Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge

169 Tower Bridge Rd Tanner St & Tower Bridge, London SE1 3JB England
Traveller (259)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (200)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#59 of 474 apartments in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

169 Tower Bridge Rd Tanner St & Tower Bridge, London SE1 3JB England
596Reviews18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 221
  • 131
  • 61
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
simone j wrote a review Jan 2015
Liverpool, United Kingdom69 contributions80 helpful votes
Stayed here for two nights in December.

Yes, apartments are hard to find if you do not research the location/directions before hand, but if you have, as I did, you will have no problems finding the place!

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, which was very clean, had one en suite and another separate bathroom, great views of the shard and the london eye.
Our block had no lift so would not recommend for the elderly or disabled.

Free wi if worked well, we had no problems at all, the only reason I rate these apartments as average is the check in procedure, it really doesn't give a good first Impression and leaves a lot to be desired!

The hotel reception was also an office, and at one point there were about 15 guests in a really small space trying to manoeuvre around each other, with luggage to check in and it was a bit of a nightmare. There were people in the same room working in an office but the whole room was really small, god knows how they work in there without being constantly disturbed and distracted.
Also I emailed them a few days prior to see if we could possibly check in an hour earlier or store our luggage, we were able to store our luggage which was fine, so we went away came back around half 3 and I could see they were struggling to find rooms for people, they changed our room number twice then said someone would be in to do maintenance work, then said no they won't. The man who was checking in next to me was told he would have to wait half an hour as we had took the only two bed apt available at that time and the others were being cleaned!!! Just thought the check in experience completely let this apartment down! I have stayed in other apartments in london which I prefer but if this was a lot cheaper, I would stay again!

Hopefully this procedure will improve as everything else was fine!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jingolina wrote a review May 2015
45 contributions68 helpful votes
Maltings is located in a fairly central part of London but is still quite a walk from London Bridge underground station. There are buses and cabs though that connect you faster if necessary. Across the road is the fabulous Tower Bridge and a great walk along the Thames. The apartment itself... We were shown to our first apartment and to be truthful it was grubby and dated. As we were staying for 4 nights, we complained to reception and they were very helpful and showed us another apartment which was more modern and clean. The lounge area was spacious enough, bedrooms were rather cramped though. There are adequate amenities, although wifi was a bit restrictive, although reception sorted out the access soonest. It was safe enough to leave our suitcases post check-out so that we could traverse London before our departure.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you aren't happy with apartment, ask for another!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JynxieJynxie wrote a review Feb 2012
Merseyside20 contributions26 helpful votes
on a girly trip for 2 nights (14 in party) ages 18 -70, some rooms small but one very spaciou so that was the 'meeting place'. Very well equipped, iron, ironing board, washing machine & dish washer! very clean, all linen included. 5 mins from Tower Bridge where you can pick up tour bus, Weatherspoons nearby for cheap food/drink. 24 hour Costcutter supermarket over road. Staff helpful & polite. Well worth it! Would stay here again & will recommend to friends.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Try & get a studio with living area too - rooms ending in 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt061092 wrote a review Apr 2012
3 contributions10 helpful votes
I stayed in these apartments for a week. I admit the first couple of days were okay, but then the rest of the week was probably one of the worst experiences of my life, along with definitely the worst customer service I have ever experienced in my life.

I arrived back to my flat one evening to find my laptop was missing. I thought perhaps I had misplaced it at first as there was no sign of a break in, and security confirmed my door was locked.

I searched my room from top to bottom before going to reception. At reception I was told of the important of not wasting police time so I asked for a member of security to search the apartment as well, which he did. He too did not find my laptop.

It is at this point I called the police.

I returned to my apartment to find Eva (the manageress) in the apartment room with a security guard. My flat mate challenged her for Identification which she couldn't provide, the best she gave in the end was a business card.

Eva proceeded to ask me a lot of intense questions, and she made it very clear she didn't believe me, referring to it on several occasions as the 'Alleged theft' and saying she wont believe it until the police say so. When I asked her to please ask her staff if any of them know who stole the laptop then to please let me know, to which she told me to 'not insult her staff'. She was very hostile and made an already stressful event worst.

Eva said she would move us rooms for 'our safety'. However when the police came the next day she had had the room cleaned and a new tenant in there! This meant forensics could not take any finger prints in the room.

The rest of the stay I emailed Eva a couple of times and got no response. After returning home I tried to get the apartments to acknowledge the theft, and cover the cost. They absolutely refused to pay anything, stating it was not their responsibility.

I would not ask my worst enemy to spend a night here after the experience I had. Stay in the premier inn next door.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James S, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Responded 19 Apr 2012
Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. I was sincerely saddened and surprised to read your feedback on your stay with us at Think and would like to take this opportunity to comment. Firstly this is currently an ongoing investigation and we are communicating with your booking agent and your employer with regard to this situation. Therefore, your comment “after returning home I tried to get the apartments to acknowledge the theft and cover the costs. They absolutely refused to pay anything stating it was not their responsibility” is completely inaccurate as we have not fully concluded our investigations. I also note you have received emails from Eva’s Deputy in her brief absence from the business. We would also like to add that we encourage any such instance like this to be reported to the police following a thorough search of the apartment, as a second pair of eyes to double check the apartment may find that the item has only been misplaced. If the item still cannot be found then of course we welcome the guest to contact the police as we also want to get to the bottom of the investigation and establish what happened for the benefit of our guest and for our own knowledge. A crime reference number is also required for insurance purposes which are issued by the police. Please note it was at the request of the colleague sharing the second bedroom in your apartment that instigated the move to a new apartment agreeing that you both would prefer this. When our Hotel Manager spoke with the police at no point was she asked to keep the apartment vacant and not serviced as this was not believed necessary by them. Our apartments are surveyed with CCTV along with being monitored by Security and Duty Managers. The safety and security of our guests is of upmost importance to us. I would like to reiterate that it is not the case that we have refused or avoided responsibility at any point. During this investigation we have done everything within our power to find out what happened. We do abide by the laws provided by the Hotel Proprietors Act and we do acknowledge this in the Compendiums made available to every guest in every apartment. We look forward to hearing the findings of the police investigation and in the meantime will continue our communication with your booking agent and employer. Kind regards, Jim Souter Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carl_Sandom wrote a review Mar 2012
Sherborne, United Kingdom19 contributions31 helpful votes
The rooms look nothing like the website. On arrival I was greeted by a long queue of people at reception some of whom were drinking cider from cans.After a wait of 15 minutes I was eventually checked in by a friendly young lady and allocated a room in the main block near to reception. Unfortunately, the room was dirty (everthing was sticky) and smelly (mouldy fridge and bathroom) and the furnishings were very worn and dirty looking. The matress on the bed has seen better days and the bed creaked badly. The room was overlooked on two sides and resembled a prison cell. I went back to reception immediately and said I wasn't going to stay in that room. Reception were pleasant and allocated me a different room in Block 52 a couple of minutes walk away. I entered the block and had to walk past a group of 4 scruffy and rough looking men who eyed me up while smoking cigarettes in the hallway. The second room I was allocated was in a similar state to the first one . I didn't bother to unpack and left the hotel straight away after posting the key into the box outside.

Over many years of travel I've stayed in all sorts of places but this was the first time I've left one without staying. I didn't bother to ask for a refund as I'd prepaid £129 which is extortionate given the state of the rooms. I honestly wouldn't stay there if it was free.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't stay here!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James S, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Responded 9 Mar 2012
Hello and thank you for your review on tripadvisor. At Think Apartments we value all feedback from our guests and use the points made to invest in our product and employees, making improvements to our overall service. Without having direct contact with yourself I am unable to determine which apartment type/specific apartment you booked at our Tower Bridge property and the details of your concerns. I was surprised to read that you did not feel safe within the property. We ensure that all of our properties are manned with Security conducting patrols on a 24 hour basis as well as a 24 hour Reception. Think Apartments are based within a safe, popular area surrounded by high quality restaurants and tourist attractions including Zucca, Tower Bridge and the London Dungeons. In regards to your point about individuals smoking within the hallway, I was very concerned especially as all of our properties are non smoking. In the case that someone is breaking the law, I would encourage guests to contact any member of the team who can take immediate action. I would like for you to contact me directly so that we can discuss in detail your encounter with Think Apartments and restore your confidence in Think Apartments. I look forward to receiving your email. Kind regards, Jim Souter, Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason S wrote a review Apr 2016
Tadcaster, United Kingdom58 contributions54 helpful votes
What a great time we had. Great location for visiting central London with a young family. Apartment was amazing. So much better than if we had stayed in a hotel was like a home away from home. Defiantly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CathyShawn wrote a review Aug 2014
1 contribution5 helpful votes
Me and my boyfriend stayed in Tower Bridge Think Apartments. It was my birthday so we decided to stay for 3 nights from Friday 22nd to Monday 25th which totaled to a cost of £290. On our first night, the wifi did not work. We contacted reception and they were very unhelpful and told us to just call Swiss com ourselves which took us more than 20 minutes to sort out and cost us on our phone bill. The first night we heard a lot of weird noises like scurrying and scratching but just thought it was from outside or from another apartment. Saturday night at 11pm we were watching tv but heard noises again. All of a sudden we saw a rat run across the room!! Disgusting. We then contacted reception to get someone to help us move our stuff to a different apartment. All we received was sarcasm and no help. They did not even apologise for the inconvenience which is disgraceful. This left me very distressed as it has ruined my birthday weekend! We then get downstairs they exchange our nice room to a gritty room which looks like it's been used as someone's house in another building which meant we had to carry all of our stuff at 11pm in our pjs. The bedroom is right next to the main road which is noisy and the mattress was hard. I am furious with the poor customer service and will be complaining to get a refund. DO NOT GO HERE UNLESS YOU LIKE RODENTS
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kimberley P, On behalf of CEO at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Responded 29 Aug 2014
Hi Catharine, thank you for your Tripadvisor review from your recent stay with Think Apartments Tower Bridge and also for contacting our management team direct. We appreciate you taking the time to comment. As discussed in our email correspondence the internet connection is managed by a third party, which unfortunately does mean that when this is not working we require the assistance of the third party in rectifying the connection. Think Apartments also conducts preventative pest management regularly and since your stay have taken the necessary actions. We do sincerely apologise for the distress caused during your stay, especially since you were celebrating a special occasion for your Birthday. You should have received our email correspondence this morning confirming as per your request compensation for your stay. We hope you will return to Think Apartments again in the future for us to show you a true reflection of the Think Apartments Experience we pride ourselves on, Kind Regards Jim Souter
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MKcoupleUK wrote a review Mar 2012
Coalville, United Kingdom40 contributions83 helpful votes
I must start by saying this review is based on what we experienced, not what we paid for. On arrival we were allocated room 100 which is not what we paid for as we had booked a one bed studio, however we were allocated a two bed apartment at no extra charge which was a lovely gesture as we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary in London. Although we know this was not intentional for that reason and was out of the hotels control it still meant a lot to us

The room was lovely and spacious with all the amenities you could need. We had originally planned to go out for a meal but decided to stay in with dinner and wine, we felt that comfortable staying there. There is everything you need for your stay should you want to dine in or cook breakfast, the kitchen was very well equipped even having a dishwasher, microwave and fridge freezer

The apartments are a ten minute walk from the tube station and has plentiful bars, restaurants and convenient shops within walking distance. The service during check-in was efficient and whilst its not a criticism, the rooms we were allocated require a short walk which predominantly outside so if the weather is not so good you may have problems. We did experience noise from the neighboring apartments, loud music, people arriving back at their apartments quite late and you are aware of the passing trains however it did not affect you too much. We were not offered any help with our bags to our room but they did kindly look after them from 9:00am so we could sight see before we could check in and this was offered to us as we checked out that day

We had free WiFi in our rooms but had a few issues setting this up which the reception sorted out for us within the hour

Overall I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again (in hope we could stay in the same apartment of course)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James S, On behalf of Jim Souter at Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Responded 30 Mar 2012
Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Think and look forward to welcoming you back on your next journey to London. Regarding future stays, our 24 hour Reception can assist you throughout your stay with any requirements and appoint the correct department if necessary including dealing with unwanted noise from other guests. We do have Duty Managers 24 hours and on-site Security during the night who conduct general walks of the properties and will speak with the other guests should they be aware of the situation. When available a member of the Think team will happily assist you with your luggage so I would encourage to if not offered, always ask. Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jim Souter Chief Executive, Think Apartments
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil R wrote a review Jun 2016
Trowbridge, United Kingdom38 contributions31 helpful votes
I'd previously read some average reviews about The Maltings, but all I can say, is the Apartment 82A was clean, amazingly quiet, had every facility one could wish for, and the staff were always helpful and friendly.
If I was to nit pick, the only things that I would suggest the would improve the experience is that they service the room more frequently, once every 7 days is OK, but when I stayed in a similar set up in Leeds, it was every day. I think that was a little OTT, but at least every other day might have been better at The Maltings.
Other, ever so minor things, although there is a Co Op convenience store almost across the road and 2 Sainsbury locals nearby as well, it would have been a nice touch to have a tea towel and washing up liquid provided as part of the already high level of items as standard, but I am being really nit picking here.
One final piece of gratitude. I originally booked a weekend here about 4 weeks ago, but due to a serious fall, and subsequent 3 fractured ribs had to cancel, but when I phoned The Maltings to see if I could transfer my booking for a 4 day stay, they couldn't have been more helpful, even though they were not required, under the booking conditions to do so, and gladly moved my booking.
I stayed in one of the covered rooms, which retained a lot of character, was amazingly quiet given its location
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I stayed in one of the converted rooms. Large, clean and very quiet as not on the main road. 82a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kazpaz wrote a review Mar 2016
Bolton, United Kingdom148 contributions71 helpful votes
We stayed here as it is so central..a few minutes from tower Bridge. The apartment was beautiful...split level open plan kitchen, dining room and lounge with a bedroom above. Both bedrooms are en suite and have all you need. Really handy parking outside for £10 for 24 hrs. We'd definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Jim S
London, United Kingdom
Hi Our location is close to Tower Bridge and the start / finish can be accessed by a short tube journey
Show all answers
Rachel J asked a question Dec 2016
1 contribution
Are there hairdryers in the rooms?
Answer from Jim S
London, United Kingdom
Yes all our apartments have hair dryers
Show all answers
Answer from Jim S
London, United Kingdom
Unfortunately we are unable to store guests luggage but there are lockers you can use at London Bridge station
Show all answers
Paul wrote a tip Apr 2019
1 contribution
"Horrible, Bad Custumer Service, Rude,"
Read full review
Jewel C wrote a tip May 2018
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
"Choose a room with tower bridge view."
Read full review
BeckyNW wrote a tip Oct 2017
Lancashire, England141 contributions271 helpful votes
"Go for top floor as the floors are wooden so it's noisy when people walk around above you."
Read full review
Dunbarian wrote a tip Jun 2017
Dunbar, United Kingdom47 contributions30 helpful votes
"Try to get an apartment in one of the stand-alone blocks"
Read full review
Lesley0612 wrote a tip May 2017
Varese, Italy2 contributions2 helpful votes
"Rooms towards the back are quieter, but should you be allocated a room at the front the noise is very limited."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
think tower bridge hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonSouthwark
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GATE HOUSE APARTMENTS, TOWER BRIDGE - Apartment Reviews (London)