We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Portobello House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Portobello House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here based on decent reviews and what an utter joke and disappointment. First of all they charge 100% deposit when you book your room. During check in I was asked for an ID so they can scan and keep on file. I've stayed at tons of hotels on London and never ever had someone ask to scan my ID....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monkey168
limatad, Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have hundreds of happy guests from all over the world so It is a great shame you did not enjoy your stay, we would have liked to make you happy too. However, we cannot refund under threat of a bad review, we did our best. We have only 1 previous person enquire about our check in and...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This wonderful haunt in the heart of Ladbroke Grove is a real gem. An Italian / British family run this bistro bar. As a result , the food is simply magnificent , particularly the roasts on a winter Sunday . I love this place and so do most of the Grove's educational workforce . The food is excellent and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy T
somerset
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Chose this hotel for a one night stay for it's location,a short walk from Ladbroke Grove tube station.Strange entrance through a side door and up metal steps to the tiny reception,but once in, the receptionist was friendly and welcoming,she booked me in and showed me to my room. The room was tastefully decorated,there was the usual room amenities,although the tv...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SomersetKeithers
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here from the 6-13th October 2017 and I have to say Frankie and the team at Portobello House were welcoming and friendly. We had a great stay the rooms tidy clean comfortable and made up daily by house keeping. The restaurant bar downstairs was convenient and great after a full day of sightseeing where you can grab a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mandy S
Birmingham
Reviewed 11 September 2016

An odd little boutique hotel with a weird entrance above a bar in Portobello. Slightly worrying opening line but don't panic, it's all good! It's clean and tidy inside with pleasant staff. The room we had needs a little updating but generally was ok. The bed was really comfortable, one of the best hotel beds I've slept in for years...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMCandJAT
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Two couples, two rooms. We were all happy. We discovered that the room size varies quite a bit. Room 22 is small, room 16 was much bigger in case that matters to you. You will hear street noise and maybe some sound from the bar. That said, we loved the place. Sparkling clean, hairdryer in room, lovely decor. Everyone could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelinginthewoods
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Great hotel! Rooms, service, staff, restaurant, and bar were wonderful. Located in Notting Hill, one block from Portobello Road. We walked to Kensington Gardens. Free breakfast was nice and the food in the restaurant was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe4029
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Le Boyfriend, who usually pays little attention to such things, said "what a great find this place is!!" Portobello House is conveniently located in Notting Hill, a short walk from the Ladbroke Grove underground and minutes from Portobello Road with its myriad of shops and restaurants. It is a very small hotel above a busy pub (more about that later),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bambilinasue
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

"Posh" is not in my normal vocabulary but I've heard this placed called it so much I've begun to use it. Very clean hotel. Rooms are small but very nicely decorated and well kept. The hotel staff were exceptionally nice and accommodating. Also, Notting Hill is a very clean and comfortable neighborhood.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RayCFla
Billinge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Really nice hotel in a great spot in London. A 5 minute walk from Ladbroke Grove, really close to Portobello Road and Notting Hill. Very good value! Also has a great little bar downstairs that does lovely food and cocktails with a great happy hour. The hosts were very lovely and helpful as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NoniTil

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#529 of 1,077 in London
146 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#380 of 1,077 in London
122 reviews
Notting Hill
QHome London Portobello One
QHome London Portobello One
#410 of 791 in London
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Portobello Gold
Portobello Gold
#86 of 556 in London
285 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#21 of 556 in London
634 reviews
The Cleveland
#22 of 556 in London
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portobello House

Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: £107 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portobello House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Covina

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Portobello House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room, which faced Chesterton Road, was very quiet, even with a busy pub downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles bambilinasue, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you need space, spend the extra for Room 24. If you don't care, save money for the excellent bar by booking a cozy room.”
 of 5 bubbles runnergirl1970, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask to see the room first”
 of 5 bubbles Seniorhound, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“King bed is actually the size of an American Queen bed. Bring Earplugs when you travel so that you can sleep peacefully no matter what.”
 of 5 bubbles AllisonBalk, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you want to try to get away from the noise of the busy street and pub be sure to ask to stay on the top floor. I can't imagine how noisy the rooms just over the pub must be.”
 of 5 bubbles msmelody77, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay