Discovery Accomodation
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Discovery Accomodation

Traveller (703)
huge room .
Room & Suite (235)
dirty and in poor repair
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#47 of 58 guest houses in Whitby
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set at different locations from the popular West Cliff to the glorious Pannett Park, Discovery Accommodation is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk from the sandy Whitby Beach. Our guests have use of an indoor heated swimming pool and infra-red sauna for their own private use at an additional fee. Both very popular so we advise pre-booking these facilities. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a TV, hot drinks facilities and a private bathroom. Some of our rooms feature a fully equipped kitchen and living area, and all have fresh, modern decor. We have a range of properties varying from our popular and modern Town House, to our traditional Discovery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming guests in our stylish lounge office.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free internet
Wifi
Pool
Indoor pool
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary tea
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

11 Silver Street, Whitby YO21 3BX England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Durham Tees Valley Airport
32.2 mi
See all flights
1,219Review6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 400
  • 256
  • 180
  • 129
  • 255
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
aqua_butterfly wrote a review Aug 2020
Skegness, United Kingdom212 contributions59 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend is a regular to Whitby and always stays here. The cost when we split it was very reasonable. We had a 2 bed apartment in Starfish. It's very central and there is a carpark across the road where I think we had the last spot. Sign in was all electronic and easy to follow.
It was overall clean and with no major maintenance issues. The bathroom was roomy and the shower was good! There is an iron and hairdryer and packs of fresh towels!
They are currently using easy to wipe down plastic covered pillows and quilts. It wasn't as issue making my own bed but they are hot and noisy to sleep on so suggest bringing your own bedding. The WiFi does only work when the TV is on but we didn't have any issues with speed.
Yes, the seagulls wake you up very early and there are some noisy buggers outside.
The complimentary coffee etc was most welcome and we didn't have an issue with the bamboo plates etc, a metal teaspoon at least would be practical and perhaps some more sugar.
I would stay here again though.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrmrsjohnson2012 wrote a review Aug 2020
Middlesbrough5 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just left starfish 3 after 2 nights break. The apartment itself was comfortable and very clean. Plenty of clean sheets and towels. The apartment block is secure and only a short distance from the beach. All sheets and towels are packed in plastic bags for cleanliness. The checking in process was poor, again probably due to covid. A few families arrived at the same time and non of us had been texted our codes, as the road is really small especially with all of our cases we were all stood around discussing how we get into the apartment block. To our surprise after 10 min of blocking traffic and stood around complaining a man who I can only presume was the caretaker for the building stood up from no more than 8ft away and opened the door. It was so bizarre that he just sat eating his icecream listening to us trying to gain access and didnt bother to tell us he was there. Not sure what that was about. There were a few small faults that did not effect our stay to much but thought it was worth a mention. The shower looks like a power shower but does not put out half as much water as it should due to all the lime scale on the heads, easily sorted. Plates, bowls cups and cutlery are all paper due to covid and no glasses at all. however we were not informed. If you are staying I would recommend you take your own or do like we did and go to the local pound shop for plastic picnic sets. Overall our stay was nice and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
beautifulvoice1990 wrote a review Mar 2022
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom58 contributions31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Starfish cottage for one night as a family of 3 adults and 2 children aged 11 and 3.

We found check in was very late at 4pm especially with children. The check in is a key pad and the code is 'texted' to you around 1 hour before. We had trouble finding which accommodation was ours and struggled a little to get in. I would much rather see a real person who can assist you and help with any issues.

We also found a 9:30am check out time as very early as it meant we were only actually in the property for less than 24 hours.

The accommodation was clean and well equipped. There were instructions on how to use Alexa to turn on the heating in the bedrooms which we did immediately as it was cold. Alexa told us the heaters were on...but we later found after returning home that the mains plugs were switched off on the heaters so the idea of having a posh Alexa system seemed a bit pointless...

Location is fantastic , right in the centre of Whitby and a very short walk to the beach and main shops etc, and it was very quiet at night as it was off the main road.

Car parking spaces VERY tight. I am very glad I had a mini as you would struggle getting down the streets in a normal estate car (definitely wouldn't get a 4x4 in the spaces)

VERY steep stairs and low beams (hit my head a few times) I think the owners need to put some safety tape on the low beam into the top bedroom. Definitely not the place for someone elderly or very tall, or anyone with any kind of mobility issue.

Enjoyed the stay but probably wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not for those with mobility issues due to steep stairs and low beams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emilyjane111 wrote a review Sept 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here with friends and two dogs in September and were completely disappointed by our apartment. We paid for a 'superior' room but in all honestly, our room wasn't even clean which is highly concerning giving that we are currently experiencing a pandemic.. there was black mould on the shower so it clearly hadn't been cleaned in a very long time, the floors were dirty and sticky, we had to ask for new bed sheets as ours were covered in stains and there were wires hanging out of the wall. The smoke alarm was also not on the wall.. The lamp in the living room didn't work. We had 4 paper cups for our 2 night stay! The bed sheets were made of plastic so it felt like sleeping in a waterproof coat all night.

I feel like it was a alot of money to stay in outdated and dirty accommodation. How this place has 4 stars is beyond me. I could maybe forgive if the place was at least clean but it was discussing.

Whitby is a lovely place to visit and the location of this apartment was the only good thing about it. I will definitely not be returning and would 100% urge anyone considering booking to avoid. The price for 2 nights, 4 people and 2 dogs was £450, we booked a modern CLEAN apartment earlier this year for £500 in a simular location and that was for a week!!

I've literally never left a bad review for any accommodation and I always read other people's reviews with a pinch of salt as we're pretty laid back and happy-go-lucky people, however not even having somewhere clean is just unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise W wrote a review Aug 2020
62 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was so pleased with this accomodation. In the center of Whitby (close to the poundshop if looking on a map) Everything was contactless and covid guidelines were meet brilliantly. Accommodation name and door code were sent to phone at check in time of 3pm (so no need to see reception) the room was clean, everything was in sealed bags from towel, teabags, toiletries and bedding (which meant you had to put on yourself but we didn't mind as it meant we knew it was clean) there was a variety of cleaning products, clothes and gloves available within the room should you wish to use them. This room cost us £70 for a double room midweek stay. Upon checkout you again received a text that asked you to inform the accomodation if anyone within your party had become unwell during your stay, used towels and bedding was to be left in the bathroom and you simply closed the door on your way out (check out was 10am). We used a carpark near by that cost us approximately £8 for 24hrs. Very pleased would definitely recommend and use again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roger W wrote a review Sept 2020
Sheffield Green, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in Seabreeze 6 for 4 nights in September 2020. When we arrived at the property with the code to enter the building, both inner & outer doors were unlocked (UNSECURE). Items in the bedroom looked well sanitised, ie bedding, we weren't impressed with the cheap plastic duvet. The sink in the bathroom was too small fill the kettle or wash any pans, no washing up bowl or tea towel was provided. There were only paper cups and wooden knives, forks plates and bowls. We purchased our own. The bathroom dimensions are not as stated, the bathroom door was water damaged & very difficult to open & close. The entrance into the shower is very narrow & difficult to get in and out of, if you have more than a 36 inch waist!! There was only just enough toilet paper for a day. The extractor fan on the wall in the bathroom did not work. There isn't an adequate place to dry your wet bath towels. Room 7 (next door) had a dog PEGGY. Peggy liked to bark in the night and early morning, the owners weren't concerned, we found it very annoying. The 23rd September was particularly cold &wet night, we could not get the heater to work in the room and there was no written instructions as to how we could turn the heating on to warm ourselves. We would have liked to have been informed via email before our holiday of the long term renovation going on next door, the noise did not make our holiday any better. All in all the fact that the office was closed and several couples were wandering around wanting information, your telephone number on the door is just not good enough! The itinerary of our room was not correct. We have used Discovery before, but this time we were very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Make sure you look for the words 'SEA VIEW' and arrange a parking permit before you go....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim R wrote a review Sept 2020
13 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible. No
breakfast on 2nd or 3rd day even though we paid for it. Noisy horrible 'crisp packet' duvet. Had to make own beds up. No tea, coffee or sugar after 1st day. Only one large towel each and one small for 3 day stay. Only one tiny pack of loo tissues one shampoo/body wash for 2 people, lift not working. 'Disgusting' bamboo plates and wooden forks, tiny paper cups for hot drinks...vending machine style! Drove for almost 2 hrs trying to park. Paid for a 3 day car parking permit, but only got 2 day permit so had to complain. Eventually parked but very far away from accomodation. No 'welcome pack' or info in room about surrounding area/ emergency contacts etc. No 'fire' escape procedures or assembly point information. The view was awful, an alley way with bins from one window and a tiny street view from lounge. They were more worried about you 'cooking kippers or curry'in the room and this was the only sign displayed! We would never use Discovery Accomodation again....disgusting for the price we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kevan1380 wrote a review Feb 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom62 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 3 nights with Discovery, we were unaware that they had properties all over Whitby and its pot luck what you get. You have to pay to use the pool £4 per person and £10 per day parking again was unaware of these charges we didn't use the pool. We were in Beach House room 7 top of the house up 5 flights of stairs no joke for a couple of late 60s, we would not have booked if we had been aware. Room was tiny couldn’t swing a kitten let alone a cat. Unable to open the doors properly on the child size wardrobe arm chair was a waste of time straight under an eve. No kettle 1st time in the UK for about 20 years that no kettle in the room. Room was freezing with the “heater” up full it managed to crawl up to 13 degrees on my phone and that was after being on full all night. Mattress was uncomfortable. TV was very small we used our Laptop, wifi is slow, ok for emails but not for streaming, used our own data on the lappy. Bathroom was functional though the door wouldn’t shut, door handle on the shower were missing on 1 door and broke on the other, flush on the loo needed to be held down. The only thing that was acceptable was that it was clean. We left after 1 night, wouldn’t use this company again. We have stayed in Whitby on 5 occasions in the last 3 years this was by far the worst only surpassed overall by a couple of places in Spain.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Just don't
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DiscoveryAccomm, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Accomodation
Responded 13 Feb 2020
The property you chose is one of our budget economy rooms. We have a selection of properties varying in size and price. We charge a small fee to use the pool as it can be booked for your own private use.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JJA wrote a review Aug 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom24 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So, I write this at 5.15am as the gulls start to make whatever it is their noise is called. To be fair, having been awake all night I could have looked it up. I should also add I’m currently laying on the floor, as the paper bedding sounds like you are trying to sleep on a bed made of extra loud crisp packets (if there is such a thing), obviously made worse when there are two of you. I repeat, lying on the floor is preferable to the bed in a hotel room in the U.K. in 2020. Anyway....

I would say the beeping from the television (switched off, obviously) began around 1am and again and hour later. Not continuous, just one very loud, inexplicable beep.

I understand the covid restrictions in place, but actually making the guest make their own bed and still charging seventy odd quid a night is quite frankly, an insult. The bedding is made from paper and as such, it does feel and sound (amongst the beeping) like you are sleeping in a crisp packet. To add to the wartime boarding house theme, it appears toilet roll is also rationed. In lieu of actual roll, there is a small plastic packet of tissues, most of which was used to clean up after the previous guests, which begs the question why is there such an emphasis on covid restrictions when the basics aren’t taken care of.

In Stoker’s novel, after the shipwreck, Dracula runs up the famous 199 steps to the graveyard in St Mary’s church in the form of a black dog. Perhaps I have taken the same form, I mean I am currently lying on the floor. I suppose a dog doesn’t pay seventy odd quid to do so though. No wonder Dracula liked it on top of the steps, he probably preferred the serenity up there compared to down here and the rustling bed (seriously, a bed that rustles), high pitched beeping television, shower that sprays water over the floor (no shower curtain, surely they can be replaced?), convoluted way of getting in to the place and ridiculous check in/check out times (4pm-9.30am).

“We learn from failure, not from success” wrote Bram Stoker in Dracula. Maybe this is what he meant, because staying here was a huge failure, never to be repeated.

Awful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire H wrote a review Sept 2020
Castleford, United Kingdom38 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed in 3 hotels/apartments in 6 days (York/Scarborough finishing in Whitby) and this hotel accommodation was the most expensive and very disappointing, we stayed in no12 sea breeze paying extra for a sea view room this can only be seen if you sit at the breakfast bar Where the stools sink when you sit on them So end up not being able to see anything or stand up Which is not ideal after a long day walking around. The bed is tiny for such a large room more like a 3/4 bed than a double, the shower is pointless the shower head slides down the pole so ends up hitting you on the head, water drains away very slowly so you have to turn the shower off at least 3 times when showering to prevent flooding the bathroom, then when you turn the shower back on the water comes out steaming hot so you get burnt then goes freezing then be-time the temp is ok to stand under the shower tray is ready for flooding again so you have to be very quick, for me the bathing facilities are the most important thing as after you have had a busy day a nice hot shower or bath makes you feel so much better and ready to enjoy the evening. The towels provided smelt awful they where in plastic bags when we got here due to Covid so I assume they haven’t been dried correctly before putting in the bags. The building next door is currently under renovation and the scaffolding is up against the side of the windows hearing the work men shouting at 8am in the morning right outside your window and the jack hammer running out the back of the accommodation is not ideal even though we was already awake it wasn’t very peaceful. The only good point about this hotel is the location and when you do sit at the breakfast bar or stand looking out of the windows the view is very nice however I wouldn’t book this hotel again and wouldn’t recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kendra_marie asked a question Aug 2018
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom112 contributions49 helpful votes
Do you pay at the property on arrival?
Answer from Marie C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom20 contributions76 helpful votes
Booked wuth booking. Com but discovery took the money out of the bank.
Answer from Mark P
Halifax, United Kingdom105 contributions43 helpful votes
I used the link from the website and prepaid and printed off a voucher
Answer from sun61
derby22 contributions11 helpful votes
you should get an email . or message ..I had same problem at first. if you go back on the sight your details should come up
Thelobsterman asked a question Nov 2017
Chester, United Kingdom514 contributions374 helpful votes
I’m staying on Silver St Discovery can anyone suggest the nearest car park facility? Many thanks
Answer from sun61
derby22 contributions11 helpful votes
there is one on the same road very narrow road and one way .if you haven't got enough change you can phone the no on ticket machine n pay by card you also get a text when time running out
Yorkshire77 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Huddersfield, United Kingdom98 contributions42 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book elsewhere"
Read full review
Lauren H wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book it "
Read full review
Ray C wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own brewing stuff No parking available nearby Pillows flat Cold damp room, mouldy bathroom"
Read full review
Victoria wrote a tip Feb 2024
Denholme, United Kingdom3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't waste your money, shockingly bad accommodation! "
Read full review
nads2431 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Keighley, United Kingdom6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking could be a problem in the summer busy times but this is the case all over Whitby. Free parking in February on the main road"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whitby area.
PRICE RANGE
£53 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
discovery accomodation hotel whitby
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireScarborough DistrictWhitby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DISCOVERY ACCOMODATION - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Discovery Accomodation
Which popular attractions are close to Discovery Accomodation?
Nearby attractions include Whitby Museum (0.2 miles), RNLI Lifeboat museum (0.2 miles), and 199 Steps (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Discovery Accomodation?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free internet access, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Discovery Accomodation?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Discovery Accomodation?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Discovery Accomodation?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Discovery Accomodation?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lush Coffee, Mr Cooper’s Coffee House, and sandgate coffee & delights.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Discovery Accomodation?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Discovery Accomodation located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the centre of Whitby.
Are pets allowed at Discovery Accomodation?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Discovery Accomodation?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mulgrave Castle (3.6 miles), Whitby Town Railway Station (0.2 miles), and Ruswarp Railway Station (1.3 miles).
All Whitby HotelsWhitby Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WhitbyHotels near Discovery Accomodation
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire