Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Montcalm Brewery Townhouse

London City Suites By Montcalm
Traveller (180)
Panorama at the London City Suites By Montcalm
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (191)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#627 of 1,139 hotels in London
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Montcalm Brewery Townhouse, a nice option for travellers like you. Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, a minibar and air conditioning, Montcalm Brewery Townhouse makes getting online easy as free wifi is available. You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including a concierge and room service. In addition, guests can enjoy a fitness center and an on-site restaurant during their visit. If you like pubs, LMontcalm Brewery Townhouse is conveniently located near Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese, Waxy O'Connor's Pub, and The Mayflower Pub. Looking to explore? Then look no further than Tower of London (1.1 mi), Sky Garden (0.8 mi), and The View from The Shard (1.2 mi), which are some popular London attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel. Montcalm Brewery Townhouse puts the best of London at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English

Location

42-46 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SB England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
Heathrow Airport
16.1 mi
See all flights
Moorgate
5 minUnderground
492Reviews8Q+A73Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 257
  • 132
  • 48
  • 26
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Penu D wrote a review Apr 2020
Mason, Ohio2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed a week at the Barbican Rooms for company training, the location was great - could walk to lots of attractions and downtown areas. The location however was surpassed by the great hospitality service provided by the staff! Want to give my deepest thanks to Ishmael and Eva from the club area - they went above and beyond to make my stay more than pleasant with their courteous, professional and friendly service. Looking forward to stay at this hotel again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barbican Rooms, Owner at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Dear Penuid, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We'll certainly take note of your comments to further enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. Best regards, Emanuel Alves Night Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C-Pea wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom176 contributions184 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here overnight on a recent trip to London. I’d rate it between good and very good for the price paid. I can echo some of the reviews about some parts of the room being a bit dirty but found the staff very friendly and helpful which you would expect from a hotel with its higher rating. Despite being on the ground floor we had a quiet stay and good sleep and the bed was very comfortable and bath. I think if the hotel could just tidy up the rooms a bit more (stains on curtains, seats etc, wallpaper coming off in some areas) I’d stay again as the location is ideal for friends I visit in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barbican Rooms, Owner at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We'll certainly take note of your comments to further enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. Best regards, Emanuel Alves Night Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fennie wrote a review Jan 2020
Cheltenham, United Kingdom13 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is amazing. From arrival to departure, we were treated like royalty, and great care taken of us. Our room was large, luxurious and double-glazed, so was very quiet. The location is excellent, being just 5 mins from the Barbican theatre. And all at a price quite remarkable for its location and standard of service. Special mention to Relu, who anticipated our every need and helped me find my lost mobile phone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Remus O, General Manager at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Fenella S, Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your experience whilst you stayed with us in London. The 'Small but Sweet' touches are important and make our guests feel at home. The team and I are thrilled to see you took advantage of all the facilities. It is also great to see you mention Relu who works hard to ensure all our guests are well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards, Remus Obertelli Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Blue ben wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a room for £200 in the barbican and was transfered to this hotel on the day. Upon inspection I realised the hotel we were transfered to was of the same quality but it was £80 cheaper. In addition to this it was located further away from the area we needed to stay. The hotel is still taking bookings for the original hotel. I spoke to theo in reservations who never once apologised and offered no refund on the difference or even allowed us to stay in the hotel we originally booked. Not 5 star service and out right rude. Will not use this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barbican Rooms, Owner at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We'll certainly take note of your comments to further enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. Best regards, Emanuel Alves Night Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Supriya S wrote a review Feb 2020
Bengaluru, India9 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
old, poorly insulated building. freezing room due to strong drafts from single glazed window and poorly functioning heating on a cold winter night. was moved to warmer room upon complaining twice but then heating was turned off centrally at night probably due to low occupancy.

spent miserable night shivering & woke up nursing a cold. this hotel has seen better days & is more like a 3 rather than 5 star hotel. It's only redeeming quality is its polite & helpful staff who tried their best to accomodate us but couldn't compensate for the crumbling infrastructure.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barbican Rooms, Owner at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Dear Suprya, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We'll certainly take note of your comments to further enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. Best regards, Emanuel Alves Night Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChrisC1949 wrote a review Nov 2021
Wellingborough, United Kingdom91 contributions47 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked here because we were attending a wedding straight across the street and was expecting a five star experience. The booking in process was done at the main hotel opposite and the staff were very pleasant and helpful which is why I am not giving the hotel a 'terrible' rating. The room was much smaller than those shown on the website but was very clean however we soon discovered that the heating and air conditioning control was not working properly, in fact it was showing a spanner symbol which means a call to Maintenance was needed, two staff members came to see the controls and both said someone would be with us in a few minutes. After a chilly night I asked the downstairs receptionist to report it, she made a note but no further action was taken, the breakfast was lukewarm and choice was limited, when I checked out I said I didn't want to pay for it and the manager agreed to remove it from the bill and I was promised he would look into my other complaints, which included hot water taking five minutes to come through the basin tap and the shower. The manager's message was relayed to us via the receptionist as he was obviously too busy to come and see us. This is the first time ever that I have had to complain about a hotel.
This was so not a 5 star experience. We did have a nice hot breakfast at a nearby cafe on the second morning and it cost far less.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barbican Rooms, Owner at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Dear Chris, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We'll certainly take note of your comments to further enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. Best regards, Emanuel Alves Night Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eddi181 wrote a review May 2022
Northampton, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly, checking in at the Barbican rooms is annoying and you have to go over to the other hotel building to do so. Didn’t swipe the card like others have had issue with randomly.
No welcome to the hotel just told room number and pointed in direction.
The room itself was rough and ready. The bed was nice but other than that the furniture was beat up, TV only working on 2 channels, mini fridge switched off as it wasn’t actually working, 5 lights not working in the room and bathroom. Toilet kept running after each flush. No bathrobes as advertised. There isn’t two restaurants like it makes out online. There’s a pub and a tea room (which wasn’t open for the 3 days we were there) both of which are not part of the hotel at all.
They didn’t bring robes when we asked for them they just said they would bring some but never did.

Also, for anyone hoping to get room service, you won’t get it as it turns out they don’t actually do room service, again, advertised wrong. You know you’re failing as a hotel when me and several guests were ordering in food from other food outlets. There isn’t much around this hotel either, if you’re looking for shops/nightlife/anything, then don’t stay in this area.

It was a hotel with a lot of potential but clearly the people running it just don’t care. I’m far from a snob, I’m happy with the simple things, but this, this was a hotel that just doesn’t care for its guests. When asked how my stay was, I informed reception it wasn’t good at all. The receptionist simply said sorry about that and have a good day.

Trust me, don’t book this hotel, it’s awful!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barbican Rooms, Owner at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Dear Eddi, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We'll certainly take note of your comments to further enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. Best regards, Emanuel Alves Night Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise W wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked into The Barbican room for one night 1st November priced £271 via booking.com. I was given room in The brewery opposite No reason given. Shown to room 230. Delapidated furniture stained and damaged in places. Curtains poorly fitted, cobwebs and dust. No mini bar. Plug plunger in basin not working so couldn't fill sink. Hardly a superior room that I booked. Phoned reception about plug and was looked at by consiege who said he would contact maintainance. Nothing happened. Returned late evening plug not fixed. Phoned again and was moved to room 142. Fridge not working and just delapidated. Very very poor
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barbican Rooms, Owner at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Responded 24 Nov 2022
Dear Review. Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies about your stay being less than perfect. It would be a pleasure for me to personally assist you with choosing a suitable room for your needs on your next visit for a much better experience. Kind Regards Emanuel Alves
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C Grande wrote a review Nov 2023
Oslo, Norway47 contributions18 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited for business, and was immensely disappointed by the stay. You have to cross the road to another building for check-in, only to be greeted by a front desk with 5(!) totally uninterested people. It seriously felt like they were annoyed by getting interrupted by a guest (all 5 of them!).

At the Barbican Room-building, there is a "security guard" at the front desk, whom I found sleeping at two occurrences. The rooms themselves smells vaguely of mold, and were also fitted with a completely empty kitchen (why?). There was a door leading to a backyard, and the door was not possible to lock completely. Didn't really feel safe.

The breakfast is served in a parody of a buffet, after being locked in by the unfriendly staff in another building. Given the price point, the area and the expectations I had before staying, this was a complete letdown and neither me nor any of my colleagues were happy with the stay. Plenty of better alternatives in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room in the first floor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emanuel Alves, Owner at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Responded 22 Nov 2023
Dear Reviewer, I'm truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience during your business stay. Your feedback is concerning, and I appreciate you sharing the details of your concerns. The issues you've mentioned, from the uninterested front desk experience, the security guard situation, the mold smell in the rooms, the empty kitchen, and the safety concerns with the door, are certainly not reflective of the standard of service we aim to provide. I assure you that your comments will be shared with the relevant teams for immediate attention and improvement. We take your feedback seriously, and we want to address these issues to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. If there's anything else you'd like to share or discuss further, please feel free to reach out. We value your input and want to make things right. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Warm regards, Emanuel Alves Night Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Conrad F wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible service. No-one at reception knew where my room 019 was, even the Concierge literally got lost trying to find it! Took 20 minutes from arriving at check-in to get into my room due to various ridiculous fumbles. How can a hotel be safe in emergencies if staff don't know its layout? My room had coffee making equipment, but they'd forgotten the kettle - cold coffee anyone?! Utterly useless for such an expensive hotel. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barbican Rooms, Owner at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Dear Conrad, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We'll certainly take note of your comments to further enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. Best regards, Emanuel Alves Night Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from The Barbican Rooms
London, United Kingdom
Dear Thanh, Unfortunately we cannot check in a guest who is a minor without adult supervision. Best regards, Max, Night Manager.
Answer from Jackie W
London, United Kingdom90 contributions66 helpful votes
cant recalled exactly but I think yes
Danni R asked a question Sept 2018
Tamworth, United Kingdom103 contributions30 helpful votes
Is there someone to store your luggage when you check out?
Answer from Remus O
London, United Kingdom
Dear Danni, Thank you for your recent question. We do have a Concierge team that will be able to assist you with your bags from the minute you arrive at the hotel. We will be able to store your bags for the day of your departure and you may even leave the bags in your room for us to collect. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Remus Obertelli Hotel Manager
Kelsey asked a question Jan 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Is there any parking facilities available here?
Answer from Remus O
London, United Kingdom
Dear Kelsey, Thank you for your question. We do not have parking on site, however there is Barbican Car Park on the same road. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Regards, Remus Obertelli Hotel Manager
GGG1970 wrote a tip May 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom22 contributions38 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid at all costs - no interest in solving issues caused by their own ineptitude"
Read full review
C Grande wrote a tip Nov 2023
Oslo, Norway47 contributions18 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you don't get a room in the first floor. "
Read full review
Bowsa wrote a tip Oct 2023
United Kingdom130 contributions50 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure your booking for the right place"
Read full review
Andy wrote a tip Aug 2023
Brighton, United Kingdom212 contributions134 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check in and check out is at the Montcalm at the Brewery over the road."
Read full review
Tour823553 wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not worth the money"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
£149 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
london city suites by montcalm hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonIslington / City of London
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MONTCALM BREWERY TOWNHOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to Montcalm Brewery Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include Enigma Quests (0.3 miles), HiddenCity (0.3 miles), and Flight Club (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Montcalm Brewery Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include The India 2 - Best of the City, Bengal Tiger, and Altonapoli Italian Restaurant And Bar.
Is Montcalm Brewery Townhouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of London.
Are any cleaning services offered at Montcalm Brewery Townhouse?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Montcalm Brewery Townhouse offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Montcalm Brewery Townhouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (2.1 miles), Tower of London (1.1 miles), and Churchill War Rooms (2.1 miles).
Is Montcalm Brewery Townhouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Montcalm Brewery Townhouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire