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Rubens at the Palace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Rubens at the Palace?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Rubens at the Palace offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Rubens at the Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Rubens at the Palace?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (0.7 miles), Tower of London (3.0 miles), and Houses of Parliament (0.8 miles).