We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 326: English reviews
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

good location for exploring London on foot or by bus and tube. we had an older style room bit shabby but was kept clean. the staff here are probably the friendliest we have ever met in all the travelodges we have stayed especially raj and the breakfast chef.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda793
devon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here when arriving for new years eve fireworks, not easy to find but room very comfortable, staff were extremely helpful and friendly, lovely cooked breakfast, now we know where it is would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylviacostigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on NYE. Check in was quick and easy. We were directed to our room (#4) on the ground floor and advised to head down the alley. I thought the receptionist had mis-spoken but we followed the directions and did in fact find ourselves in an alley (see pictures). I've never been to a hotel that requires you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nezza6716
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the initial issue you experienced in locating your original room. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see...

Stafford
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shower leaked,air con and safe were marked as ' not working' with laminated printed labels, like this was permanent. Room noisy with poor external sound deadening. Staff were fine, but this is a pretty tired effort.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewmK3756KC
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not exceptional and we do apologise for this. Your feedback is very important to us as it is the starting point we use to act on improvements and we will be making our hotel manager aware. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We never had any sleep, as it is like sleeping on the train track itself. the train noise is unbelievable and there is no sound proofing. We may as well not bothered going to bed, because we were late in and the trains started before 6am.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for...

Stoke On Trent
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms in need of proper heating - ours had a portable heater provided. There was lots of road noise to be heard in the room. Also could smell cigarette smoke from street below. Other guests can be quite rowdy. No offer of a quiet room at this Travelodge. On the plus side its well situated for visiting the Spitalfields &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariecw70
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to learn that external noise disturbed your stay with us. However, we're pleased you found our hotel location well situated for access to the surrounding areas. Feedback such as yours is invaluable and we will ensure the hotel receives a copy of your comments. We do hope you choose to visit Travelodge again...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely weekend in London staying at the Travelodge at Aldgate East. Very friendly staff and rooms were nice and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice, everything was cooked well and nice and hot.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonipear
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, such as the service from our staff and the breakfast you had in our bar cafe. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests and we are thrilled that we succeeded...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Booked this hotel as it is less than 5min walk to the wonderful Wilton's Music Hall. Comfortable hotel, very large family room. Bar service slow, staff seemed disinterested & rude. Ordered a snack from the night menu, BLT baguette. Took back to room. The bread was hard & stale, if I hadn't already changed into nightwear I would have returned...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJ29forever
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I was expecting a freezing room due to cold snap but staff had thoughtfully put an extra heater in my room! Nice! The only thing wrong is the nasty high volume on the bbc tv news channel in public areas. Please for our sanity turn the bloody thing down! At least put up a notice saying we can ask staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion K
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

after paying £166 (company booking, rate that night was £219) i endured a sleepless night as all the rooms on the other side of the hotel were taken. frankly they should close this section, as it is not livable, sleepable and given me a headache. i am here on business and the day does not bode well. writing the review...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nagindth
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're sorry to learn of your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. Please could we ask that you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
City of London
Travelodge London Central Bank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Whitechapel

Neighbourhood Profile
Whitechapel
Whether you're here for its dynamic street life, world class galleries or famed curry houses, you're bound to be wowed by the uniquely cosmopolitan flavor of Whitechapel. Long gone are the days when Jack the Ripper stalked its streets. And despite his mysterious legacy bringing throngs of curiosity driven tour groups to its back alleys and otherwise serene garden squares, these days you're more likely to catch a cutting edge fashionista scurrying through its age old lanes than criminals of any sort.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Address: 6-13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Price Range: £58 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Central Aldgate East 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge London Central Aldgate East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel London
Comfort Hotel Tower London
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge London Central Aldgate East staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge London Central Aldgate East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one on side away from railway line”
 of 5 bubbles marionk41, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“dont come, if you had to choose a room on the road side (more like a quiet alley)”
 of 5 bubbles nagindth, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Facing onto the street away from the Tube station”
 of 5 bubbles tommymackmackin, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the back of the hotel where you may be overlooking the railway lines, unless trains interest you.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisAusti, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the street, not the railroad tracks.”
 of 5 bubbles Hiphoppanonymous, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay