Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The White House Inn

Traveller (352)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (45)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£85
£85
Breakfast included
No booking fees
£85
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#8 of 13 small hotels in Whitby
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
The White House Hotel is a family run hotel that overlooks Whitby Golf Club and commands amazing views along the Yorkshire Coast towards Sandsend. The House has 11 bedrooms, a restauant serving local produce from moor and sea as well as having a relaxing welcoming bar which is popular with both guests and locals alike.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
739Reviews9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 365
  • 192
  • 76
  • 42
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark Bennett wrote a review Jan 2022
Northampton, United Kingdom582 contributions268 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a twin room (the only one left at the time of booking) for three nights between Christmas and New Year. The room was one of the annex rooms across the car park which had a lovely welcoming door however was pretty disappointing inside. On entering we were met with many signs and instructions saying what we couldn't do and ask that we "don't judge us as a hotel as were an inn" Im not sure what that gives an excuse for and we found the room to be functional but depressing with what felt like hospital beds along with a cold disabled facilitated bathroom. It was spotless but with plug in heaters and a faulty TV remote we just focused on using the room for sleeping only and getting out and about in Whitby. The fact that this "Inn" is in a good location for walking into Whitby with free parking was good and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were also very welcoming but we were disappointed when coming back the first day at 8pm to be told food was no longer available due to a lack of customers. Given the Inn was fully booked its a shame they couldn't offer anything other than bar snacks to residents but I accept that hospitality is tough at present and sending staff home early helps reduce overheads. Maybe the kitchen could knock up a few sandwiches before leaving to at least give guests the option.
We didn't stay for our 3rd night as we wanted to stay in (due to the bad weather) and the room was too depressing so, for the price, we wouldn't stay here again but these are relatively minor issues which the "Inn" could quickly resolve for future guests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian S wrote a review Aug 2020
Benidorm, Spain216 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On the spur of the moment we decided to use booking.com on Saturday 15th August to find somewhere to stay in Whitby.
Everywhere was booked solid so by lunchtime we were resigned to not going at all,when all of a sudden this became available so i instantly hit book without even checking it out (risky lol)
Arrived to a lovely welcome although slightly confusing where to check in as the directions for hotel guests takes you to a door that says no entry lol.
My partner needed to store some medication in a fridge and the girl who checked us in was most helpful in arranging this too.
We were given room 17 in an outside building not massive but plenty big enough for our needs very clean and decent radiator as it was chilly on the night.
Previously we have always stayed in the centre of Whitby but was nice to just park up and not have to search for a parking space.
I had a couple of drinks in the bar while waiting for my partner and the young staff were great,thanks to Dan for sorting a taxi for us into town.
Great full english breakfast included the next morning too,the blonde haired lady who served us breakfast was again amazing very friendly.
All in all an hassle free stay and will 100% return.
Pub has a great beer garden too overlooking the road to Sandsend and the golf course.
Because of the ease of parking and the cheap taxi rides to Whitby its far more convenient to stay outside in this pub
Hope to see you soon
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ClackerPontefract wrote a review Oct 2020
Pontefract, United Kingdom142 contributions82 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 2 nights in one of the annexe rooms. Whilst it does need some TLC (the bathroom especially), it was one of the best showers in a long time!! The room is very basic but has all the essentials, bed was comfortable and the room warm enough. The hotel is really trying hard to ensure that guests are safe and employing the covid regulations which didn't affect our enjoyment at all. The breakfast was VERY nice, the poached eggs were cooked to perfection and overall very clean looking plates of food. We ate here one evening and that was absolutely fine. Steak pie and chicken noodles did the trick, as did the creme brulee. Good value for money. Again, just being picky, when sat near the windows, the blinds are looking very tired and stained, but appreciate that the hotel has to prioritise things in light of the restrictions being faced. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siobhain K wrote a review Sept 2020
Long Eaton, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the White House Inn September 2020.

I always read other people’s comments and feedback before I book to go anywhere. We mainly decided on the White House due to its location, as we didn’t want to stay in the centre of Whitby. One thing that stood out to me whilst researching the location and reading the reviews left by others about the White House Inn, was that the owner David or the person writing his replies to feedback seemed to be very defensive about any kind of negative feedback left for them and in some cases quite rude and nasty about other guests, which did concern me a little.

Reviews left by people, even negative ones should be welcomed by good establishments to enable them to improve. However, we decided to stick with this property as everywhere else that we had considered was unfortunately booked up for the time we wanted to go.

We arrived around midday; the location was very nice as we expected it to be from the pictures that we had seen. We went inside as we wanted to leave the car in the car park and we were too early for check in. We thought we would use the time to walk into Whitby and just wanted to check that this was ok? Not a greatest welcome on entering, but pleasant enough.

We came back from Whitby later that afternoon for check in; we were in the annex room 17. First impressions, it was very small and not the cleanest, the bathroom sink was only a very small hand basin, so washing your face was awkward and I didn’t even consider getting in the shower area as just didn’t look clean enough.

We had booked an evening meal for convenience, as we were just staying the one night and didn’t want to go back into Whitby again. We sat in the bar area for a drink first and noticed that the floor was filthy by the 2 leatherette settees. I had pie, chips & peas, it was ok, and my husband had gammon which was ok, however did look a bit overcooked. My daughter had fish which looked and tasted nice; however we felt that all the meals were extremely overpriced for the quality that they were. The lady that attended to us appeared to be overly false with her service and it was blatantly obvious.

Sorry, but just try to be genuine!

Our breakfast was ok the following morning, but nothing special. The tables need to be spaced out more with reference to social distancing. I know it is only 1 metre now, but if someone else had sat on the next table it would have been only a few inches from shoulder to shoulder at the side of my husband, but I’m sure you will have an explanation and contradict that David once your hiding behind a keyboard!

We loved Whitby & Sandsend, but wouldn’t either stay at or recommend the White House Inn if you want good service and clean functional rooms. We paid £110 for the annex room for 1 night, which we now know was extortionate all things considered!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Galea, Owner at The White House Inn
Responded 27 Sept 2020
The irony is fantastic here. The effort you are putting in to try and destroy our business, shows you up for the spoiled and unruly person you are. She calls me a keyboard warrior yet this ineffectual person never met me and had every chance to as I work and live at this business, there were no complaints made during her visit and her complaints now are unfounded. She was wrong about covid guidelines and when corrected, understandably was embarrassed, it's human nature. For anyone reading this please check other reviews posted by this vexatious non-entity. booking.com 11/9/20 tripadvisor 4/9/20 & 18/9/20 under a different name . Also, she wrote to the local council to complain about our covid security, they have since inspected us and given us a gold standard award for our covid procedures. You awful person. This review is curious in the extreme. You booked your room and confirmed that you had read the details and the terms and conditions, you cannot complete an online booking without doing so. Your description is ridiculous and not worthy of a response. Suffice to say the photographs you saw were a very true reflection of the room and the bed is high quality and brand new. There was nothing wrong with breakfast except your mood and rudeness to my staff, if you are claustrophobic there was nothing that happened to you here that affected that. Don't bother with your formal complaint, as you've already requested details through bdc and left your abhorrent review. Your incorrect thoughts and lies have been noted. You also reported us to the council for poor covid security, well that didn't work either as they gave us a thumbs up for all our efforts. Edit Remove
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KB206gti wrote a review Sept 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom37 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The only thing that this place has going for it is the location. The view of the coastline from the rear garden and rear dining area was very nice. The menu is very limited, but the evening meal and full English breakfast were nice, yet overpriced, as was the cost of the actual room which was extremely overpriced.

As regards the actual room which looked very nice on the deceptive photos when booking, they turned out to be a disappointment; the annex room was adequate, yet poorly designed and not the cleanest, lots of dust and spider webs around especially around the dirty skylight. An unnecessarily large wardrobe took up a lot of the room space, which could have been better used. The bathroom was adequate; however the sink was way too small, just a hand basin. All in all OK for a disappointing expensive overnight stay, but you wouldn't want to be in there any longer than that. The main restaurant and bar area are passable, however some areas are not following social distancing with the table and chair layout.

I work in customer service and found the staff that we encountered to be of fabricated courtesy, argumentative and acerbic if you raised any issues. We were told on a couple of occasions that they couldn’t do anything as simple as move us to a different table in the restaurant when we raised social distancing issues; as we had booked through Booking.com rather than contacting them directly. This again went for the reason that we were given incorrect rooms, different from time of booking also.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose an different hotel or B&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Galea, Owner at The White House Inn
Responded 21 Sept 2020
The irony is fantastic here. She calls me a keyboard warrior yet this ineffectual person never met me and had every chance to as I work and live at this business, there were no complaints made during her visit and her complaints now are unfounded. She was wrong about covid guidelines and when corrected, understandably was embarrassed, it's human nature. For anyone reading this please check other reviews posted by this vexatious non-entity. booking.com 11/9/20 tripadvisor 4/9/20 & 18/9/20 under a different name Also, she wrote to the local council to complain about our covid security, they have since inspected us and given us a gold standard award for our covid procedures. You awful person.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vodkaang wrote a review Oct 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom39 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This our third visit here just this year!! am totally smitten with this hotel as it’s just in the most stunning location. The staff (all of them) are so helpful and friendly and they always make you feel so welcome. The last couple of times we have booked the balcony rooms and even though they are slightly more expensive they are without doubt the best rooms in the house with the stunning views over the golf course and sea. Unfortunately they were booked up this time so we stayed in the annexe rooms. They were lovely and cosy and very clean. The only downside was that we had a water tank in the roof of the room and when everyone was showering etc in the block on a morning it was really noisy when refilling. This wouldn’t put me off staying in the annexe again though. The food at the White House is exceptional. The breakfast is fab and one of the chefs makes the most divine scrambled eggs :-) we had dinner there too and I’ve got to say the fish and chips were the best I’ve ever tasted! The staff are fabulous and always friendly and they all stick to the Covid rules and regulations. I am delighted that the White House has bounced back after lockdown and I am already looking into my next trip here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rebeccabV2756HD wrote a review Aug 2020
Durham, United Kingdom23 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Third visit to this establishment as the in laws always want to visit on our annual trips. The first time was nice, however it says it is a dog friendly pub but it never seems welcoming to dogs, the dogs aren’t allowed on the furniture and when the dogs were making noise they threatened to throw us out the second time. We were celebrating two birthdays and I just felt uncomfortable and wanted to leave. My fiancé ordered the pie and it was awful, it just had a lid and the pastry was thick and uneatable. The third time we just popped up after walking on the beach without a reservation and we sat outside, which was fine as we don’t feel comfortable inside anymore with the dogs. We ordered food and drinks and the food came separately over about ten minutes (which is one of my least favourite things) then another twenty minutes had gone by without the last meal (£14 salad) hadn’t arrived yet. We had mentioned it to a young male member of staff who said he’d check but he never came back. I eventually had to go to the outside bar and mention it, the female member of staff was lovely and she said she would check on it. She said I will check and refund you. Which was adequate for the mistake. But then a member of staff came over with the cash (we paid by card) and said he had cancelled the order. So I went without food and without an apology.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Galea, Owner at The White House Inn
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Please see our facebook page for their other review and the the truthful explanations of what happened
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MikeGardener wrote a review Sept 2020
Bradford, United Kingdom37 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our party of four booked a table for early evening, the view and location was excellent, the car park was a little tight..probably due to residents of the inn using the spaces too.

The ‘home made’ steak and ale pie was tasty, however, the pastry lid would have been put to better use on the beach as a frisby, it was inedible.

The other dishes we ordered : lasagne and chicken parmo were no more than basic pub grub at fine dining prices and none of the dishes tasted home made. It was more like a Pub chain pre prepared meal. The portions were not big. The waitress just grinned and seemed indifferent when we mentioned our disappointment.

We had dined the previous night at a cosy friendly pub in a local village, the food was delicious, definitely homemade , the staff were friendly and welcoming and the price was on the same level as the White House Inn.

We really should have gone back there.

Not to worry, we will know next time. I await your response to my honest review with anticipation
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don’t waste your money.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Galea, Owner at The White House Inn
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Hi Thanks for your review, I believe a friend of yours already did one! Please read my reply to them. No insults, just facts. Regards Dave Galea Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sueykk wrote a review Mar 2020
Stockport, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived slightly early on the Friday afternoon and were greeted by a lovely friendly young lady who said they were ahead of schedule so we could go to our room. It was a lovely room, a really good size, the bed was really big and the bathroom was light and airy. The shower was a little bit noisy but that was only a minor thing. We went off into Whitby for the afternoon/evening but were assured that should we want to eat in the restaurant that they would definitely fit us in. We ended up eating out but it was nice to know that the option was there.
The next morning we came down for breakfast and there was a great choice of the usual things and a huge pot of tea. We both had cooked breakfasts, mine being the veggie option and they were really good. We decided to eat in the restaurant that night and I can definitely recommend the scampi. We stayed for two nights and have to say I would have liked to have stayed for longer.
Thankyou to all who looked after us on our trip and we will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne W wrote a review Jun 2020
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom2 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am another visitor who was refused a refund by The White House for a weekend booked prior to lockdown. They took the full amount before my stay, despite me having received and forwarded on an email from the agency I booked through which assured me that I would be refunded. I was told to claim on my travel insurance policy. Please bear in mind that this is Whitby and not Wyoming. Very upset.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dave_Galea, Owner at The White House Inn
Responded 5 Jul 2020
Nobody was refused a refund. If you booked through booking.com, which is the only agency we deal with, then you have to deal with them, our contract with them specifically disallows us from dealing with their customers. They have refunded their customers who were due a refund, why you are an exception is not known to me. If you want to email me with all your details I will look into this for you, and search our records to ascertain if a refund has been made or a recharge has been claimed. If this is the case then this review is false! Please feel free to contact me at Info@whitehouse-Whitby.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NikiNige2004 asked a question Jun 2021
Wakefield, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi, do the rooms have a iron? Thanks 😊
Answer from Nigel B
Halifax, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes irons are provided
Show all answers
Caroline asked a question May 2021
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom131 contributions123 helpful votes
In the balcony rooms is they a table and chairs on the balcony to sit out on ?
Answer from Nigel B
Halifax, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes the balconies have a table and chairs
Show all answers
Answer from Avril M
Bleasby, United Kingdom20 contributions28 helpful votes
I got a refund from third party Agent
Show all answers
Answer from AliDexB
Leicester, United Kingdom39 contributions21 helpful votes
I don’t know, we didn’t stay. Only ate there. Dogs were allowed in the pub
olive dh asked a question Oct 2019
Newcastle, United Kingdom24 contributions15 helpful votes
Are you dog friendly
Answer from marganne2015
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom34 contributions15 helpful votes
Yes dog friendly
Relax31919278184 wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take lots of money for the bar "
Read full review
Wingnut007 wrote a tip Jan 2024
10 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else. Even without mould it is not worth the money"
Read full review
shalaw444 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom28 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid afternoon tea"
Read full review
Emily B wrote a tip Aug 2023
Kendal, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dog friendly and great food"
Read full review
Gill M wrote a tip Jul 2023
Harrogate, United Kingdom32 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The balcony rooms are well worth the bit extra !! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whitby area.
PRICE RANGE
£85 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireScarborough DistrictWhitby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WHITE HOUSE INN - Updated 2024 Reviews (Whitby)

Frequently Asked Questions about The White House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The White House Inn?
Nearby attractions include Whitby Distillery (2.0 miles), Whitby Museum (0.8 miles), and RNLI Lifeboat museum (0.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The White House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The White House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The White House Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The White House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lush Coffee, Mr Cooper’s Coffee House, and sandgate coffee & delights.
Is The White House Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Whitby.
Are there any historical sites close to The White House Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mulgrave Castle (2.8 miles), Whitby Town Railway Station (1.0 miles), and Ruswarp Railway Station (1.6 miles).
Does The White House Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The White House Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.