We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (356)
Room & Suite (131)
Pool & Beach (12)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good41%
  • Average22%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“self drive”(37 reviews)
“sea view”(159 reviews)
“small lift”(26 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Breakfast included
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,163 results
Traveller rating
240
452
260
134
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
240
452
260
134
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself drivesea viewsmall liftshearings hotelsevening entertainmentshearings coach holidaycoach drivernational holidayspremier roomhalf boardrefurbished roomlovely old hotelbar pricesbit datedplenty of choicesingle roomgreat position
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,163 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Sherings holiday. Very dissapointed. Evening meals awful. Understood its an old place but a touch of paint wouldn't go a miss. The cleaning was not the best. Its a good job it was a sunny week. But saying that love whitby.

Thank albo1957
Reviewed today via mobile

We booked last minute to stay for two nights as a family (couple and two year old). Really happy with our room (205) - really big, beautiful views of the coast and much more modern decor than we'd expected from some of the photos (think...More

Thank Maz C
Reviewed yesterday

I have stayed at other Shearings Hotels and this was average, the fact only 20% of reviewers rate it excellent tells you something. Whilst there the lift broke down, OK they cant help that you might think. No but when you know you have at...More

Thank thomda
Reviewed 4 days ago

The room fabulous and the staff are trying hard to deliver a great stay and this is controlled however by the Shearing experience! Coach tours are attractive to people who no longer feel capable of stepping out on their own and happily give themselves over...More

Thank Dddandelion
Response from VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby HotelResponded 4 days ago

I'm sorry to see you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. I must admit that I do find your opinions of coach tours and the many people of all ages who enjoy these holidays very insulting. I'm confused as to your comments regarding the...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

First of all we booked this hotel at the last minute (5pm Thursday checking in Friday 3pm) to celebrate my wife's birthday on 19th May because the date had been hignjacked by a little wedding & a little football match. But my 'elf & safety...More

Thank Herbbooth
Response from VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby HotelResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for sharing your review and awarding us your "Elf & Safety" award. All rooms in the hotel as standard have grab rails in both the baths and showers with slip mats also. Room 105 is indeed a lovely room with some pretty amazing...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Whitby
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$100 - US$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$100 - US$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (356)
Room & Suite (131)
Pool & Beach (12)
Dining (8)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Vernon W
31 March 2018|
Answer
Response from harryolou | Reviewed this property |
You'll have to contact the hotel directly to do that I'm afraid.
0
Votes
mokel_11
15 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from AliAl-Aswad | Reviewed this property |
There is a very small lift, which frequently breaks down. However, there are rooms available on the ground floor, which can be accessed by people with reduced mobility. The hotel has a prominent position above the West... More
0
Votes
25mojopoppet
15 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from veryhappytripper | Reviewed this property |
Have to say that the food was not great as Suehugh says and I am unsure if the serving staff would be able to confirm that the food was prepared as a vegetarian/vegan would like ie separate from meat preparation if your food... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for a view of the bay east facing....Take change for the expensive parking!"
Read review
"A sea view is £42 extra but only a budget room buy most standars"
Read review
"2nd floor sea view"
Read review
"Rooms at the back are quieter..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing