We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Smart City Apartments City Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Smart City Apartments City Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you wish to keep your money DO NOT STAY HERE!! The owners are mis-selling the apartment, which is nothing like the photos and the state of the place was disgusting! Me and my partner booked this place via another site and the company was great at communicating to get paid, they have since ignored all my complaint afterwards the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jess B
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

I wasn't able to find the room because the hotel instruction was no good. Also we could not turn on the hot water to take a shower because there was no instructions given by this place. Customer service never answered.... I definitely don't recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Midori S
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Waited 45 minutes to get the code to get into the building. First needed to pay a £250 deposit, which is yet to be refunded back on to my card. Was not given the details by LastMinute.com, who I booked with, nor was I told that I would have to pay a security deposit (otherwise I would not have booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dobbin1605
Brighton
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I booked this as close to my offices, and was a good price. There was noone at reception when I arrived or when I left, but not the end of the world. However the problems began to become more evident, there was a supply of coffee and tea, but no cups, so I couldnt have a hot drink. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ezeeorr
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Dear Readers/Visitors to London; I am disappointed to inform that since my last review of SCApparts/City Rd & their encouraging 'public' response for me to contact them to deal with my concern that a bed totally collapsed with me in it (& I was simply sleeping), I called, I tweeted, I emailed, full of optimism that they did want to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jennysaward
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This is the worst case of false advertising I've ever seen in my life. The pictures are 100% false. The place has a view of a noisy construction site, almost no furniture, stains and damaged walls and surfaces plus zero cleaning. It's disgusting. Dark hallways that look more like a prison. The people who run this should be charged. DO...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lisa M
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Did an overnighter here as my regular hotel was booked up given short notice of a change of plans. Apartments offer no manned check in or reception so you need to work off emailed instructions. Took me an age to find the building (if only the instructions said 'it's in the same building as The Stroke Association, it would have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deej74
Smart City A, Guest Relations Manager at Smart City Apartments City Road, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you found it difficult to locate the premises. We have since updated our check-in instructions to ensure this same problem does not re-occur. Unfortunately, we do not own the building and thus have no control over the hallways, stairwells or presentation of the outside building, we simply own several...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Booked 3 nights, Waited 2 hours for someone to let me in to the apartment after a 20+ hour flight. Once we finally got in the place was filthy! and not like any of the pictures!! DONT BE FOOLED! it was a dump! after another marathon session on the phone with management they offered a refund, get back home to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eoin B
Smart City A, Guest Relations Manager at Smart City Apartments City Road, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not meet or exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We take all feedback on board and where necessary implement new procedures to ensure our customer experience continues to build and improve. Smart City operates our check-in times on a first come first served policy. I...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

This review could easily have gone close to 5 star. The apartments themselves are beautiful. Location was perfect for me as I was staying there specifically to visit the Emirates Stadium which was a 5 min Uber ride from there. That being said there is a major construction job going on outside the window and it looks to have another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin S
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

If you want decent customer service choose another serviced apartment company of which there are several. I won't be using them again after they refused to honour a reservation that had been made a month earlier and offered no refund. Yes, I should have read the small-print, but who always does that, especially when you've stayed with them before. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NeilPike
Smart City A, Guest Relations Manager at Smart City Apartments City Road, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that we weren't able to honour your reservation but opporate a strict policy where we do not permit under 21s to stay in our apartments unsupervised by an 21+ person. We do apologise that you were not knowledgeable of this beforehand. However, as you stated, it is mentioned in our...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#295 of 1,087 in London
486 reviews
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
#437 of 1,087 in London
394 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Chelsea Bridge Apartments
Chelsea Bridge Apartments
#94 of 816 in London
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Go Native Monument
Go Native Monument
#57 of 816 in London
140 reviews
Southwark
Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Smart City Apartments, City Road Serviced Apartments are extremely spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments with penthouses located in recently converted office building only a moments' walk from the world famous Moorefield's Eye Hospital. There are a total of 52 apartments, 18 one bedroom apartments, 26 two bedroom apartments, and 8 penthouse 2 bedroom apartments, making the block ideal for large groups. All apartments have a living room, bedroom and are equipped with a fully fitted kitchen and bathroom. Special features include a high specification of kitchen appliances, flat screen TV. The oversized apartments are also perfect for longer stays or families travelling together who need that little extra space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smart City Apartments City Road

Address: 238 City Road, London EC1V 2PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: £107 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smart City Apartments City Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Smart City Apartments City Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smart City Apartments City Road staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Smart City Apartments City Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd recommend looking elsewhere till they address some of the issues.”
  • Mysterious trash bag in the balcony
  • Kitchen counter top (non working)
 of 5 bubbles nav2074, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“room 48 is spacious but lots of stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles KarenT306, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
  • General cleanliness was very poor
  • Damage to the door meant we were unable access to the roof area poor ventilation
 of 5 bubbles 602traceyr, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't book this place it is a rip off”
 of 5 bubbles 642meganj, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Just don't book here”
 of 5 bubbles Annieho1, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5