We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Home London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Home London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: Friendly, hard working staff, good location. light and charging facilities at bed, free breakfast with crepe maker! Cons: no alcohol allowed (even though they have lost their alcohol sale licence), very very cramped, no space at all, have to pay for bag storage, no friends allowed, small common room space

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mat123452015
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and a few friends stayed at the Home Hostel for a weekend. Checking in was straight forward, although you have to pay an additional fee for a locker (per day), which is very uncommon in hostel. In addition, the lockers are situated outside of the rooms. The hostel is quite cramped. We stayed in a 9 bed mixed dorm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Jonkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 14 September 2016

If you suffer from the smallest case of claustrophobia, this is not the place for you. Everything is small and cramed together. A small female only room hade three beds on top of each other and nearly no place for your things. One toilet was so small you neraly had to climb on top of the toilet seat to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillycat35
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The building can be a little cosy at times, but we are always looking for ways to make improvements and ensure the experience is as comfortable and enjoyable for guests as possible. We hope to see you again next time you visit London.

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

I really liked this hostel. It had a lot of nice facilities including boardgames, movies, tv, good kitchen facilities and cool vibe. It was also pretty cheap considering the location. It was not the cleaniest hostel or the largest one, but that's why I liked it. You can enjoy the different types of people who are all nice there. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jasper K
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Where do I begin... First off, the cat Charlie is probably the best thing about the place. And. Karl who works on reception. Very helpful, well spoken, polite and tentative. He works extremely hard and definitely deserves a pay rise in my opionion. Also I'd like to praise the cleaners who did an amazing job and were always polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria5012
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear you did not have the best stay here. We try our best to ensure guests are responsible and follow the rules and clean up their own dishes, but this can be difficult to monitor. Otherwise, we do our best to make the building...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I chose a 9 bed female only bedroom. Pros: Location, Tesco Metro and train station nearby. Each bed has a socket and light. Privacy blinds. There was a well lit mirror and wall-fan in our room. Shower was adequate. Small but functional. It was cleaned often. Even though there were only 3 showers on my 1st floor, I never had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GandyStreet
HomeLdN, Guest Relations Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving us a review! We're glad to see you enjoyed the facilities in our hostel. Our cleaners work very hard to keep this place in tip top shape so thank you for acknowledging there efforts As our location is central there is always a chance traffic can be loud, sorry for any inconveniance this may have caused....

Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Reviewed 20 June 2016

The worst hostel I've ever been. It's a freaking bunker, smelly and dirty. And it's not even the worst part! You have to pay for everything! What kind of hostel, community, family feeling is that?? I brought my own locker, but no! I had to pay if I wanted my belongings safe! "But its ok, you can put it in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina C
Nick W, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hi there, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. We have free luggage storage during your stay but after check out it costs £2 per bag as we are limited by space in our storage room. We believe that this is still a fairly good deal seeing as it costs £9 to...

Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

I went with 2 off my friend,,,due to maybe miss-communication thought online booking we end up in mix bunker.we actually wanted a female room, but we make do wit the situation as there now available female room on tat day due to weekend, the receptionist are superbly helpful and friendly with charley the cat perking up the mood for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ana k
journeyskingscross, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We know that the rooms can feel a little cosy at times but in order to keep our prices so low (especially considering our fantastic location) we have to do the best we can with the space we have. We are glad that we could help you out on...

Aveiro, Portugal
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We booked 2 beds in a 17 bed dormitory and we were put in a 9 bed dormitory. Everything awesome, so far. But when I saw that we were actually in the dungeon, I was quite disappointed. It was a tiny little room, with 3 towers of 3 beds each, in a room with some kind of window in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita O
journeyskingscross, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hi there! thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We know the rooms can feel quite cosy at times but in order to keep out prices so low (especially considering our fantastic location) we have to do the best we can with the space we...

rehoboth, delaware
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

First of all the location is perfect. King cross 5 minute walk away, grocery store 3 minutes, bars and restaurants on same road, bus stop as well. Reception was very nice and polite. WiFi was good for the most part, I lost connection occasionally in evenings. Bed was decent and I had no complaints about the bottom bunk of 3....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delaroma
journeyskingscross, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

hi there1 thanks so much for leaving such a nice review. Hopefully we will see you next time you visit London!

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#736 of 1,078 in London
391 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#552 of 1,078 in London
851 reviews
Keystone House
#372 of 791 in London
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#50 of 791 in London
556 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#71 of 791 in London
1,845 reviews
Central Station
#316 of 556 in London
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish backpacker’s accommodation located 1 minute from Kings Cross and a half an hour’s walk along the beautiful Regent’s canal to Camden’s famous market, bars and nightclubs Our vibrant social areas are ideal for meeting like-minded travellers and the occasional jam session. The kitchen’s well equipped with FREE tea and coffee and the lounge is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV and a great library of books and DVDs all free of charge. Dorm beds each with their own power, light, set of curtains and lockers are available for security. For more comfort and intimacy, our private double or twin rooms have a large, comfy double bed, desk, tea and coffee set, flat screen TV, DVD player and safe. FREE high speed WiFi is provided throughout the whole building as well as a great FREE breakfast which includes all you can eat pancakes. King’s Cross Station is 1 minute away providing fast connections around London and its airports and Eurostar Service.The British museum is a 20-minute walk away and Oxford Street is just 10 minutes by tube. Home London requires valid ID for all guests; you will be asked to provide this on arrival. Cancellation policy: Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Check In: New arrivals can check into their rooms after 2pm each day. Guests may arrive earlier and leave their luggage in our free luggage storage. You do not have to be a member of any organization to stay at Home London, however, we do require that some form of valid photo identification is presented upon check in, preferably a Passport, I.D. card or driving license. We will require a £10 cash deposit on arrival for the keycard, towel and locker hire. Check Out: Check out is at 10am and guests must hand all security cards, locker keys back to reception. Age restrictions: The property only accepts guests aged 18 years and older. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old travelling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests. Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining balance will be charged 2 weeks before arrival and will be non-refundable in case of cancellation or a no-show. A security deposit of £250 (cash/card) is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. £10 min charge for card payments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Home London

Address: 54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England (Formerly Journeys Kings Cross Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: £18 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home London 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Home London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journeys London King`s Cross Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Home London staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Home London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for top bunk and a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles GandyStreet, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Its a smelly bunker.”
 of 5 bubbles carolinacO2063RY, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“For a better nights sleep I would request a room on the upper floors.Although the downstairs bathrooms are more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles cariman2016, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go to other hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles noeliao656, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Take the top bunk. Middle bunk - Problem in climbing. Bottom bunk - You will be disturbed by other room mates walking around.”
 of 5 bubbles PannuTraveller, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay