We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Normandie Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Normandie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Start your review of Normandie Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a weekend break with my mom. Considering the cheap rate I did not expect luxury and was happy with the accommodation. The one thing that really left a bad taste in my mouth was the gentleman on reception on Saturday at 2pm, he was so abrasive and sarcastic and constantly standing outside smoking, really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theventhams
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I apologise for the bad experience you had. I don't know which date you are referring to and you did not mention the man's name so I am not able to deal with the problem.

Reviewed 16 February 2017

The hotel was really dirty and had old broken furniture, windows were covered in mold, couldn't use the shower properly had broken toilet seat, broken tiles on the floor of bathroom which is dangerous, noisy rooms felt like people above me would have fallen on me when they were walking. Every morning could smell the frying food in the room,poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AccordEUROR
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights from 21st to 23rd of December on a pre Christmas break on b&b basis, it was a cheap hotel for a reason, it was a dump! bedside cabinet covered in cigarette burns, handles missing from the drawers, piece of plywood screwed to the wall to act as the headboard above the bed, if you could...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cloelanber
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you felt so badly about the hotel. If you had talked to me while you were here I could have rectified the situation.

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this little b&b as we needed something local to Winter Wonderland. We booked relatively far in advance so around £55 for the room. This is very cheap for London. We had en suite double. The room was more than fine for the price, although I probably wouldn't want to stay in there for a long period of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sues86
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and I am glad that you were happy with the hotel. I look forward to seeing you again if the opportunity arises.

Goes, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 December 2016

The hotel is well located (walking distance from the Marble Arch station) where buses from Luthon airport stop. It's only a few minutes away from the Paddington metro station. Public transport in London is VERY expensive, therefore, it's advisable to get an Oyster card for 3 days for example at the costs of 25 pounds. You can easily top it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayolino
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Just wanted a B&B for a night and at £56, this appeared a good deal. The price was for a double with private ensuite and included a breakfast; so excellent advertised price. However I found the room to be in poor condition, very basic and no kettle/tea/coffee facility. Ensuite was shabby with black mould in all the white sealant. Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nautibuoy2015
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your review. I am sorry you felt the room was in a poor condition. Tea and coffee making facilities are only available on request as advertised. The full English breakfast is always freshly cooked with fresh ingredients which most people enjoy.

Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Rude staff. Very dirty. Room was disgusting and was stinking of cigarette smoke. Requested a ground floor room as a disabled guest, was given furthest away room on second floor. Staff unwilling to help.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am surprised that you thought my staff were rude as most people would disagree with you. We do not have any record of your requesting disabled access but could not relocate you as the rooms on the ground floor were already occupied.

Reviewed 19 October 2016

I made the booking for my two senior managers traveling from USA HQ. After check-in on Monday 17th October 2016, the non-smoking room was filled with cigarettes smell. The faucet is dripping, the bathroom fan is clunky and noisy, and can't turn off. It was very cold without proper heating. Overall the room is very old, small and yucky. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were so unhappy with the hotel. I was on holiday at that time and I am disappointed that you felt my staff could not help you. Unfortunately the boiler broke on the day your managers arrived but we had electric heaters in the rooms and since it was not very cold at the time they were...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Stayed here for one night, it is pretty basic but location is great. Walking distance from Paddington Station and a quick walk to nearest tube station, and then only a couple of stops to central London and all the attractions. stayed in a twin room on the second floor. Unfortunately I was kept awake with noise from the street and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank little4pink
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your visit in London. Unfortunately, we cannot control the noise on the street. It is a good idea to ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper. I hope to see you again. Kind Regards:

Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

The Normandie hotel is a clean comfortable hotel, no real down side but the steep staircase if you are on the top floor. The staff are friendly and very happy to help, was given tube and London maps on arrival. Will stay here again! Good English Breakfast too!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LordChunky
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#748 of 1,089 in London
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#862 of 1,089 in London
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#675 of 1,089 in London
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#883 of 1,089 in London
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#477 of 1,089 in London
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#621 of 1,089 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Normandie Hotel

Address: 96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandie Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Normandie Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Marquette, Michigan

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Normandie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms 3 & 4 (ground floor). They are by the stairs door going down to the basement dinning room .. lot of noise from 7am.”
 of 5 bubbles nautibuoy2015, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“no lift so if you are not able to manage many stairs ask for a room on lower floors”
 of 5 bubbles little4pink, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms effected by road noise due to single glazing to windows”
 of 5 bubbles brianjwpalacio, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“No room in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles mtwtraveler, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles kaznal, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5