We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ampersand Hotel

Save
Share
10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travelocity
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Official Site
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1119)
360
Panoramas (15)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#72 of 1,200 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
176Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
31Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
4548Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,475
  • 839
  • 152
  • 50
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kathrynmason86 wrote a review 10 Jan
Leeds, United Kingdom1 contribution
We've stayed in the suites before and loved them. But this time only 2 dinner plates, 1 small plate and no bowls. No washing up liquid to reuse them and no bin liner to dispose of food - it was not equipped to use the kitchen as a kitchen. This needs to improve! We requested more plates and bowls and only received 1 bowl. We discovered fridges were broken the next morning when they had defrosted all over our food - this was fixed as soon as we made the complaint. As we stayed Friday-Monday we didn't get much sleep on Friday or Saturday night due to the noise from the hight street until around 3am and also the room was too hot despite the air con being on the lowest setting and it was December. Room was very comfortable and spacious, staff were very helpful and Friendly and service for afternoon tea was lovely. We will stay again knowing the high standard the hotel usually is, but they need to improve the use of the suite!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Niels Frostrup, Other at The Ampersand Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Kathy, Thank you for taking time out to review your suite experience with us. I'm pleased to hear that you and the family had a good stay and was looked after well by the team. I have shared your feedback about the Suite with our Head Housekeeper and she joins me in extending our sincerest apologies. We will also review your comments about the kitchen set up with the aim to improve the experience for any future guests. Hopefully we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you and the family visit South Kensington. Warm regards, Niels & the Ampersand Team
Read more
quietlife wrote a review 9 Jan
liverpool90 contributions91 helpful votes
Stayed here recently to meet up with family for a birthday celebration. Staff were very helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed the 'science' afternoon tea. Nice large bedroom which was spotless and excellent provision of quality toiletries etc. We would definitely stay at the Ampersand again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Niels Frostrup, Other at The Ampersand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the kind review and recommendation. It's a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyed birthday stay and that the Science afternoon tea to your liking too. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you visit the Ampersand hotel. Warm regards, Niels & the Ampersand Team
Read more
Nicolajanerowlesart wrote a review 6 Jan
Liskeard, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
I don't want to go through how disappointed we've been as ive contacted the hotel . However in short , the hotel is a great location , we asked for a twin room , we got a double bed frame with two single mattresses . room tiny , dark and way too hot , and this is in dec . toilet would not be suitable for larger person due to being squashed against a wall . no coffee machine , just an old cafetière with its filter failing so you got grains all in the cup . didn't eat in the hotel at all due to the room experience . This was a surprise trip for my daughter (age 13) Christmas present , so I could not complain whilst there as this would have made the experience even worse. the positive of this hotel is the location , staff were friendly . would we book again ...... I think I would be way to concerned about the rooms .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Niels Frostrup, Other at The Ampersand Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Nicola, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience with us. we are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us and found our Twin rooms too small. I do wish you would have found a way to bring this to our attention while at the hotel so that we had an opportunity to rectify this. Please allow me this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies for this. I have also been in contact privately and I truly hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion to show you and your daughter a true Ampersand experience. With kind regards, Niels & the Ampersand Team
Read more
Twin Stars wrote a review 4 Jan
London, United Kingdom136 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
This hotel never disappoints. We are repeaters guests. The location is amazing next to the museums and South Ken tube. Amenities and room cleaned at super standard. Staff always so polite and attentive. We will be back! Fully recommend it. Thank you Neil and team.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Niels Frostrup, Other at The Ampersand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Roi, It's always a pleasure having you with us and thank you for the kind comments about your stay. We hope to welcome you back in South Kensington again soon. Warm regards, Niels & the Ampersand Team
Read more
JAA73 wrote a review 3 Jan
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This was our second stay at the Ampersand. We stayed over the New Year's Eve period and our stay was just perfect. Prior to our stay I had been in communication with Niels and from our first contact to leaving he was exceptional and went above and beyond. We received a room upgrade to a stunning fifth floor suite and I must say this suite was very comfortable indeed. We enjoyed breakfast for the two mornings in Apero and again the food and service were exceptional. Front desk staff were again 5 star, extremely polite and helpful. I cannot rate the Ampersand highly enough, if you are looking for a perfect hotel in London then this is the one for you. 2 minutes walk from Natural History Museum and a short walk to London's finest shops. Lastly, the ping pong table was a huge hit with our daughter. This hotel really is hard to beat.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Niels Frostrup, Other at The Ampersand Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Justine, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience with us. It's a pleasure to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed both the hotel and the Apero restaurant. We look forward to your next visit and wish you all a Happy New year. Warm regards, Niels & the Ampersand Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$264 - US$356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonSouth Kensington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Ampersand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Ampersand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include V&A - Victoria and Albert Museum (0.2 miles), Natural History Museum (0.1 miles), and South Kensington (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ampersand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Ampersand Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Ampersand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Ampersand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include CERU, Pizzetta Pizza, and Town House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ampersand Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Ampersand Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Ampersand Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Ampersand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Ampersand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Ampersand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ampersand Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.1 miles), Tower of London (4.4 miles), and Houses of Parliament (2.2 miles).