We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (254)
Room & Suite (416)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 43 hotels in Norwich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

A family-friendly Norwich hotel, which overlooks the Norwich City Football Club. We are located just a 10-minute drive from the city centre, a 10-minute walk from Norwich Railway Station and an approximate 20 minute drive from Norwich International Airport.

You can catch buses to the city centre from the stop a short walk from the hotel. Visit the towering, 900-year-old Norwich Cathedral, with its famed medieval roof boss sculptures. Overlooking the city, Norwich Castle, hosts art exhibitions, and you can take a tour down to its dungeon. The nearby Norwich Theatre Royal has a lively programme of musicals and drama. For a family day out, take a leisurely drive to the unique waterways and picturesque countryside of the Norfolk Broads or the north Norfolk coast . If you're on business, Norwich City Football Club's Conference Centre is steps away, and the hotel's fully-equipped meeting room seats up to 30 attendees. At this hotel you can enjoy: Free WiFi, a small Fitness Centre.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Hindi, Hungarian and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
1,308Review23Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 582
  • 495
  • 165
  • 46
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Will D wrote a review 5 Apr
London, United Kingdom88 contributions48 helpful votes
Excellent business meeting and lunch at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. The recognised bar and restaurant and lounge areas are superb. Great menu and the food was delicious. The best thing is the team. Each and every team member was friendly and welcoming. Carla the Guest Service Manager was truly outstanding and delivered exceptional customer service. She really went the extra mile and anticipated our needs brilliantly. She is a real credit to the hotel and demonstrated the true art of hospitality. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Juliet Alicia wrote a review Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom6 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I had to make an unexpected trip to Norwich and stayed one night at the Holiday Inn. I was not expecting such a comfortable and pleasant stay due to the rush of my visit. I want to thank a receptionist (I think her name was Kat) who welcomed me, answered a lot of questions and went out of her way to ensure that I got in the correct cab for my evening out! I will definitely stay here again when I return to Norwich. Juliet
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
NorwichCarrow wrote a review Mar 2024
Sandgate, United Kingdom407 contributions172 helpful votes
We've stayed at the hotel whenever we return to Norwich to visit friends, and have always been very pleased with our stays. This time I used a Reward Night to upgrade to a Premium Room. The hotel warned us in advance that there was renovation work going on in public areas, but this didn't impact on our stay at all as breakfast was still being served in the lounge area. The buffet was satisfactory with a reasonable range of items for a continental breakfast and staff were friendly helpful and welcoming. Our room is only slightly larger than a standard room and doesn't appear to have any extra facilities to justify the additional cost. The room only has three power sockets, two of which are already in use for the TV and expresso machine, nor are there any USB ports or sockets by the bedside to charge our phones. The hotel has ceased to provide bottles of toiletries and had pump action bottles by the wash handbasin and in the bath/shower. However those in the bath/shower are placed at a height such that only someone showering can easily access them. If you are bathing you must stand up to use them and then sit down as they are in a locked case so can't be moved. This surely represents a serious risk for a fall. Finally we could not find in the room any details of what facilities are offered by the hotel such as room service. All the staff we met were very pleasant and professional but we remain very unhappy about the value provided by our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Trail23145153306 wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom45 contributions13 helpful votes
First class welcome on arrival and lovely spacious room on first floor which was extremely spacious and clean. Spent an hour in the bar watching the football and a big thanks to the barman Alex for his excellent service and sociable chat Highly recommended place to stay 👍
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PollyD wrote a review Feb 2024
Devon, United Kingdom380 contributions268 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night this weekend on the second floor.We did not realise that there was pitch view bedrooms - if we were going to stay again, I would definitely ask for a pitch view bedroom. What I really liked in this hotel were the very helpful reception staff - everyone seems happy to work here, especially those on reception. The receptionist on Friday night offered to come outside in the rain to point to where exactly the car park was. We liked the room, the beds were very comfortable - the only thing that could have been improved was the powerfulness of the shower. The speed with which the bath filled was good. Breakfast was good. Overall we really liked our stay here and would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask the price of a pitch view room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dreamer65620364912 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Pros: Within walking distance from a big supermarket and a retail park, within walking distance from the rail station. There are elevators in the hotel which is rare for the UK. The bed linen is clean and the towels are clean and fluffy. The breakfast is good and the bar and kitchen staff friendly. Cons: Dated and dark rooms with tired furniture that should have been refurbished years ago, it’s like stepping back in the 90 ties. I stayed in 602. It is incredibly noisy room where you can hear the loud clanking of expanding water pipes and other noises coming from the roof throughout your stay. The loud banging of doors and cupboards by the Housekeeping staff as early as 8:00 am is something that never happened to me in another hotel.I am talking violent banging. They also knock on your room in a disturbing manner. Impossible to get a good night sleep or privacy. Very tired dingy bathrooms resembling those in a cheap motel. Lobby interior incredibly dated and worn out with ripped off chairs. Never seen such neglected interiors in Europe. Reception staff although responsive are rather condescending and unfriendly. I am talking about the British staff. The Spanish girls from the staff were very friendly and went above and beyond to make my stay bearable.. All in all felt like staying in dormitory . For the price is overpriced. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Hi Dreamer65620364912, Thank you for your continued patronage of IHG Hotels & Resorts, and for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Norwich City. The Holiday Inn Hotels offers business and leisure travelers dependability, friendly services, and modern, attractive facilities at an excellent value. I saw your review and am sorry for the experience you had. I know you have options when reserving and choosing us because this is not what you expected, and with this in mind, I distributed your comments to our managers for evaluation. We rectified our errors so they do not happen again. When you have time, come and visit us. I know you will enjoy the new changes. All the best, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Hotel & Resorts Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mrrichardm wrote a review Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom55 contributions84 helpful votes
I was so cold that I slept in my clothes! The room was very basic. I was on the first floor. The reception was fine, standard, nothing special but fine, the same with the check out. The hotel is being renovated so you enter through the car park (which you have to pay for). If it had been warm enough it would have been just a very standard experience but because of the cold room, I didn't sleep well and couldn't wait to leave in the morning. I'll try elsewhere next time I have to go to Norwich.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2024
Dear mrrichardm, Thank you for selecting our Holiday Inn Norwich City while visiting Norwich City and for providing feedback about your experience. It's a pleasure having you as our guest. I am truly sorry you did not experience an exemplary stay due to the location of our hotel and the temperature in our room. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be certain that I have noted and forwarded your feedback for the management to improve. In the middle of your experience, I am glad to know that the service of our staff was still appreciated. Please grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SilicoJack wrote a review Jan 2024
Wellington, New Zealand471 contributions56 helpful votes
This is a good hotel. Enjoyed our stay here. We had a pitch view which was cool as I am a fan of Norwich City. It's in a good location. Close to everything you need. Lots of parking, which costs extra but isn't going to break the bank. We didn't eat there as there are lots of good options within walking distance but we did have breakfast which was a good price and had lots of good options. The staff were friendly. The current works going on are a tiny inconvenience but we hardly even noticed them.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PrizeGuy wrote a review Jan 2024
UK302 contributions84 helpful votes
A great location for Carrow Road football for Norwich City FC. Excellent location. Excellent room and facilities in room. Quiet night sleep in a comfy clean bed and room. Efficient lifts quiet. Engaging staff. Reasonable bar prices. Parking close. Around 10-15 mins from railway walk. An ideal choice for disabled or hard of walking, everything is on one level, parking is reserved right outside main door.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book early! Go for a room overlooking the pitch/inside stadium.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Daren M wrote a review Jan 2024
United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
Nice size room, clean and tidy. The staff were so friendly. We were visiting for our mum's 80th birthday celebrations and all staff went above and beyond to make it a special occasion! It was much appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Norwich area.
PRICE RANGE
£82 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn norwich city hotel norwich, norwich holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN NORWICH CITY, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Carrow Road Stadium (0.10 miles), The Red Card Comedy Club (0.07 miles), and Riverside Entertainment Leisure Park (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Namaste India Norwich, Delia's Restaurant and Bar, and Estábulo Rodizio Bar & Grill - Norwich.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Norwich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Hindi, Polish, Romanian, Hungarian, and Ukrainian.