We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Fort Boutique Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Fort Boutique Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 593: English reviews
Stuttgart
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed for one night in the middle of the week, and it was not too busy. The location is very convenient as the hostel is right in the city centre, however it can be a little noisy when there are people outside bars in the street. It was nice to have separate/single bathrooms, each with a toilet and shower,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cloud W
York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was clean and despite other reviews of the beds being uncomfortable I have not found them to be a problem. Its great that each bed is in it's own little pod with room beside the bed and an individual light. I loved the added extras like: Free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cordial Free use of washer and dryers...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Fort Boutique Hostel is located right in the city center of York and easy to find from the main train station (15 minutes walk). The tenants are lovely and the rooms are luxurious even as dormitories. The facilities are clean and modern. It includes many bathrooms, kitchens with everything you need and a free computer. Bed linen, towel, soap,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreeYMind
Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to visit. Nice and cozy room and fantastically clean bathroom, nice people.... I'd been in London and visited 3 hostels and this is the best I've been in England. There is key dopisits abou 15 pounds but it's refundable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yoon-a S
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel. Clean and good amenities. Bit noisy due to the pub/club underneath tho. Pub next door attached was great good food nand twenty per cent off all drinks and food inclued. Can't beat that. Lovely staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Del L
Karen W, Front Office Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. Its great to see you used your discount in the bar and restaurant. We hope you come and visit gain soon in the near future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrific location right in the centre of York, with everything you could want. I stayed with a couple of friends for my birthday, right from the start while booking via email, the staff were extremely helpful setting us up in a private room for just the three of us. The first of our group arrived separately from up north (before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeanGarland
Karen W, Front Office Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the birthday celebrations. We hope you come and visit again soon!!

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really good facilities lovely warm clean rooms the bath towels are great and complimentary tea coffee juice etc was a lovely surprise but the noise was dreadful! We had read previous reviews but we assumed it was just usual city noise as no one had really decried it. From our room (the photo room) it felt like we had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roisin B
Karen W, Front Office Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you didn't completely enjoy your stay. We are above a busy bar and in the City Centre unfortunately its the price to pay for the central location. We do try our best to make sure our guests enjoy their stay. We hope you come back again and give us...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Place was clean and safe, not cramped. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Nice breakfast, bar, and dining facility. A little far from the Tube and farther out from the city center than I prefer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiajudy
Karen W, Front Office Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Though I am a little confused. We dont have the Tube in York and we are very central, in fact you cant get anymore central! Have you got the right place? We hope you did stay with us and enjoyed our Hostel. We wish you a Happy New Year and we hope to see you...

Reviewed 11 December 2016

We booked an ensuite room here on a sunday afternoon as we had a couple of mulled wines at the market and didn't want to drive home. We stayed in the Photo room and it was perfectly adequate. Good double bed and a good sized bathroom with a shower ensuite, which was important too us. The room was up a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plasmasgal
Karen W, Front Office Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope you do come and visit us again soon. Also take advantage of the discount you get at Kennedys.

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for my hen do, its in the perfect location and a quick walk to the bars. Really cheap, clean and great for groups. Access to a shared kitchen and bathrooms. No need to take sleeping bags or towels as bedding/towels/ ironing facilities/ glasses/ hair dryer provided. Would reccommend taking coat hangers with you. There are some hangers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L1M5W10
Karen W, Front Office Manager at The Fort Boutique Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Fort as well as Kennedy's. We hope you Come and visit again soon and all the best for the wedding.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#15 of 46 in York
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fort is York’s first boutique hostel. Nestled within the city walls just off the historic Stonegate, the luxurious accommodation comprises of five private, themed rooms each offering a wet room, flat screen TV and Wi-Fi, a large common room with wide screen TV, plus seven mixed dormitory’s perfect for group bookings, couples & travellers. As The Fort is located conveniently in the heart of York access is by foot, we are located approximately 10 minutes from the train station. The main high street shops, bars and restaurants are right on the doorstep and we are just a stone throw away from York’s main attractions including the York Minster, Jorvik Viking Museum and York Castle Museum ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fort Boutique Hostel

Address: 1 Little Stonegate, York YO1 8AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: £35 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fort Boutique Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Fort Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fort Boutique Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Fort Boutique Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Towels supplied!! Can not think of ant faults.”
 of 5 bubbles jaynedwyer12, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 Retro room - comfortable though beds quite narrow. Nice wet room. Crisp clean bedlinen.”
 of 5 bubbles KeepMum, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Was worth our family party of 6 paying the extra money to keep 8 bed room to ourselves. Just having the extra space and not risk disturbing others!”
 of 5 bubbles Q4019YQhelenj, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Padlock cages for luggage and better soundproofing and ventilation. The rooms are pretty hot!”
 of 5 bubbles G9154ARjohnw, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Double privert ”
 of 5 bubbles sydney381, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay