We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge London Central City Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge London Central City Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,822: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here overnight for a business meeting in the City of London the following day. The hotel is a short walk from Liverpool Street Station which makes it convenient for anyone flying into Stansted Airport. Arriving at the hotel, the lobby was bright and busy and I was quickly attended to at the check-in desk. Although basic and perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here at the end of October and this was well situated for all the places we needed to go. We called in early and the lovely reception staff, who were very polite, welcoming, smiley and chatty, gave us an early check in. The corridor is a maze and a few times we got lost trying to find our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location and 24hour bar... was perfect for a London visit with my friends. If you don't want to stay in the rooms for long and go adventuring this is the right choice. Perfect for a trip away with friends!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 38marilynf
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central City Road, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We pride ourselves in offering stays in convenient locations and we are pleased to see that we were able to provide you with a great stay in a location that was ideal for your trip to London. We’ll be happy to provide your comments to the hotel as this is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for one night on business and whilst the location is central the hotel itself is tired. The room was basic which is fine for the price but it was not particularly clean, the bed was rock solid and uncomfortable and the shower water was cold both in the evening and morning. If you are looking for a central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central City Road, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for submitting your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our London Central City Road hotel. We will make...

Uk
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed in this hotel several times before. The prices are very reasonable for London. The location is ideal, a short walk from Old Street tube station. It has plenty of restaurants within walking distance although booking is advisable on Friday & Saturdays evenings (especially if visiting during the festive season). This hotel has a late bar which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UkBritAbroad
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central City Road, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be passed to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Don't get me wrong, i know it's only a cheap hotel. The room was clean, and big enough, unfortunately no USB connectivity to the TV so I was stuck watching freeview on the evenings i was in the hotel. Since my last stay the food has gone way downhill, only one dish of a very select few took my fancy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grey H
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central City Road, responded to this review

Please allow us to thank you for providing your feedback with us at our London Central City Road Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn the hotel was an ideal location to suit your needs, however we're sorry to learn of the issues that impacted your stay, please rest assured your comments have been passed to the hotel. We appreciate...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Right I got a room clean tidy and fine at reasonable rate. Checked in at electronic desk and had no interaction with staff and didn't use cafe because I know travelodge breakfast is always poor. If you are after reasonable rooms at cheap prices for London then this is just the job. If you are after fancy dining you need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terramouth
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

An excellent stay. Very easy access to nearby underground station. Clean simple and comfortable throughout with no problems at all. Friendly professional reception and bar staff. Option to take reasonably priced breakfast. Good late snack menu available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lennydp70
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A few silly but unavoidable issues tarnished our stay. We don't expect 5 star at Travelodge but with it being a 'simple' place to stay there should be no issues, but we unfortunately had a few! A great shame that bedding, cleanliness, quality and service impacted on a two day stay, especially at £175 per night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJ1812
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central City Road, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our London Central City Road Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was big and comfortable. We were on a quiet floor (ask for a business floor room on an upper floor). I've stayed here regularly and the rooms do vary some are huge and others quite small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonmA3544HL

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (274)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Spitalfields
Tune Hotel - London, Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#287 of 1,077 in London
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#409 of 1,077 in London
580 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#604 of 1,077 in London
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Shoreditch

Neighbourhood Profile
Shoreditch
The western front of the edgy East End, Shoreditch is a perennially trendy haven for anything “street” – be it art, food, or fashion. With its handful of well connected transportation links dotting its perimeter, along with an ever increasing variety of shops, hotels, bars, and restaurants, it's easy to explore this trend-conscious and youth-oriented neighbourhood. There's a lingering post-industrial grit about Shoreditch, but because it shares a border with “The City” financial district, the influence from its upscale neighbour can result in fascinating outcomes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central City Road

Address: 1-23 City Road, London EC1Y 1AG, England (Formerly Travelodge London Central Moorgate)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch
Price Range: £70 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central City Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge London Central City Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Central Moorgate Hotel London
Travelodge Hotel City Road
Travelodge Hotel London
Travel Lodge London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#306 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge London Central City Road staff and other travellers.
78 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (78)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge London Central City Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the road enable you to watch the world go by but avoid rooms above the nightclub.”
 of 5 bubbles UkBritAbroad, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“again i recommend and inward facing room, not street facing)”
 of 5 bubbles 594greyh, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there, if you have too, go to floor 7”
 of 5 bubbles Hobins4, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles FamilyW400, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Roomsa not facing City Road will be quieter.”
  • City Road view.
  • Storage unit, fan.
  • Bathtub with shower.
  • Desk, TV, Tea/Coffee
  • Comfortable bed.
  • Room on entering.
 of 5 bubbles C6631CHmartinw, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay