We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Overview
5 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
179
12
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
179
12
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade marmaladeattention to detailmary's homesmall refrigeratorbreakfast room isbathrobes and slippersrestful staydressing gownskippersdouble roomlovely breakfastnothing is too much troublefantastic hostsplenty of choicelittle extra touchesplace is spotlessrooms are clean
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on a recommendation and it didn't disappoint!! Lovely B&B, clean place, comfy beds, loved the robes and slippers, breakfast fabulous, lovely hosts. Balcony in our room made it! Will definitely be returning! Nicholls family.

1  Thank Lisa282014
Response from Janefawcett, Owner at Number 5Responded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou.So pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 8 August 2018

It was OK. Three major issues. 1. Establishment did NOT accept credit card. What?!?! We were a family of four traveling through England. We live in a digital world. I can't understand how business do not accept credit in this day and age. It was...More

Thank gnds929
Response from Janefawcett, Owner at Number 5Responded 9 August 2018

Sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay . Our Wi-fi is free so don’t understand why that happened to you . It is stated that we don’t accept cards . There was a heavily moulting dog in at the time so I can only apologise for...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

As usual, Jane and Mary never fail to provide a fantastic place to stay. Rooms are clean and airy, beds are comfortable and the breakfasts are second to none. Location is up on West Cliff which is no problem as long as you can endure...More

Thank Yorkshire_Chiller
Response from Janefawcett, Owner at Number 5Responded 6 August 2018

Thankyou. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed on the recommendation of a friend and SO glad that we did! The room was perfect for the 3 of us, en suite was immaculate and there were some lovely touches (like luxury toiletries, dressing gowns, slippers). We enjoyed having the balcony too!...More

Thank Emily B
Response from Janefawcett, Owner at Number 5Responded 22 July 2018

Thankyou. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Myself and my Hubby have just returned from Number 5 after arriving yesterday with our Dog Winston for our first Wedding Anniversary. What an absolute GEM of a place to stay! Mary and Jane run a gorgeous little B&B - Very well priced, our room...More

Thank MoominCLC
Response from Janefawcett, Owner at Number 5Responded 18 July 2018

That’s great to hear . Glad you enjoyed your stay.

View more reviews
About
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
9
Also Known As
No 5 Guest House Hotel Whitby
Location
United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Photos
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Whitby
Hudsons
344 reviews
.02 miles away
La Rosa Hotel
319 reviews
.07 miles away
The Pier Inn Whitby
549 reviews
.11 miles away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
1,208 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 225 restaurants in Whitby
Ditto Restaurant
1,058 reviews
.07 miles away
Beckett's coffee shop
747 reviews
.12 miles away
Rusty Shears
1,144 reviews
.12 miles away
Cranberry Swamp Gluten-Free Cafe
414 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 97 attractions in Whitby
RNLI Lifeboat museum
426 reviews
.15 miles away
Whitby Harbour
2,743 reviews
.21 miles away
Whitby Beach
1,221 reviews
.15 miles away
Captain Cook Statue
129 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Inspire277340
1 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Janefawcett | Property representative |
Hi there, I do have one double room only @ £78.00 per night if that’s any good . Ring me on 01947606361 Thanks Mary
0
Votes
Kathy B
20 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Janefawcett | Property representative |
Hi , Just received you enquiry. I have one double ensuite left on those dates . It is at the top of the house however. Would that be suitable? Thanks Mary
0
Votes
Dawn A
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Janefawcett | Property representative |
Hi there, Yes all rooms have a hairdryer.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Room 7 was at the top of the house so plenty of stairs , but on the plus side you don't get woken by the..."
Read review
"The bigger roms are on lower floors , the viwes are higher floors."
Read review
"Rooms 2 and 5 are the best with 3 and 6 a close second. The very top floor is for the fit people."
Read review
"My room was quiet, so would go for that room next time (No. 1), although not a view room, quiet and plenty of..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing