We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Show Prices
#244 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,125: English reviews
wigan
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent, good service, cleaning comfortable room at a reasonable rate, great location for us as were meeting friends for dinner at the Atheneum on Pall Mall. Didn't eat at the hotel but the restaurant looked very nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank grahamr854
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Grand for 3 nights in late summer of 2016. The hotel is within walking distance to Buckingham Palace, Big Ben and Parliament, The London Eye and Piccadilly Circus. We had great weather so all these walks were pleasant. Buses are available to many of these locations right outside of the hotel or around the corner. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank shaynamama
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and would definitely stay there again if the opportunity presented itself. Our room, 901, was on the top floor and faced the back of the building and had a view that included Westminister and to the left the top of the London Eye was visible. The top floor also meant that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank divanoff
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location fabulous, from the front it looks wonderful, but the rooms are seedy, the shower looked like a dungeon. £260 for one night in an uncomfortable bed, no continental breakfast or offer of coffee except the instant packet you get in the room. Biggest rip off ever, and beware the bar staff at night. A word of precaution.

Helpful?
Thank BabeRuth2000
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experiences here at The Grand, we appreciate your valuable feedback which we will use to make improvements to our services moving forward. We are delighted that you enjoyed our wonderful location, however it was disappointing to hear that we did not meet all of your... More 

Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Club Quarters hotel for 2 days, hotel was very nice and clean - staff at the reception particularly Marius was very helpful with arranging restaurant booking, will be staying again when in London on my next trip.

Helpful?
Thank Conosier
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing The Grand at Trafalgar Square during your recent stay in London and for your thoughtful review. We’re delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks especially for sharing your positive feedback about Marius – we love being able to pass on compliments to our staff and will be sure he sees this review.... More 

Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel because its location was in central London within a short walking distance to major tourist attractions. This is basically what you're paying for, not furnishings of the room. From the pictures I saw, the rooms looked like they had tasteful-looking bedding with large windows and good views of the city. NOT the case with our room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lcejka
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We truly appreciate your visit and and thoughtful review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square. We are very proud of our prime location, which as you kindly pointed out is within walking distance to many of London’s main attractions, and we’re glad you enjoyed the amenities and cleanliness as well. It is, however, disappointing to hear that... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in The Grand for about five days with my grandmother ealier this November; we chose this hotel because it was centerally located, and wheelchair accessible. While the accommodation was lavish, and the location indeed unbeatable, it was the front-end staff's helpfulness and attitude that really made the difference! Thank you all for helping make this trip go down without... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharonLSmiley
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for your recent stay with us; we’re so glad to hear you and your grandmother enjoyed your time at The Grand at Trafalgar Square. We especially love sharing great feedback with our staff, and will be sure they see your wonderful review and received our thanks for a job well done! We look forward to welcoming... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Expensive for what you get but you are paying for the location (central London) which is what we decided we wanted. The standard rooms are fine, clean and spacious. They offered to upgrade us to a suite on arrival for £35 pp per night which we declined. No breakfast was included in the price. Filtered water in hallways and bottles... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClaireP1
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for choosing The Grand at Trafalgar Square for your stay in London, and for your review. We are very proud of our prime location and glad to hear that it met your expectations. We are also pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the complimentary bottled water available from the water... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After booking for the second time through expedia the hotel cancelled again. If the demand for rooms increases, they cancel bookings in hope you rebook again at a higher price and direct with the hotel. Their customer services representative used forceful sales tactics to push you into a direct booking, skipping any commission to Expedia. I understand that demand for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jock C
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Jock, Whilst we appreciate your taking the time to feedback, we do not recognise the scenario you are describing. The only time we would cancel an Expedia booking is if credit card fraud is suspected, and we always allow 24 hours notice to give genuine guests an opportunity to verify that credit card details are valid before cancelling any... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived with my husband and teenager for a 2 night break. Arriving at 12, staff were kind enough to let us into our room. Reception staff were efficient at all times. The location is outstanding just off Trafalgar Square, great for Leicester Square and Covent garden to walk within 10 minutes. Great tube links too. The let down for me... More 

Helpful?
Thank duchessdovecote
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us recently at The Grand at Trafalgar Square. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our prime location and that you experienced great service by our staff. However, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in every respect. We will use your feedback to review with our team and... More 

506 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Club Room (32)
Viewed
One Room Suite with Kitchenette (46)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Room with Kitchenette (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#187 of 1,078 in London
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#307 of 1,078 in London
2,461 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#91 of 1,078 in London
4,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand at Trafalgar Square is a full service hotel with 63 rooms located in the beautifully restored historic Northumberland House on Northumberland Avenue. Minutes to Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace and close to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. The Grand at Trafalgar Square is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location. The Grand at Trafalgar Square provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 10 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 1000 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: £127 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand at Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand at Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand At Trafalgar Square Hotel London
Grand At Trafalgar Square London
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Family Hotel in London
#247 Business Hotel in London
#285 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand at Trafalgar Square staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand at Trafalgar Square staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fifth floor is your best option”
 of 5 bubbles andrewz880, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask if the room is in the Club Quarters”
 of 5 bubbles itsdifferent, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Easy walking distance to many of London's top sites.”
 of 5 bubbles LynnJohn333, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Standard Queen and above”
 of 5 bubbles barryd43, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles JudyLemke, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay