We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel

Booking.comUS$109*
View Deal
#27 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 575: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
 Click to rate
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is practically next to the main shopping area of York and is very well located. A supermarket is a few minutes walk away and the room itself was well decorated and clean and tidy. I would stay here again and wouldn't hesitate recommending it. My only negative point was that there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dc6932015
Gary A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I am very pleased you had an enjoyable time with us and thank you so much for the recommendation. Just a note for future bookings, all rooms have tea/coffee making facilities in the room which are placed in the wardrobes for your pleasure....

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Got this stay on BEST WESTERN friends and family rate (£90) for the whole weekend (as I work for another BEST WESTERN Hotel) & I can honestly say I would have definitely paid the full price and more for this fabulous hotel. Staff were lovely, breakfast was really good and our room was stunning. Really central to York City Centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xjessx24
Gary A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Jess, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. Thank you for the really nice comments Jess. I'm really pleased you had a great time with us and you are welcome! Hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future Jess. All the best, Gary Auker Guest Relations...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for the fourth time, refurbishment now complete and did not disappoint. We were upgraded to a beautiful room on the third floor, very comfortable bed and plentiful supply of drinks and snacks. Breakfast choices were plentiful and delicious, service could be improved as we had to wait almost 10 minutes for the scrambled eggs to be replenished, then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gorsty60
Gary A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Many thanks for the nice review about your recent stay. It's great to know this has been your fourth visit to us and like the newly refurbished hotel. Our service standards are usually maintained at the highest level and I am sorry for any issues you experienced at breakfast. These comments have been noted for discussion. Kind regards,...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel was lovely very clean and staff were helpful and accommodating. The only down side was that the room we were allocated had en suite on an upper level via a spiral staircase. This was not ideal, when you take into account that me and my wife are both 60.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcd57
Management response:

Good afternoon, Many thanks for the nice review about your recent stay. I am very pleased you found the hotel cleanliness standards high and the service our hard working team deliver to be superior. If for any reason a room allocated to you does not suit your needs then please let us know and we can look into relocating you...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

One night stay booked online. Superb , modern, clean room with excellent facilities. Quiet location in the centre of York. Lovely breakfast served by very pleasant staff, especially Megan who was particularly charming. Definitely stay here again, thank you for our lovely experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike w
Management response:

Good evening Mike, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. Even though it was a quick visit I am really pleased you enjoyed the stay and liked our locally sourced buffet breakfasts we offer. They really are filling and set you up for the day! Thank you for the lovely comments regarding...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location is excellent. This nicely presented Hotel has a speedy check in and out. The lobby is very nice and is contemporary in style. Comfortable seating abounds And the interior design is tasteful and pleasant. The room was nice with tv etc, the kettles in the cupboard, took us a while to find it lol. The shower room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chapmanc123
Management response:

Good evening, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. It's great to read that you found the staff very professional and helpful during your stay with us. We do pride ourselves on the high levels of service so this is great. All comments have been noted for future discussion so thank you...

Shropshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have just left the Monkbar after our 2nd stay in less than 12 months and doubt that we will return. This has nothing to do with cleanliness, comfort of the bed or the friendliness and ability of the staff - all of the above is brilliant. My gripe is that having stayed in a standard room on both visits found...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tracey W
Management response:

Good afternoon Tracey, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I am very pleased you found the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff brilliant. Thank you. The comment regarding plug sockets have been noted. We are in the process of having a further 3 million pound refurbishment of the hotel as...

rochester kent
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would rate this hotel vey good to excellent for its food but the same cannot be said for the room. Although the hotel advertises its rooms as recently refurbished we are not so sure about that!. The bathroom was very small, sink size more appropriate to a toilet sink with a glass shelf immediately over it. The toilet seat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rochester604
Management response:

Good afternoon, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. Our location for visiting all York has to offer is really great and I am very pleased it suited you and you found it handy. I am pleased you very much enjoyed the food and experience in our Yorkshire Bar and Grill restaurant...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was a good size and bathroom was really clean and good stock of towels and other items. Staff were friendly and welcoming and the young bar man was great with his attitude and helpfulness. This was a family reunion of 22 so the evening meal could have caused some issues, overall I believe everyone thought it had gone well....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dpbarts
Gary A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I'm pleased you found the room nice, staff helpful (especially the barman) and our very convenient location. I hope you and the whole party really enjoyed your time with us in York. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Gary...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to York and staying at the Best Western Monkbar Hotel was the perfect location. The central attractions such as the York Minister and Clifford's Tower are within easy walking distance. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful assisting with a taxi to the train station and directions to tourist areas. Our room and bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warren T
Gary A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Warren, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. Our location for visiting all York has to offer is really great and I am very pleased it suited you and you found it handy. All the staff at the hotel are huge asset and we pride ourselves on the high levels...

324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (23)
Viewed
King Bedroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Bedoom (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following an extensive £3m refurbishment program the Monkbar Hotel has been transformed into a stunning contemporary, boutique hotel 4 star hotel. Now boasting 125 individually designed and decorated rooms, some overlooking our Yorkshire courtyard garden, others overlooking the City Walls and some with a Minster View. As any true destination hotel our restaurant - The Yorkshire Bar and Grill - will not disappoint. A stunning bar and grill concept open for brunch from 8am daily, you will be greeted by staff with a professional yet relaxed approach, who appreciate the importance of great service - and great coffee! During the day you can take your pick from modern tapas-style dishes made with the best of Yorkshire produce or be swept away with an incredible restaurant menu. Armchairs and booths make the bar a perfect place for meeting friends you can simply relax in the bar with a glass of locally distilled Mason's gin and tonic or on sunny days enjoy a bite to eat in the beautiful walled garden. Produce is key, so our Head Chef Ben and the team have chosen incredible local suppliers to create a seasonal menu that will showcase the best of local produce and put The Yorkshire bar and grill firmly on the culinary map. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel

Address: St. Maurices Road, York YO31 7JA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: £83 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in York
#13 Romantic Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Hertfordshire
2 months ago
14 days ago
2 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms with wheelchair access..book ahead!”
, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“No views so try and get one away from the road.”
keithd752, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“we we're hardly bothered by traffic noise, but if it would bother you you could always ask for a room further to the rear.”
kdodds54, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the attic rooms and those facing on to St Maurices Road. Two tones at traffic lights!”
MichaelHP7885EY, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Never had a bad room yet, take pot luck.”
W0ody, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$109* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$126
Expedia.comUS$110
TravelocityUS$110
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates