The Stables
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Stables

Traveller (368)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (37)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#25 of 58 guest houses in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
From its high emphasis on sourcing local produce, to Courtyard rooms, The Stables offers dining and accommodation just 2 miles from the seaside town of Whitby. The restaurant serves a varied seasonal menu in a rustic setting, with exposed beams and flagstone floors. The views of the Esk Valley can be enjoyed from the garden room complete with its own log burner. Guests can relax in the bar area complete with a traditional working cast iron range or by the garden pond which has its own thatched pagoda island. On the edge of Whitby, Cross Butts is where town really meets country. A perfect base for exploring nearby Sandsend, Robin Hood’s Bay and the beautiful North York Moors National Park.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Sun terrace
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Guisborough Road, Whitby YO21 1TL England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 36 out of 100
36
Durham Tees Valley Airport
30.9 mi
See all flights
715Reviews6Q+A92Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 466
  • 121
  • 53
  • 32
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DandK490 wrote a review Jul 2022
Sudbury, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is well located, nearby is the park and ride for visiting Whitby. It’s a very interesting building with lovely outside area with wonderful views. The room we had was unusually designed with well equipped bathroom which had jacuzzi bath and shower cubicle. The four poster bed was surprisingly comfortable. One night bed and breakfast is expensive but I think the surroundings and facilities reflect this money. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Our evening meal did not meet the standard of the hotel surroundings as it was not so good pub grub at best. We avoided the wine list as we found a wine we had had in the past marked up for twice the price here. Breakfast was good though so all in all it was an okay visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the wine list. Good parking. Good location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Inn Collection Group, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stables
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to be reviewed. Guest satisfactory is a top priority of ours and we are always looking at ways to improve our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hels wrote a review May 2022
Ipswich, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Stables with my Sister and Brother in Law for 4 nights at the end of April. It was just lovely, from the great rooms, to the delicious food and fabulous staff.

Our room was well appointed with a lovely bathroom including a shower and a spa bath and the bed was elevated on a mezzanine floor. The bed itself was so so comfortable, fabulous for my back, not a twinge for four nights!

The staff at this hotel really helped to make the stay special. A big shout out to Hannah (trainee manager) who was so helpful, polite and friendly and to Tina and John in the restaurant and bar. Again, lovely friendly and helpful staff.

We would not hesitate to return to this lovely hotel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Inn Collection Group, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stables
Responded 11 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, it’s a pleasure to read such a lovely review. I will ensure the team are in receipt of your kind words and we hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bloodaxe01 wrote a review Feb 2020
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First time at Cross Butts we had been given a voucher as a Christmas present, it was a Saturday so we booked a table glad we did as it was busy and that was at 14:00 hrs.
I have to say Cross Butts is a very nice venue the 2 stags in bronze in the garden are amazing there are things to discover all over the place inside and out.
We were quickly shown to our table and the drinks order taken we ordered 2 Timothy Taylor and 2 Yorkshire lagers I tried my wife’s lager and I have to say it was very good.
We ordered our food 2 x Whitby cod and chips 1 x Scampi and 1 x fully loaded steak burger with smoked bacon our food arrived after a short wait.
The cod chips and mushy peas were very nice the cod moist and the batter was very good the chips also good hand cut no frozen chips here cooked perfectly as was the scampi and chips both were served with tartar sauce.
The burger my bro in law said was excellent a nice thick burger and again cooked perfectly none of us had any complaints.
It’s not the cheapest of places but then again not over expensive and the quality and cooking is of a high standard I will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mojo Ack wrote a review Aug 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It was my first time in Whitby and I decided to stay here in the standard double room. The room was beautiful with the carved wood features and exposed beams. The lighting was cosy and the courtyard was very quaint (and felt safe, which was important for me as I was staying alone). However unfortunately the negatives started to outweigh the positives, which is a shame because this place has a lot of potential. The room was not up to mark when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene. I found a multiple bits of hair on the bed and within the duvet cover - this really put me off and I ended up having to have to take off the whole duvet and give it a shake before bed to make sure I didn’t come across anymore that would put me off. The bathroom is a wetroom, which is fine. However, it would be really helpful if footwear (slippers or flip flops) can be provided for the room and bathroom, as it can get a mess with the water reaching all the way to the toilet and sink from the shower. If you stay here, I would recommend bringing your own just in case. The rinsing glasses in the bathroom were also grimy in the corners and needed a good clean. Were it not for the above hygiene issues (which I hope is addressed moving forwards), I would definitely stay here again as the room really does have potential.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Newvastlemonkey wrote a review Oct 2022
Newcastle
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited for our wedding anniversary in early September. We chose the room as it was advertised as superior with a jacuzzi bath, at £221 night we hoped it would be a special treat. On arrival our room did not have a jacuzzi bath, just a shower. We showed our booking with linked photos of the jacuzzi bath and they confirmed it was their error. All other rooms were full so they couldn’t move us but the manager promised to speak to head office to ‘see what they could do’ for us.

Our room was on two floors, bedroom at the top with a double bed but due to the sloped ceiling on one side you will keep hitting your head when walking to that side of the bed. Downstairs has a leather sofa, tv and kettle and the shower room. No fridge, which was a shame. Heating is under floor and takes a while to kick in, even in early Sept the room was cold as it was a barn conversion.

We ate in the restaurant both nights as there is nowhere else in walking distance. Very limited choices. On one night I had to return my burger as it was raw in the middle and my husband had eaten his meal before my meal arrived. They did give me a free cocktail as an apology. The restaurant meals are pub grub standard with higher end prices.

The park and ride is within walking distance which is handy for Whitby itself.

Breakfast was ok with a few choices.

On checkout we asked about the solution to our room issue as it was missold to us. We were told we would be contacted, it’s been 6 weeks and we never have been.

All in all a disappointing anniversary weekend, wish we’d saved the £442 we paid for the weekend and stayed at home.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan G wrote a review Oct 2022
Sunderland, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Room, rates, location and the staff were all fantastic. They really made our night away memorable, absolutely gobsmacked at how beautiful the room was, especially at the price we paid. Park and ride directly across from the hotel made it so easy to go into town and only 6 pound in a taxi back at night
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Use the park and ride opposite hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bubblybabe22 wrote a review Sept 2020
Pontefract, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel and lovely mezzanine room. Extremely clean.
Little touches like the slippers and bathrobes were appreciated.
The grounds seemed lovely however because of the weather we couldn’t explore them.
Park and ride over the road is handy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PEALZ wrote a review Nov 2021
Cambridgeshire
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night at The Stables and were delighted with the service we received. The room ( a double mezzanine in the Stables) was spotlessly clean and comfortable, and perfect for a dog, with its easy access to outside. The bed was very comfortable indeed, the shower excellent and everything worked well including the cosy wood burner. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service efficient and friendly. The place is very well maintained inside and out and has a rustic charm with great views and animals and birds in the gardens. Although there is some low level traffic noise from the roundabout, it was not disturbing ( and I am a light sleeper !) We would definitely choose The Stables again if we were to visit the area again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stables rooms are good if you have a dog. Although close to the road, this was not an issue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hdenderwick wrote a review Feb 2022
Stokesley, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dry salmon evening meal. Cold rice sickly sweet salsa of some sort
I was asked twice that I’d have to pay for extra salad.
Gin drinks lovely but £8.95!?!
Rooms with no ventilation, uncomfortable matteress lumpy and passed best suspect cheaper range
Mismatched furniture with some sort of plant pot thing?? Heater and fan stood in corner of room.
Bathroom in need of revamp.
Staff friendly and breakfast a nice surprise.
Unfortunately won’t return. Shame. Had high hopes
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Inn Collection Group, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stables
Responded 11 May 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise if we were unable to meet your expectations on your recent visit. Guest satisfaction is a top priority of ours, we always encourage guests to notify us of anything they may need so we have the chance to correct it. We hope to see you again and provide you will our true experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chelsi D wrote a review 4 Jun
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my husband have just returned from a weekend away in Whitby and stayed at The Stables. On arrival the views were amazing and the accommodation lovely. The staff’s were lovely and very welcoming. Whitby town is around a 45 min walk from the hotel which is all paths so is very safe, if you are a quick walker then this can be done easily within 20/25 mins which is what we did it in. Park and ride is right outside the hotel which runs every 15 mins, and a short taxi ride is around £8.

Staff were very welcoming, the room was great, we paid for a feature room which was lovely clean and very comftable nights sleep. On a warm day the room can be quite hot however there were 2 fans one on the living room
And bedroom which were a great touch.

The only downside to our room was we paid for a Spa bath however to my disappoint it did not work,after paying for a feature room I would have thought this would have been checked but as we were only there for 1 night I did not mentioned it. ( probz should have!) and managed to freshen up with the lovely shower.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely. You have to order the hot breakfast at the bar but it comes very quick very tastey and hot.

Thank you for a great stay we will be back 😊
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Cheryl
Whitby, United Kingdom
Hello please call 01947 820986 Monday to Friday 9am until 4pm and ask for Nicki.
STEWART W asked a question Nov 2016
1 contribution
booking Christmas day lunch
Answer from ShadyLady2014
Whitby, United Kingdom7 contributions9 helpful votes
We have limited availability left for Christmas Day. Please contact reception on 01947 820986, thanks, the Stables team
Maureen1077005 asked a question Oct 2015
Guisborough, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
How much is your Xmas day lunch please
Answer from Cheryl
Whitby, United Kingdom
Good afternoon, Many thanks for your enquiry. Our Christmas lunch is £75, we are now fully booked. Kind regards Nicki
Collette B wrote a tip May 2024
Northwich, United Kingdom10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A taxi into Whitby is around £7"
Read full review
Constablefamily33 wrote a tip May 2024
Costa del Sol, Spain78 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The dinner menu is very good"
Read full review
steve b wrote a tip Apr 2024
Wakefield, United Kingdom13 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"use the Park and ride opposite the hotel its cheap and its not worth taking your car into Whitby as parking is a pain"
Read full review
Jessica G wrote a tip Apr 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast starts at 730. Get in early for dinner. Check the menu stock each day. Packed lunches available to order. "
Read full review
wingrove s wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a courtyard room I think"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whitby area.
PRICE RANGE
£115 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cross butts hotel and stable
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Cross Butts Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireScarborough DistrictWhitby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE STABLES - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Stables
Which popular attractions are close to The Stables?
Nearby attractions include Whitby Distillery (2.0 miles), North Yorkshire Off Road Centre (5.0 miles), and Whitby Museum (1.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Stables?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Stables?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Stables?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Stables?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lush Coffee, Mr Cooper’s Coffee House, and sandgate coffee & delights.
Are there any historical sites close to The Stables?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mulgrave Castle (2.4 miles), Whitby Town Railway Station (1.4 miles), and Ruswarp Railway Station (1.0 miles).
Is The Stables accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Whitby HotelsWhitby Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WhitbyHotels near The Stables
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire