We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveller (443)
Room & Suite (153)
Video (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Find a great deal here.

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
97Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
34Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,296Reviews
483Photos
40Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 499
  • 298
  • 155
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My husband booked this as a surprise for our anniversary. We have mixed reviews but mostly disappointing. First thing I noticed when entering the lobby was a strong smell of stale tobacco, this continued up the stairs and along the corridors but thankfully not into our room.
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
What a fantastic place whitby is and the royal hotel is just amazing,fantastic food, fantastic staff and the hotel is amazing, we paid extra for a sea view well worth every penny, really warm hotel heating was on all the time, the views are to die for, it was so good we have
Read more
Response from VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2019
Thank you for the 5* review. I'm delighted to see we ticked the box throughout and you found your stay to be value for money. I will pass your comments to all. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Vicki Glen General Manager
Read more
Paid £42 extra for a sea view room arrived and was given keys to room 5 yes you could see the sea but the room was ground level so had to look over the cars which were parked up outside the bedroom windows plus we had people walking by our window and people standing at the side
Read more
Excellent value and service reception staff very helpful and very willing to offer good advice about the area and ways to travel. Restaurant service very good with polite friendly staff . Would advise pay extra for harbour view
Read more
Stayed at the Bay Hotel in Whitby for a weekend break. Paid extra for a sea view. Can't fault anything at the hotel apart from the evening meal, on both nights we both had different meals but they were awful if you got there at 6.30 no doubt they would have been fresh but at
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
room with a view - NOT
Gap Under Bedroom Window Frame
A two minute fixture, that's all.
veiw outside the royal
Bedroom
PreviousNext
12345631
I am vegetarian... Coming on Monday....is there food for me??
Would think so, just phone the hotel direct and tell them your dietary requirements then you will know for certain.
1 vote
Is the hotel a long way from the harbour and is it a long uphill walk
Depends which part of harbour you mean, you can walk down the steps at the Khyber Pass to the first part of the estuary end of the harbour, this will take about 5/6 mins from the hotel, it is then flat to walk right up to the swing bridge and beyond to the rest of the harbour, this will take about 20 mins. From anywhere in the town it is uphill back to the hotel which is on the West cliff, however you can artificially flatten out the walk by taking a zig zag route, if you are fit and can walk, then the best way back is by the Khyber Pass, this is all flat from town except the last bit which is either up the steps or round the road bend. If you have been to Whitby before you should have an idea of where I am talking about, if you have not been then don't be put off, Whitby is a great place to visit, I am sure you won't be disappointed. Hope this helps.
0 votes
Show all answers
We would like a standard room with a walk in shower any suggestions?. Is room 104 one of these.
I can only suggest to phone the hotel.
1 vote
Show all answers
Robbie Burns reincarnated? What a joke !
Sorry, don't understand the (well is it a) question?
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234568
"Pay extra for harbour view must prebook"
"For an extra charge you can have a sea view, which is stunning, but the standard rooms are excellent.."
"The best rooms have to be overlooking the Sea and Abbey the low 300's are great ."
"ask for a quiet room with a sea view worth the extra"
"Upgrade to premium sea view, it's worth it"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireScarborough DistrictWhitby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing