Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Travelodge London Hackney Hotel

Disposable cups in stairwell (still there when I checked out)
Traveller (102)
Hackney
Room & Suite (50)
the barrel boulangerie coffee,breakfast,sandwiches and pizza
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#457 of 1,129 hotels in London
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Travelodge London Hackney Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting London, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Nearby landmarks such as ArcelorMittal Orbit (1.9 mi) and Brick Lane (2.0 mi) make Travelodge London Hackney Hotel a great place to stay when visiting London.

Rooms at Travelodge London Hackney Hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with wifi.

London has plenty of French restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Galvin La Chapelle, Androuet, and Le Pont de la Tour, which are serving up some great dishes.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular history museums like The British Museum, Natural History Museum, and Churchill War Rooms, which are all a short distance from the hotel.

Enjoy your stay in London!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Paid wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

7 - 19 Amhurst Road, London E8 1LK England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
London City Airport
Heathrow Airport
Hackney Central
1 minOverground
926Reviews20Q+A64Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 465
  • 208
  • 89
  • 68
  • 96
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pascalbeck wrote a review Sept 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom1,021 contribution64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Usual Travelodge standard room, cleanwith tea and coffee making facilities, due to covid restrictions there was no housekeeping service during our 2 night stay, however we could get as many clean towels and extra tea, coffee and milk as we required from reception.

In the centre of Hackney with lots of shops and bars/restaurants in walking distance.

The London overground station Hackney Central is next to the hotel with regular services to Stratford where you can visit Westfield shopping centre and change trains for central London also can walk for 5 mins to Hackney Downs station where you can travel directly to London liverpool street, also bus number 38 stops outside the hotel bit of a journey into central London but it costs £1.50 so can't complain!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Auditsigns wrote a review Mar 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel carpets need replacing, rooms were simple but nice , fresh smell , no bar cafe In this hotel which is a little let down. Very down to earth chap, I was woken up by one of the cleaners playing loud music in the corridors the reason I know that . I heard beleave it was waj telling the cleaner to keep it down or switch it off as guests have DND on there doors, your music may effect them. Which I thought was a amazing consideration from him so well done to him and will definitely will be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonianmoon wrote a review Feb 2022
Greater London, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall everything was great and the things that weren’t were 1st world problems and I’m just giving a list of things to fix before the next person who stays. Thank you Cheyenne (reception) for your help.

Design/layout:

At the entrance of the building it would be helpful to have an instruction sign to tell us to swipe our card to get in, as I and another person couldn’t work it out which means we won’t be the only ones. But the buzzer is there anyway, so no biggy.

The swipe cards can’t be put with mobile phone in my hand (soo easily done) else it looses the magnet very quickly. I know the card is a common method for hotels, but it’s very precarious). I had to get it remagnetised twice, but no biggy.

The soap dispenser in my room was in the shower, and hair body wash by the sink! I would have thought they should be the other way round, but no biggie

****Heater*** :
Doesn't work.

Procedural:

House keeping are clearly not informed about who has late checkout. I had twice staff knocking on my door expecting me to have left. I was ok with it but it started getting annoying at the third knock and glad I wasn’t asleep/systemic. Some people won’t be so understanding

Systemic:

I booked for early check it and late check out for flexiblity. When I checked in they couldn’t find me on the system. Turned out they thought I had already checked in (I ordered early check in for flexibility incase I came early). See procedural re late check out Today, my check out day I’ve had two different housekeeping staff knock on my door I assume this is because the computer system has failed to communicate my late check out. It’s lucky I wasn’t asleep and that I’m very understanding. It started annoying me on the third knock, especially

TV:
The batteries in the remote were dead. Perhaps house keeping can quickly test the tv when they are doing the room- Cheyenne gave me new batteries from reception.

Kettle:
Dirty in the cracks - no biggy but not very pleasant. I expect clean when I pay £89 for a room.It maybe the cheapest room rate out of other hotels, but surely it should be clean.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nikki wrote a review Jan 2020
Beccles, United Kingdom20 contributions23 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I should have really guessed from the price of this hotel that it would have been in need of some attention.
Me and my partner paid £45 for a single night in this conveniently placed Travelodge, right next door to the Hackney Central Overground Station.
The outside of the building looked like a fairly standard Travelodge; nothing too exciting but presentable as a Travelodge can be.
Far from impressed when I walked inside. Dirty carpets everywhere you looked, and not to mention the disgusting state in which the lift was in.
The receptionist who checked us in was rude and accused us of not having a booking at first until I produced my booking reference number. No apology was given, even though she had clearly made a mistake. She then informed us that because of a “shortage”, there was no big towels in any of the rooms.
The room itself was clean and tidy. The sheets were a little stained in the centre, but apart from that, it was fairly decent.
The bathroom was incredibly compact. I’m not an overly big person, but even I had trouble using the toilet properly without squashing myself up against the wall.
Not the best nights sleep I have ever had either. The bed itself was comfortable, as where the pillows and duvet, but it was absolutely freezing. No matter what I did I couldn’t get warm. There was a tiny little heater attached to the wall which seemed pointless having there, since it didn’t actually seem to do anything. I did try and complain several times but every time I went down to reception, there was no one there to talk to. Even after pressing the assistance buzzer a couple of times, no one bothered to come and show their face. Very unprofessional.

All in all, not very impressed and I am unlikely to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, James from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Hackney Hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. As your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tourist61674769821 wrote a review May 2023
Bengaluru, India1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the worse hotels I have ever stayed. If you are looking for a quiet night sleep, this hotel is not for you. On one side there is overground station and on the other side busy road! Breakfast is waste of money, you are better off going outside as there are loads of restaurants nearby. If you don't request for topping up your towels, your room will not be cleaned as well. My room was left uncleaned for days together even when bins were overflowing. Body wash and hand wash is watery. Even this they don't top up. Check and inform the staff when these solutions are nearing empty as they do not check themselves. Heating may not work in some rooms and staff can not do anything as apparently it's managed by the outside company.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Think because of the location they get enough customers hence they don't seem to care much about...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Billy W wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the beds and bathroom was clean and comfortable, the same cannot he said for the service. The main problem was that the key cards constantly didn’t work and we were usually left without assistance, trying to get into our room for a good 4 minutes. When we asked for clean towels and for our bins to be emptied, no one came throughout the whole day, we had to go to the desk to get them. We were also disappointed with the breakfast boxes as they lacked any flavour. Alongside this in the middle of the night, someone entered our room and quickly left realising it was the wrong room. Wouldn’t go back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corrado wrote a review Jan 2023
Rome, Italy87 contributions367 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It's very sad to see that no efforts are made to add quality on hotel services (no paper toilet changed, no fresh towels changed, no soap charges on dispensers if not on express demand) aong with room services and cleaning. What a pity! This hotel is a very good place where to spend dyas when in London, i hope the Staff will put a bit of quality....can't wait to go back in order to check for this!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
daveF1082QF wrote a review Jul 2022
Malvern, Pennsylvania1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Paid an extra £10 to get early checkin to prepare for a wedding starting at 1500 when booking in May. When myself and 3 other groups arrived for early checkin at 1205 NO rooms were available. It was suggested we left our bags and came back later. Highly impossible. After much insistence a room was eventually found but this delayed preperations
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LondonHL wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Although there should be lower expectations for Travelodge, the basic requirements for cleanliness was still indispensable. Yet it failed to achieve any goal of cleanliness. The towels smelled and unchanged everyday. The bed sheets gave you rashes. The bathroom door was broken and the staffs were unable to fix it.

We paid almost 200£ each night for one room. This amount can book a 4 or even 5-star hotel in other city. Yet we stuck in here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
joe_l_oslo wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very unlikely to recommend the Hackney Central branch.

Room was a bit dirty. We found an old pair of socks under our bed from a previous guest. We were asked to leave our rubbish and used cups outside the room in the hallway and when replaced by staff they were not placed in our room but on the carpet in the public hallway. There was no air conditioning in the rooms so we had to sleep with the windows open (even on a relatively cool october night). The hotel is located next to a very busy and noisy road so this was not an ideal arrangement.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane D asked a question Apr 2021
8 contributions4 helpful votes
Is this within walking distance of Hackney town Hall please
Answer from KiwiSteveUK
Birmingham, United Kingdom255 contributions41 helpful votes
Stayed there a few times and never had any issue with my bookings, which were made at different times of day and i always arrived in the evening if that helps.
Answer from Lillilon
St. Asaph, United Kingdom33 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes, you will need a key card for outside door and internal doors. This offers greater security for everyone.
Tammara D asked a question Sept 2018
Manchester, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi do the rooms have small tea cups or mugs. Tia
Answer from Janet T
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom78 contributions39 helpful votes
Yes
mbr0mley asked a question Oct 2017
Hampshire, United Kingdom4 contributions
Hi coming by car, is there safe parking and what does it cost?
Answer from traceya876
Oswestry, United Kingdom40 contributions13 helpful votes
Hi there. Yes there is a small public car park which I think is about £8 per day. It's best to just ring the number on the pay stall and pay over the phone on your card.
Sharon S wrote a tip 24 May
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definately stay at this hotel.wonderful."
Read full review
Arleta M wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Comfortable bed and very clean "
Read full review
Holly P wrote a tip Nov 2023
Cheltenham, United Kingdom3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here…"
Read full review
Sean M wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If going for a drink spoons cheapest option around the corner "
Read full review
Maria R wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"4th floor room with amhurst road was view was very spacious."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
£71 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE LONDON HACKNEY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge London Hackney Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Oslo (0.02 miles), Hackney Empire (0.1 miles), and Sutton House (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge London Hackney Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include internet access, reduced mobility rooms, and complimentary tea.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge London Hackney Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge London Hackney Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pidgin, Black Cat cafe, and Mess Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge London Hackney Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (4.4 miles), Tower of London (2.9 miles), and Churchill War Rooms (4.4 miles).
Is Travelodge London Hackney Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire