We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton York

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton York
Hilton York
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,441: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just laid in bed in the Hilton writing this!! Nice and clean, nice friendly staff, easy quick checkin and car collection by concierge. We paid only £85 for the room and £19 for the parking. Cheap and cheerful. Lovely bar area. Excellent location, just a stone throw from town and lovely view of the castle. Would recommend..... 😀.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thrilled to read you had a lovely stay and found my team to be most friendly and the rooms nice and clean. We are fortunate to be in such a central location for visiting York. Thank you for recommending the Hilton York and we look forward to welcoming...

manchester
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed her 31st Dec 2016, Valet parking on arrival, easy check in. We had a 3rd floor room which looked out to the tower. Iron, hairdryer, 2 x robes, toiletries. A welcome pack of a bottle of red win, still and sparkling water, crisps and chocolate which was a nice surprise. The hotel is ideally located with shopping and tourist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmcManchester
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear cmcManchester, Many thanks for your five star review. Delighted to read you had a great stay and found our location ideal for visiting the many attractions of York. Pleased to note you enjoyed our welcome pack and found the view of Clifford's Tower lovely. Thank you for your kind comments and I have shared them with my team. We...

South Yorkshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here with my partner for a couple of nights during the winter food fayre in York. As a regular guest at Hilton hotels I chose this particular hotel both for its fantastic location right in the city centre and because i know what to expect from the Hilton brand. We booked a standard double room, which was all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
HiltonYork, Front Office Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Mick M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, we are very lucky to be so central to all the main attractions that York has to offer. I am pleased you found the room to be to your...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Bed was the worst, most uncomfortable I have ever slept in and room was smelly. Noisy guests as well that went on until after 11.30pm and reception did not appear to respond to my complaint at 10.00pm.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ingridc948
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear ingridc948, Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback following your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you had with noise and with the room your were allocated during your stay. I have shared your feedback with my Management team who are taking the appropriate actions to ensure that we improve the standards...

Retford
Reviewed 1 week ago

Central location for visiting the city, and easy to get to by car. Valet parking and retrieval makes life so easy. Rooms really comfortable and quiet. Would recommend to anyone wanting a stress free weekend in York.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear David S, Many thanks for your five star review. It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback and pleased that you had a lovely stay and found our valet parking service convenient and the hotels location ideal. Thank you for recommending the Hilton York and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards,...

Billericay
Reviewed 1 week ago

The worst thing about our stay was the breakfast. It was cold. I asked the "chef" for a poached egg and she loaded a loan egg that had been sat there for a while, onto my plate. I touched it with the back of my hand and stated it was cold. She abruptly took the plate off me and slipped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C C
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear C C, Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to learn of your experience with regards to the breakfast, it is highly unusual to receive feedback of this nature as we do receive many favourable comments on our breakfast product. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and I have spoken...

Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed here in December, Firstly the room was not ready, then when we got in the room it was thick with dust along the headboard and the bedside lamps. Next at 4.40 the following morning the alarm clock went off, THEN at 8.30 the cleaner knocked on the door when we didn't answer she came in. We did complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine O
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Elaine O, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your experience at Hilton York. I am disappointed to read that we have not been able to fulfil your expectations of what you have come to expect from Hilton Hotels. Your comments have been taken most seriously and I have shared them with my Management team...

San Francisco
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had returned for New Year again based on our experience the previous year. Due to the lack of entertainment we feel it is quite expensive for what you receive, also the breakfast goes cold very quickly, but overall the service was very good.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank horrocks1959
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear horrocks1959, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. Your comments have been noted and will prove most useful when we come to review our products and services for the New Year. Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful staff in a hotel within the city walls that tries to keep old world standards and charm even though it is difficult as the building is old. We think it just added to the experience because it is impossible to have complete modern comforts in old buildings.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca D, Thank you for your five star review. Delighted to read you had a lovely time and found my team most 'wonderful' . It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback and I have shared your lovely comments with all my team as they serve as a great motivator. We look forward to welcoming you back in...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff were simply amazing! They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The location was also perfect. However, our "upgraded" room was very small, the bed very uncomfortable, and bathroom shower extremely small. Was disappointed in the accommodations but the terrific service by front desk staff helped make up for it!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary20172017
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear mary20172017, Thank you for sharing your recent experience on Hilton York. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the size of the room. However I am pleased that you received terrific service by my team which made up for any shortfalls. Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of...

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Other (131)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
923 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: £84 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton York staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a tower view”
 of 5 bubbles cmcManchester, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The room with the view of the tower is very good”
 of 5 bubbles robw317, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor which was ideal”
 of 5 bubbles 491malcolmp, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“De-luxe twin or doubles on a high floor if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles ossiejolly, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't pick the suite as it is next to a busy street”
 of 5 bubbles LukeB1985, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay