Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel

Norwich Sports Village Drayton High Road Hellesdon, Norwich NR6 5DU England
Room
Traveller (131)
Guest Room
Room & Suite (89)
Enjoy your complimentary breakfast
Dining (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£72
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£72
Breakfast included
£64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#26 of 43 hotels in Norwich
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Czech, Lithuanian, Polish
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Aerobics offsite
Squash offsite
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Free airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Tennis court offsite
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

Norwich Sports Village Drayton High Road Hellesdon, Norwich NR6 5DU England
614Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 193
  • 162
  • 62
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JeButler82 wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom47 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 4 nights with work. Clean but having renovations so looking a bit tired. That said where they have started the renovations the place looks well presented. The staff are a credit , each member I encountered were friendly helpful without being over bearing or false. We had Breakfast included which to be fair was really nice. The maid service and room cleaning was high standard and also liked the fact that even if you chose not to have your room cleaned every day , clean towels were left. Location a bit out of the way for city centre but only a short taxi ride away. The only downside to the visit was the David Lloyd Centre next door.. due to covid they are doing a lot of classes outside so you would be woken by an energetic spin teacher at 6.30.l , but not the fault of the hotel and hopefully only temporary. Good visit and enjoyable stay. Many thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 May 2021
Hi JeButler82, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to read that the hotel was clean and that the team were a credit to the hotel, they will be ecstatic to hear this. I hope you can visit once the work is complete, we now have some of the refurbished rooms available. Kind regards, Darren.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian J wrote a review Mar 2020
Ryde, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff were all really helpful the entire weekend. We just had many issues with door cards not giving us access to our rooms, people getting locked out of their bathrooms etc which meant we were often having to make repeat trips to reception.
Breakfast is good and is included in the price of all rooms. It's self serve but for the price point that's what you'd expect.
In general there isn't a lot in the immediate area other than an Asda superstore and uber doesn't operate in Norwich so you'll be using cabs to get around. The hotel does offer a minibus service but I didn't use it so I'm unsure where it goes.
Overall I'd say for the money this is a good hotel and if they could just solve some of the more minor issues with the rooms it would have got a higher score.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DarrennFCR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Hi ianjY7747UO, Thank you for your review. I'm happy to read that the team were helpful throughout your stay. Our shuttle bus will take our guests to Norwich Airport for free or will take people anywhere within Norwich for a small fee. My apologies that you had repeated issues with the door locks. These are due to be replaced very soon as well as the hotel having a full refurbishment. I hope you can return when the work has been completed. Kind regards, Darren.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ferdy76 wrote a review Jun 2021
Chelmsford, United Kingdom140 contributions78 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Most chain hotels offer the same in terms of service, room layout and amenities but I have added a few pros and cons below.
Overall a good overnight stay for a day out at the Roarr dinosaur experience nearby. Customer service was very good. Room was double occupancy not family but this was amended very quickly.
Pros -
Good location - very near main roads for access to London/coast/city
Customer service very good
COVID - well organised and safe
Very quiet
Good full english breakfast
Lots of parking
Right next to ASDA
Cons
Hotel is being refurbished and corridor stunk of paint
Room had a few cosmetic issues (Punch mark in bathroom door, shower grubby)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Jun 2021
Hi Ferdy76, Thank you for your review. I am happy that the customer service was very good and that our Covid restrictions were well organised and safe. It's great to read that you enjoyed the breakfast offering and that our location was perfect for your needs. My apologies about the smell of paint, unfortunately this is unavoidable during refurbishment works but we are trying our best to air the corridors. We are refurbishing the bathrooms in the autumn which will rectify the issues you have highlighted. I hope you are able to visit once the work is complete. Darren.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie H wrote a review Sept 2022
4 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed here twice within a week for business, and I cannot fault the hotel. It’s smart, clean, the food is wonderful and the staff are all polite and friendly.
Massive shout out to Harley who works behind the bar - beautiful man, inside and out 😊 Although everyone is lovely, Harley goes above and beyond to make your stay and I look forward to seeing him each time I come.
Thank you x
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, We're delighted to hear that you had a perfect stay! Glad to learn that you had an enjoyable, clean, and friendly stay. Thank you for your kind words about Harley who is an incredible asset to our property and we're lucky to have him as a part of our team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Warm regards, Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SamanthaKM wrote a review Aug 2020
Ipswich, United Kingdom96 contributions32 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful experience. Booked a night here with work, took over 40 minutes to check in and they reported the room was not paid for even thought it had been. Other guests standing in a long queue waiting to check in.
Took them 3 attempts to gain access to my room. Finally get access and the lights aren’t working.
Dirty tissues on the floor - thought you advertised additional COVID cleaning measures?
Freezing cold room.
No apology. 1 person was covering the reception and bar with queues of guests waiting. Told there were no other rooms.
Left without any solution from the reception.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Hi SamanthaKM. Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience. My apologies about the issues that you encountered during you stay. I would like to talk to you further about this. Please could you email me on gm@hiexnorwich.co.uk. Kind regards, Darren.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thomas D wrote a review May 2022
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a family wedding in Norwich so had a group booking for family all 9 of us . The hotel is very well situated for the City Centre and has a David Lloyd health centre next door ( day pass cost£10 but well worth it very good facilities ) and the hotel itself is very well set out with a lounge and bar at the reception and a breakfast area next to that ,all spotless .
The rooms are very clean and have everything you could need ( iron ironing board hairdryer tv lots of electrical and usb points )
My mother has Parkinson’s disease and had a disabled adapted room which was perfect all the requirements to make life easier for limited mobility . The breakfast is a buffet and has everything you would need from cold to cooked and all was very tasty . The breakfast chef Daniel was outstanding , after hearing my mother’s illness he went over and above the level of service you would expect and I cannot thank him enough for his thoughtfulness .
In conclusion a very nice stay made better by excellent staff throughout the hotel from reception to housekeeping and a special mention again to Daniel for his thoughtfulness .
Highly recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 May 2022
Hi thomasanddavid, Thank you for your kind 5 star review. I am happy that you found the hotel to be spotless and that you enjoyed our bar and restaurant area. I am also happy that you enjoyed your bedroom and that it had everything you needed. It's great that you liked our breakfast and that Daniel was helpful and thoughtful, he will be happy to hear this feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Darren.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BraeDog wrote a review Nov 2021
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom60 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
An overnight stay for a theatre trip. Staff were friendly and easy to find. Our room was recently refurbished and was clean, spacious and comfortable with a double bed and sofa bed. I especially liked the choice of bright or dim light in the shower room, meaning we were not dazzled during nighttime trips to the toilet. Parking was plentiful and there is a regular bus service into the city throughout the day and evening.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2021
Hi Braedog, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy that the team were friendly and that you liked our newly refurbished rooms. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tafftraveller wrote a review Sept 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom274 contributions209 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent one night at this hotel having booked a double room, breakfast and dinner (£175) When booking in I was given a "dinner menu" told you could only select the items with a D. The " main dishes" were Beefburger and chips, Sausage and mash, and Lasagne. I asked if I could cancel my dinner booking and was told, no you've already paid for it. I did say I paid for "dinner" this was just a cafe/ snack menu. The reception person would not respond to my request.
Our room was large clean and comfortable which helped.
Went for "dinner" I asked the waitress what was included in the "dinner menu", she was not sure I asked if we could have a salad each as a starter, not sure, went off to speak to the Reception. Yes we could have a salad. My main course was a beefburger in a bun and chips thats it. Your better off walking upto Asda's
Breakfast was very good with both a hot and cold menu.

Good for bed and breakfast, beware of booking dinner and any reference on booking sites to the hotel having a pool or access to a pool.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Be careful of the option to buy dinner in advance.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Sept 2021
Hi Tafftraveller, Thank you for your review. I am happy that the room was clean, comfortable and that you enjoyed your breakfast. My apologies that you were not happy with the dinner menu, we are going to be changing our menu soon and will include more items in our dinner package. Kind regards, Darren.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
loopylouisee wrote a review Feb 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would seriously recommend looking else where as this hotel does not live up to its 3 star rating. Rooms smell damp and musty. Although I was moved without any issue. I did however purchase a large Baileys which came in a half pint glass rather than a tumbler and cost me nearly the same price as the room!!!

Rooms are noisy with no windows to ventilate the disgusting smells. With the AC on all the old furniture creeks and cracks making sleeping difficult.

I’m looking forward to breakfast... I hope it lives up to the price tag paid.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DarrennFCR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Hi loopylouisee, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry about the issues you have faced during your stay. I would like to discuss this with your further, please email on gm@hiexnorwich.co.uk. Kind regards, Darren.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew K wrote a review Sept 2020
Madrid, Spain17 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all I have to say the staff were lovely. Polite efficient and responsive. Sadly though, the place was a metaphor for this country. Tired, falling to bits and a bit tacky.

Two nights we stayed. The room we were first given had a hole in the bathroom floor and the net curtains were brown in places. So we moved and the new one looked like someone has been skating on the dressing table. The paint was chipped and scuffed here and there. But hey, it was better. Inevitably however, the room key stopped working and the toilet bunged up.

I thought the place was quite clean but my Wife smiled and said ‘its superficial’ pointing out the dust on the switch casing and the sticky threshold between the bedroom and bathroom.

The breakfast was served quickly with a smile. But the sausages came from the sausage factory, the bacon from the bacon factory and the scrambled egg from the powdered egg factory. (And obviously fried, boiled or poached weren’t available because that would be too near to fresh - likewise the case I guess for the absent tomatoes, mushrooms. ...... or anything else that could be fresh) so nothing much to go wrong there - or right for that matter.

And the whole system-built concrete thing sits at the bottom of an ASDA car park next to a derelict place that looks like a massive dirty, petrified igloo.

Would I go back. Well yes. Because the bed was comfy, the sheets were clean, it was cheap and I do superficial (unlike my wife). And mostly, I know that when things go wrong, which they inevitably will, the nice staff will be there to cheerfully put things right.

Nevertheless, my message to the top bid of Holiday Inn (uk) and it’s board of directors is: Not good enough guys. Knock it down. Don’t be superficial. Don’t be the Ryan Air of hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Hi andrewkD8298IM, Thank you for your review. I'm happy to read that the team were lovely and that they were polite, efficient and responsive to your needs. It's great to read that were helpful for any issues that you had. We are having a full refurbishment of the hotel very soon which we are all excited about. We are also replacing the key lock system which will also rectify the issue with this. We are hoping that a business will move into the neighbouring 'igloo' soon so that it can made to look a nicer. Our complimentary breakfast is designed to be for those on the go and is a continental offering with some hot items. I will pass on your feedback about our hot items to the kitchen team however we will not be able to offer tomatoes or mushrooms as this is not a Holiday Inn Express brand standard. I hope to welcome yourself and your wife back when we have a nice new hotel. Kind regards, Darren.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma T asked a question Nov 2018
25 contributions18 helpful votes
How much is a taxi into town? Is there a bus service during the day?
Answer from Darren F
Norwich, United Kingdom
Hi, A taxi into the city centre is about £8 at most. There is a regular bus service that runs past the hotel. Thanks, Darren.
Jacek Aleksander Gruca asked a question Sept 2015
Gdynia, Poland10 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, What is the temperature of water in the pool? Many thanks, Jacek Aleksander
Answer from William K
London, United Kingdom15 contributions1 helpful vote
There is no pool in the hotel. There is a pool next door in the Virgin Active club, but it is a separate feature that costs extra to use.
Paul_Lol wrote a tip 19 May
Boston, United Kingdom69 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There’s a Brewer’s Fayre and McDonalds next door if you fancy either."
Read full review
Lindisfarnegirl wrote a tip May 2022
Reading, United Kingdom101 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just ask at reception if you have special needs. The lady at the desk found us a ground floor room"
Read full review
Gary P wrote a tip Dec 2021
35 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to David Llyod centre next door to eat"
Read full review
Tafftraveller wrote a tip Sept 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom274 contributions209 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be careful of the option to buy dinner in advance."
Read full review
Aadz D wrote a tip Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good size family rooms"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Norwich area.
PRICE RANGE
£62 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express norwich hotel norwich, holiday inn norwich, norwich holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Norwich Sport Village Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS NORWICH, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include High Altitude (0.2 miles), Ladybelt Country Park (0.4 miles), and Dotty Pottery (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bull, Kamakazi Kitchen, and Bramleys Cafe and Cakery.
Does Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Czech, and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cryptic Escape (2.2 miles), History Mystery (2.2 miles), and Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell (2.2 miles).
All Norwich HotelsNorwich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NorwichHotels near Holiday Inn Express Norwich, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire