We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Seville, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2016

what is wrong with you guys??? you seem like 90 year old grandmas complaining about everything!!! yes, the beds are thin and some of the rooms should have few less beds....BUUUT the ATMOSPHERE in this place is just the BEST!!! Is not what we're looking for ''out from home'' ... I don't know you guys but if I wanted a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elvira S
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I already wrote a long review, but TripAdvisor did not post it i think because of a technical problem... This place was horrible and i would not return to this hostel. Even for the little money you pay i would not recommend it. The rooms are full of fungus and the toilets are not clean. I can sum up some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Basjan90

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I had originally booked for two nights- but literally didn't sleep a wink. Very uncomfortable triple bunk beds. Really squeaky floor and door, which meant I was waking up all through the night with people coming into the room. Staff were pretty friendly. Pillow had mud on it, which was a bit rank... If you are a heavy sleeper then... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Uncomfortably bed, horrible sheets, broken window, disgusting little toilets! But the worst was the staff, totally unprofessional and absolutely lazy. Very very poor breakfast! Nice social room, with pool table , tennis table and full of sofas. Don't book here!! Spend few more pounds and have better.

Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio A
Bordeaux
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Some comments are exagerated. Indeed, this is not a new generation hostel, but for what you pay --that is nothing for London-- you get a bed and access to a common room. It's not so dirty although not brand new, of course it will all depend on the roommates you get. So overall it's ok if you're not too fussy... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikebordeaux
Florence, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

After being there 3 hours and realizing this was the dirtiest hostel I had ever been in, from Hawaii to Madrid...I found a better hostel and checked out. They would not refund any of my money from the 4 nights I cancelled and I hadn't even used the bed. I left comments on FB and they told me they were... More 

Helpful?
Thank David V
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I had just stayed one week but I really appreciate it and enjoyed all the days. I spent a good week. “Arsenal tavern backpackers” in London. Very Good Service. No booking charge no cancellation charges. Excellent customer’s service. It was clean entertainment great staff very good service cleaning, quiet, nearly Grocery stores are a very short walk away. Always quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank rg_shingad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Mainly a sports pub with backpackers accommodation above large nearly empty big screen lounge, with a bar across one side mainly a lager pub with a couple of Ales. We went last Sunday to watch Arsenal v Liverpool game not very crowded and unfortunately the signal wasn't very good and keep dropping out. So at half time we went to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed for one night and was working the day before and the day after said night, on the street outside on a film production. The production had hired the common room of the hostel as a waiting/break space during these two days of filming and being a hot two days with only plastic benches (provided by our work) it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
Curridabat, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I would like to mention first that the staff is really cool and helpful. The highlight of the hostel definitely. The place is old, neglected and dark and the beds are tiny and uncomfortable. The walls were thin and you could hear the other rooms. The bathroom was dirty and you could not fit properly in the shower without bumping... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stephko11
LondonHostels, Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay here. We have a refurbishment planned for the near future and we hope you will come back to view the miraculous changes that will happen! Well done with the improvisation in the showers :) We don't have any posters warning people about... More 

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Backpackers
#199 of 792 in London
116 reviews
Via Lewisham
#267 of 792 in London
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
PubLove at The Crown
PubLove at The Crown
#183 of 792 in London
162 reviews
Milestone Apartments
#481 of 792 in London
229 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#128 of 792 in London
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Arsenal Tavern Backpackers From our location the best of London and all of its attractions are within easy reach. Getting around is quick and easy with both Arsenal Station & Finsbury Park Station within an easy 5 minute walk from the hostel. We are only 10 minutes from King’s Cross St Pancras station! Unique to the hostel, Stoke Newington and its huge amount of independent restaurants, pubs, shops and cafes serving the best coffee in London are only a 10 minute walk from the hostel. When you get bored of Shoreditch, come check out Stokey. We are not far from Dalston and Hoxton either. Arsenal Football Club and the Emirates Stadium are a very short walk away. Our bar and the hostel are a great place to be on match days. Clissold Park and Finsbury Park are 10 minutes walk from from the hostel. We do daily walking tours and pub crawls Our extra-large bar and common area are the heart and soul of the hostel. With a stage for live music, large cinema screen and pool tables you will never be bored. We also have free super fast Wi-Fi throughout the hostel. We love entertainers so get in touch if you want to perform on our stage. Got a talent or skill you want to share? Again get in touch with us. We are proud of our hostel and keeping the place clean and our facilities are cleaned and maintained 24/7. We are big on security and provide lockers free of charge, CCTV throughout the hostel and 24 hour reception ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

Address: 175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England (Formerly Arsenal Tavern Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: £10 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arsenal Tavern Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Arsenal Tavern Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arsenal Tavern Backpackers staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Poland
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Arsenal Tavern Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“AVOID the bed directly next to it, it's like sleeping outside!!! (as the window HAS to stay open, it's a matter of survival)”
 of 5 bubbles mikebordeaux, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“"It's the little things that add up to make this a great place to stay. This hostel has the amenities of a luxury hotel"”
 of 5 bubbles rg_shingad, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just cross your fingers the heating system at your room is on so you can get the minimum chance to sleep at night.”
 of 5 bubbles elvioc417, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“To choose a good room, go to Hostelworld and find a new property.”
 of 5 bubbles CourtneyMagann, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Terrible, awful”
 of 5 bubbles danielfp2015, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay