We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnolia Guest House

Save
Share
16 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (13)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#74 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Magnolia Guest House is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Whitby, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Close to some of Whitby's most popular landmarks, such as The Whalebone Arch (0.2 mi) and Captain Cook Statue (0.2 mi), Magnolia Guest House is a great destination for tourists.Rooms and suites at Magnolia Guest House offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. If you are driving to Magnolia Guest House, free parking is available. If you’re looking for somewhere to eat, consider a visit to The Magpie, The Fisherman's Wife, Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie or Botham's, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Magnolia Guest House. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Whitby Abbey (0.5 mi), Whitby Harbour (0.3 mi), or St Mary's Church (0.6 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance. Enjoy your stay in Whitby!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
143Reviews4Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 116
  • 22
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
lhlh2004 wrote a review Sep 2018
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
Just back from a two night stay at magnolia guest house Whitby with my husband two daughters and dog. Very helpful friendly hard working owner who went out of his way to make us feel very welcome , could not fault the family room,breakfast fab and we all had a lovely time,thank you so much will definitely be back next year,best guest house we have stayed in in Whitby and we visit every year.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jayne T wrote a review Sep 2018
Loughborough, United Kingdom33 contributions12 helpful votes
We booked a one night stay at Magnolia. Phoned to book accommodation, and Ian was very helpful. Upon arrival we were made very welcome. Ian took time to give us information about Whitby, as we had never visited before. Whilst decor is a bit tired, it was clean. We did have problem with shower, which we reported, and Ian was unaware of it, but assured us it would be sorted. Breakfast was good, freshly cooked, and good options. Good fresh coffee. Pleasant dining room. A very pet friendly place. Car parking was on road, but Ian provided us with parking voucher, and so easy and convenient. We were very satisfied with our deal, affordable, comfortable, clean and friendly. Thank you Ian, we'd be happy to stay again if visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
John W wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Met at the door by Ian who was very friendly.He showed us to our room which was room 4.The room was quite dated and could do with brighter lighting.The bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful enough but the downside was the silicone around the base needed replacing and the toilet had a slight leak which was always on the floor after flushing.Breakfast was ok but not served hot due to been served on cold plates.Ian does well considering he manages the guest house on his own,but to be honest it would be a bonus if he had some help to lighten the load.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: very poor for parking outside the guest house and NOT room 4
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian W, Owner at Magnolia Guest House
Responded 4 Sep 2018
John, I'm so sorry you had issues with your stay. We always strive to make everyone's stay a happy one and we are proud of the fact that we achieve that in the vast majority of instances. It is such a shame that you didn't mention your issues to me when you were here. I have already identified the toilet leak and the problem has been resolved. As for the shower, it is thoroughly cleaned at every changeover and any silicone replacement occurs as part of an ongoing maintenance regime during off season. I must admit to being a little confused about your cold plates as they are always pulled from the plate warmer immediately before serving. My running the guest house solo is a temporary measure as my wife is not well at the moment but this is not connected to the issues you had. Once again, we are very sorry for the issues you had. Kind Regards, Ian.
Read more
Suzanne S wrote a review Aug 2018
Haworth, United Kingdom4 contributions
Stayed here for a short break with my dog. We were lucky enough to stay in the king size room at the front with a bay window overlooking the Abbey. Clean and comfortable accommodation with a great host who could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was lovely with quite possibly the best scrambled eggs I've ever tasted. Thank you Ian, we plan to return another time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
jonnythefox wrote a review Jul 2018
south yorkshire8 contributions8 helpful votes
had another two night stay at the magnolia b/b . once again greeted by Ian who is a very friendly owner. nothing too much trouble for him gave us a few pointers of where to go in Whitby with our little dog Georgie for food and drinks and things to do . our room was very clean at the front just a little small but OK .breakfast is fine everything cooked how me and my partner like it.will definitely be back to the magnolia when we visit Whitby again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireScarborough DistrictWhitby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Magnolia Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Magnolia Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Whitby Museum (0.2 miles), RNLI Lifeboat museum (0.2 miles), and Whitby Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Magnolia Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Magnolia Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Magnolia Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Magnolia Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ditto Restaurant, Beckett's coffee shop, and Al Taco.
Is Magnolia Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Whitby.
Are any cleaning services offered at Magnolia Guest House?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Magnolia Guest House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Magnolia Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mulgrave Castle (3.4 miles), Whitby Town Railway Station (0.3 miles), and Ruswarp Railway Station (1.3 miles).