We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Fat Badger

2-4 High Petergate City Centre, York YO1 7EH England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (454)
Room & Suite (125)
Dining (73)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 25 inns in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Adjoining Bootham Bar, The Fat Badger offers en-suite rooms with free WiFi, flat-screen TV’s and Modern British food. Each of the twelve rooms have been individually decorated, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Some of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn also offers real ales from local breweries. York Minster is just a 2-minute walk away and both the National Railway Museum and The Shambles are within a 10-minute walk too. Parking is also available close by.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1540Reviews15Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 706
  • 471
  • 195
  • 118
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Glenn C wrote a review 22 Feb
Cambridge, United Kingdom4 contributions
Within 100 m walk of York Minster, there can surely be no better place to overnight in York, than the Fat Badger. This wonderful establishment brings a whole new meaning to the term “Compact and Bijou”. Our room (“the Attic”) lived up to its name. A key enabled door revealed, Alice-in-Wonderland-like, an almost vertical set of steps circling above to a mysterious and dark place. Having succeeded in our ascent, we established base camp in “the Attic”. It did not disappoint: it was spacious, very comfortable and clean. We spent a very peaceful night before our exploration of York commenced the following day. Before that, though, we were able to enjoy the fine cuisine on offer at the restaurant within, featuring traditional English fare and fine ales of the highest quality. In particular, we recommend the haddock and chips. The re-provisioning, the following day, was no less impressive, the highlight being on the first word of our Full English breakfasts. Thank you to the team at the Fat Badger , especially Debbie at breakfast; we will return!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nic G wrote a review 17 Feb
1 contribution
Had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Fat Badger in York. From check in to departure, couldn’t have been better. Lovely bedroom, fabulous location, great food, excellent service from everyone especially Alice and Debbie. Thank you so much for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DL770 wrote a review 16 Feb
Powys, United Kingdom28 contributions16 helpful votes
We made a reservation to this hotel for an evening meal because it’s in a fabulous position in York and it looked so welcoming from the outside. We were seated in a gorgeous room with dark wall and cosy decor and the serving staff were efficient and friendly. The soup for a starter was superb, probably the best soup our party of 4 has had for a very long time. 3 of our party had the curry and I had the fish pie, every plate was thoroughly cleaned at the end and we were all suitably satisfied with our delicious dishes. We definitely will be back and will book a room next time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
EnglishGent750 wrote a review 12 Feb
Sandsend, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
A really good afternoon pint (or 2) of Timothy Taylor's Landlord. Well kept beer and well kept, friendly and chatty staff. A real treat compared to soulless interaction at other bars/pubs where the staff come across as wishing they were somewhere else, which, oddly, is where the customers want to be as well. A great gig recommendation provided for St Patrick's Day at The Crescent in York by Allanah.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Can get busy at the weekends
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dawny wrote a review 8 Feb
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom1 contribution
I went to check in at the hotel last night ,and I have stage 3 heart failure, no where on the information actually states that there is lots of stairs,they put me in room 9 right at the top,when I explained my situation they said I could walk round to 2 of their sister hotels and see if they have a lower floor , I can’t walk far at all so that wasn’t possible, it took me half an hour to climb the stairs, and I was so ill by the time I got to the top , that I couldn’t come back downstairs to get any food or breakfast, their was no help available at all ,so all night I had no food , then I sat on the bed and the top of the bed was broken, so I had to sleep at the bottom of the bed width way , as to not disturb the broken bit , I had no sleep at all , and I couldn’t come back down all those stairs to let them know , the toilet did not flush , and the electric socket was an extension lead hanging from the back of the tv, I only just managed to get downstairs this morning, and was totally ignored on checkout, by the time I got to my work meeting I was in so much distress I had to be sent home , what an absolute appalling way to be treated
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don’t go if you have disabilities
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Marketing at The Fat Badger
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review Dawn, I am very sorry to read your comments. i do apologize that you struggled up our stairs at Fat Badger. If you had made us aware of your disability prior to your arrival we would made the arrangements to have placed you on a lower floor. Unfortunately once you arrived later in the evening, all of the rooms had checked in. I am really sorry you were sent home early from your meeting. Please contact myself directly if you would like to discuss further Thank you Michael gm@thefatbadgeryork.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bigboy wrote a review Jan 2024
Grand Cayman9 contributions1 helpful vote
Love the hotel, so much history and charm. The restaurant has amazing dishes. A particular favourite of mine was the Moroccan Tagine, delicious. My wife loved the Badger burger! Bar has some great local beer and gin, the staff are all so helpful and great at recommending beer or gins if you’re not familiar. Rooms cleaned each afternoon and refreshed with soft towels. Overall a fantastic stay and we cannot wait to return Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Marketing at The Fat Badger
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review MLafer, We really appreciate your comments and very much look forward to welcoming you back. Cheers Fat Badger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anthony W wrote a review Jan 2024
Leeds, United Kingdom63 contributions31 helpful votes
We were booked at 14:30 on Christmas day and were we all really looking forward. Our expectations were more than met, the decor and ambiance are really inviting and atmospheric and perfect for a Christmas dinner in York. We were greeted at the door and seated straight to our table, the staff from the off were extremely pleasant and very friendly. We had canapes of KFP ( Kentucky fried partridge ), pigs in blankets and mackerel puree. Then we all opted for a classic Christmas turkey dinner which was cooked to perfection. Then there was the dessert course. Well by this time we had to ask for our petite fours to be boxed up because we were done. It was flawless from start to finish, we weren't rushed and couldn't have been ,made to feel more welcome! If your thinking of booking Christmas 2024 you wont be disappointed if they keep up these high standards. Thank you to The Fat Badger York from my family to yours.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Marketing at The Fat Badger
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Anthony, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a brilliant review - we're so happy to hear that you had a wonderful meal with us all-round. We agree that our chefs did a flawless job with creating this Christmas' menu, and we can assure you that next year will live up to it's excellence once again. We really hope that you choose us again to host your family Christmas! Cheers, The Fat Badger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kerry wrote a review Jan 2024
Godalming, United Kingdom1 contribution
We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Fat Badger under their dinner bed and breakfast package, which ended up costing us over £600. We were really looking forward to it and had been wooed by their website and the fact we had booked a superior room. Unfortunately the price and quality were an ill match. The room we had (room 6) was small and rather basically fitted, the radiator in the bathroom was broken (it couldn’t be turned down or off without the staff turning off the heating to the whole building) leaving the room feeling like a furnace, the bathroom door wouldn’t close fully so you had to sit on the toilet with the door ajar, the light fitting over the sink was broken and the room was affected by a loud humming noise from what we’re assuming was an extractor fan outside. It was also overlooked from a nearby footpath so we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time. We notice from past reviews that other people have had similar problems with the radiators and the management had responded more than once to say they had all been fixed and retested but clearly there are still issues. It’s also worth noting that the £25 allowance for dinner doesn’t cover the cost of dinner, unless you limit yourself to just one course. There were some redeeming qualities and the staff are very nice but overall we feel that the package was very overpriced for what is essentially a small and problematic room above a pub.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Marketing at The Fat Badger
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, I appreciate your comments regarding our room maintenance, since reading this all of the issues raised have been fixed. I hope you return in the near future and see all the improvements made, Cheers Fat Badger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jane W wrote a review Dec 2023
York, United Kingdom2 contributions
We visited the Fat Badger in York as a party of 9 for dinner last night. I can’t praise it enough. The food was great but the staff were AMAZING. We were demanding and they were fast, accurate, obliging and just great. Thank you so much for helping us have a memorable Christmas Eve.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Marketing at The Fat Badger
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, We're delighted to hear that our staff really showed up to provide you with such an excellent group meal. We've passed your review onto the team and they're all thrilled to hear how much you appreciated their efforts. We hope to host for you again. Cheers, The Fat Badger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mrs B wrote a review Dec 2023
25 contributions2 helpful votes
We came as a family last Christmas and based on that experience returned. Food this year was as good but be prepared to pay more than your average gastro pub. The children’s menu was rather limited but then we wouldn’t recommend for younger families. Initially, we had trouble booking (it’s very popular). As we knew they were busy we were aware that we needed to be away from the table for another group. Sadly, the puddings took a long time to come which delayed us and left us feeling like we were being rushed out of the pub at the end of the meal. There is a lovely atmosphere, the snug is great for groups wanting to be away from it all and drinks selection had something for everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Team, Marketing at The Fat Badger
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, Thank you for choosing us to cater for your family meal. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cosy atmosphere of our snug, and our chefs will be delighted to hear that you loved the food once again. We have recently added some new dishes to our children's menu following some similar feedback to yours, so do consider us again if you are looking for a family-friendly meal! We apologise for the wait on your desserts - we aim for fast and efficient service, especially for big occasions such as Christmas. We'll look at ways to quicken cooking times for desserts to ensure that next Christmas can be even better for our guests - hopefully you'll be one of them again! Cheers, The Fat Badger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the York area.
PRICE RANGE
£76 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lamb and lion hotel york
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lamb & Lion Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE FAT BADGER - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison (York)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Fat Badger
Which popular attractions are close to The Fat Badger?
Nearby attractions include York Minster (0.1 miles), Shambles (0.3 miles), and The Hilt (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Fat Badger?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at The Fat Badger?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Fat Badger?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Fat Badger?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wheldrakes, The Taylor Made Kitchen, and Cocoa Joe's.
Is The Fat Badger located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of York.
Are there any historical sites close to The Fat Badger?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.4 miles), Holy Trinity Church (0.2 miles), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.4 miles).
Does The Fat Badger have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.