We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aloft London Excel

Show Prices
#269 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,502: English reviews
Stevenage, UK
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is found by the Print Regent DLR station and you walk around the Excel to an entrance on the 2nd floor, take a lift down to the ground floor for reception. Easy to check in and then up to our room. The room was modern and clean. The bathroom arrangement is different with a sliding door to separate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brodders
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Well this hotel has most everything including a gym and pool, and easy access to the DLR. The rooms were very clean and modern, the bed was most comfortable and for a big hotel the normal cleaning and door shutting noises were virtually non existent. Food was very good and restaurant service and cleanliness impeccable. The hotel is very much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ipbishman
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed a couple of nights with my two young boys (6 & 8). The hotel was easy to get to from prince regent DLR station and the staff were welcoming. They gave us a free upgrade to a beautiful suite which was brilliant as it gave us so much more space with a lounge area and spacious bathroom as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ieuan E
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a conference at Excel, literally a 15 second walk and you're there. Rooms were big, clean, had a really good hairdryer (was impressed), good wifi and ironing board, as well as other amenities. Breakfast was good, typical English breakfast. The restaurant did not open for lunch but we found other good restaurants near by. If you're thinking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asjolander
England
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's a very modern hotel. The rooms are not the "usual shape" rooms we're all used to, but all facilities there in the room, fantastic bed, coffee/tea making facilities, free (easily connected) wifi, TV, information on local tourist information and other, ironing board and iron, oh and there was a bedside Bluetooth alarm clock/stereo, and with approx. three simple clicks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol33
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review

Hi Carol! Wow! Such a great review - made me very proud to know that you were talking about our hotel and our Team! and yes - we are more than happy to have you bring you pooch the next time you come. We know that they are an important part of the family! Look forward to seeing you next...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the 3rd time we've stayed here - the hotel is very welcoming with friendly reception staff. The rooms are very comfortable with everything you need for a stop over. We did bed and breakfast and there is a choice for every nationality. It's located right next to the train station so it's easy to hop on a train...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen t
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review

Hi Karen! Sounds like you are becoming a regular! Thanks so much for your continued business. Great to hear that we provide you with all that you need. Look forward to your next visit. Have an easy breezy day! Candice

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having always chosen Aloft as my favourite hotel to celebrate important dates such us birthdays, anniversary,end of uni exams,last night I had planned a valentines weekend for my partner unfortunately after booking this hotel for the fourth time through booking.com I was turned away for not having photo ID to show at arrival. It was such a disappointment that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estefany S
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review

Dear Estefany; I am truly sorry for the experience that you and others experienced at the hotel this past weekend and can assure you that I am taking action to prevent this from reoccurring. Please contact me directly at Candice.pere@alofthotels.com so that we can take actions to make this up to you and regain your trust. I look forward to...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband booked a suite here for Valentine's and made reservations at a restaurant that we missed as a result of ridiculously unhelpful service. When we arrived to check-in (first attempt) we were refused our room because my husband didn't have photo ID. We spoke to the manager and showed him our booking confirmation and proof that the money (£150)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cayleigh h
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review

Dear Cayleigh I am so sorry to hear of the events of this weekend and how we had such a negative impact on your Valentines Day. Please be assured that we are taking every action to follow up on this and ensure that such situations are handled much differently going forward. Please feel free to contact me directly on Candice.pere@alofthotels.com...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a weekend treat for my wife to go to the Strictly Tour. When we arrived to book in at the hotel, we were refused the room we had booked because we had no photo ID. The manager paid lip service to our pleas for help then implied we might have stolen both my wife's purse, and my wallet. Perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark B
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review

Hi Mark I was absolutely shocked to read your comments with regards to your attempted stay this weekend. I am truly sorry for the experience and assure you that we are taking every step to ensure that these situations are handled much better going forward. Please feel free to contact me on Candice.pere@alofthotels.com to discuss further. Warm Regards Candice

Luqa, Malta
Reviewed 1 week ago

Modern bedroom, quite spacious, had to stay 3 days for a business trip and cannot complaint. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, only minuses - it was truly a mission to find the ironing board, there were manual blinders on the windows that I had to pull up and down every day and they were getting stuck, and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saram0s
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this review

Hi Sara Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate it and thanks for the feedback. We will get those blinds fixed and as an fyi, slippers are available upon request. Just give us a call at the front desk on your next visit and we will be happy to provide. Have an easy breezy day! Candice

944 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (628)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (135)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (99)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (254)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Aloft King Room (29)
Viewed
Aloft Twin Room (30)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Savvy Suite (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Urban King Room (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#301 of 1,087 in London
2,107 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#434 of 1,087 in London
1,884 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#536 of 1,087 in London
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Price Range: £78 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#199 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aloft London Excel staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question
London, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
glasgow,united kingdom
6 months ago
Saint Thomas, Canada

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Aloft London Excel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the higher your room the better the view”
 of 5 bubbles Ipbishman, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Mirror above dressing table and 2 wine glasses”
 of 5 bubbles sandrafE4954YX, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I guess that the river views are better but there is a steep premium for them”
 of 5 bubbles Gooddayahead, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Facing the river”
 of 5 bubbles Pretronas, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room towards the front of the hotel as the views are nicer. Towards the sides you will get a view of the car park.”
  • View from our twin bed room, located at the front of the hotel
 of 5 bubbles alittleSumthing, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5