We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Whitby

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (188)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (7)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“youth hostel”(41 reviews)
“bunk beds”(23 reviews)
AMENITIES
Public Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from YHA Whitby
Special Offer:BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
Offers from YHA Whitby
Special Offer:BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
164
91
26
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
164
91
26
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenyouth hostelbunk bedsfree entryabbey houseamazing locationfootball tablelaundry facilitiesgames roomsteeped in historypay displayfamily roomcleveland waysmall car parkbeautiful old buildingen suite facilitieswashing machine
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A last minute visit to Whitby left me and 2 friends with minimum options, so we booked this place mainly for cost and location. For a hostel this place was exactly as expected, outdated and under maintained rooms, with thin walls that reminded you it’s...More

Thank Gavin B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been before. .....im a regular hosteller and staff were excellant and very pleasant and really efficient 5☆.. My pal had never been to a hostel and he was bowled over..loved it..we were on a boozy couple of days and he was telling everyone in the...More

Thank Sohny111
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very large "country house" next to Whitby Abbey and part of the larger site managed by English Heritage. Limited parking right outside the hostel (get a permit free from reception). Set on the eastern cliffs overlooking the town and inland to the Yorkshire Moors. Whole...More

Thank Dean A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: - Good food - Place was clean - The self-catering kitchen had a good selection of equipment Cons: - Beds were horrible: gave me a sore back and had tiny duvets - Building is very noisy/creaky and cold (single-glaze windows) - No privacy at...More

1  Thank 516accor
Response from Whitby M, Manager at YHA WhitbyResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello 516accor Many thanks for your review. I also received the central feedback you left us from your stay too. Its not clear from your review if you have stayed in a youth hostel before, but the layout of rooms, the bunk beds and all...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stunning location, handy for the town and excellent beer at Whitby Brewery. Would recommend and will probably visit again some time. Handy as starting point for the walk to Robin Hoods Bay and not too far from the railway station,so you don't have to rely...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Sean M
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Whitby, United Kingdom
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (188)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (7)
Amenities (23)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Michelle H
1 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Whitby M | Property representative |
Hello the steps themselves are quite shallow and with a handrail so if you anybody of average fitness shouldn't struggle - just take your time and enjoy the views! Alternatively, there is a car park on the headland and local... More
0
Votes
alexmatt12
18 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Whitby M | Property representative |
Hello We do have rooms that contain a double bed
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms are bunks which are ok if you are slim, have no problems with joints, or heights and like a hard bed."
Read review
"Room 11 lets in rain (but has amazing views)"
Read review
"If you have someone with you it's easy enough to drop them off with the bags at the hostel door before..."
Read review
"Great view of the Abbey"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing