We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pickwick Hall

Visit hotel website
Traveller (41)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (122)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
262Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
59Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighbourhood
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
166Reviews
200Photos
12Q+A
17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 69
  • 25
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is the second time I have stayed in Pickwick Hall. It is a very charming, cozy and quiet place in the heart of London. If you're looking for place that feels like home instead of a regular hotel or hostel, Pickwick Hall is the place. Patrick and the staff were very friendly
Read more
Response from Patrick H, Owner at Pickwick Hall
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you. We want our guests to feel that they are in a place where they enjoy staying, more than a convenient place of accommodation. We enjoy meeting and talking to our guests and their stories are always of interest to us.
Read more
Stayed here for 2 nights. Positives excellent location, price reasonable, bedding clean and staff seem friendly. However the main reason for 1 star review is that the place is in a terrible state; dated carpet not fixed to floor properly, old and odd furniture, lock on my room
Read more
Response from Patrick H, Owner at Pickwick Hall
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I wish that you had spoken to me before you left because I would like more information about some of your points. Yes, much of the furniture is old; I think it is in keeping with the architecture of this area and this building, which is 217 years old and most of our guests report agreement. I am looking at changing some of the furniture for practical reasons, principally to reduce the size of wardrobes and so create more space in rooms. Some rooms have buit-in wardrobes. Most bedrooms have carpets that were professionally laid about 3 years ago; two bedrooms had new and professionally-laid carpets 2 months ago. There are some areas of heavy use in the front hall and sitting room where the carpet is very worn and these carpets will be replaced soon. Part of a join in the sitting room carpet has been opened by movement of a chair; this will be re-sewn. Yes, we found after your departure that the lock on you bedroom door was damaged. This was repaired the same day and is fully secure. Locks on all other bedroom doors were inspected and tested on the same day and all were found to be secure. I have tested the taps in the wash basins in your bedroom and the toilets on the same floor and all worked correctly. Each wash basin has two taps: a hot-water tap and a cold-water tap, not mixer taps. I hope that my comments help and regret that we did not speak at the time to fully understand your points.
Read more
Great location, 10min walk from Underground, short walking distance to Russell Square park, British Museum and bars/restaurants. Great to have breakfast included (cereals/toast/tea + coffee). Hostel has lovely vibes with shared dining room, sitting room with lots of sofas and
Read more
Response from Patrick H, Owner at Pickwick Hall
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for the detail information in your review. It is helpful for us to know what is appreciated.
Read more
Excellent hostel friendly quiet good facilities and easy to help yourself breakfast. My only concern really was that I would prefer a locker or equivalent in the room because I wanted to bring some valuable clothes and shoes with me but felt uncomfortable doing so when I would
Read more
If you are looking for an affordable accommodation in excellent location in London then Pickwick Hall is perfect for you. The hostel is located at central London, 20 minutes walking from SOHO area and Oxford Street. Perfect if you want to go shopping and check out London night
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPickwick Hall
The Quad Ensuite at the Pickwick Hall
Kitchen
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPickwick Hall
The Quad Ensuite at the Pickwick Hall
Front door
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPickwick Hall
The Twin with Shared Bathroom at the Pickwick Hall
PreviousNext
12345624
Dear Naomi, Thank you for your inquiry. Guests are given keys to the front door as well as to their rooms when they check-in. You would then be able to return here at any time of the night. Kind regards, Patrick Patrick Hancock Pickwick Hall
2 votes
Thank you for your inquiry. We are about 20 minutes journey from the O2 in Kentish Town by bus and Underground
0 votes
We have 4 adults + 1 3yr-old toddler, can we book the 4br Ensuite room ?
I think this is a question for Pickwick Hall and not previous guests. :-)
0 votes
Do u have your own bathroom & loo ?? Are u near Leicester Sq please ??
In my room, I had a sink and a fridge and micro,, shared toilet and shower.
0 votes
Show all answers
Its about 45 min tube ride from heathrow. But you don't have to transfer at all, you get off at Holborn for pickwick hall.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Habitaciones familiares en el subsuelo (pedir con antelación la que mira a la calle para poder tener ventanales iluminados)"
"I was lucky on the second floor and had my huge window open all night & loved it."
"If stairs are a problem, ask for a room on a lower floor as there is no lift."
"The three bed room has fridge and microwave"
"Private rooms with shared bathroom are absolutely great value - facilities always clean and not too busy."
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$45 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pickwick hall londonpickwick hall hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing