We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge York Central

Show Prices
#27 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge York Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 727: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The beds were clean and confortable, the bathroom was clean to a moderate standard. Unfortunately I dont think the floor had been vacuumed, and the bedroom bin was still full of rubbish from the previous guest. We had to wait 10 minutes for a member of staff to check us in as he was away from the desk, the corridors...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank coryb1990
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Travel Lodge in York in November. I normally don't write reviews for travel lodge's because they are usually up to the same standard, however I felt it necessary to write one for here. Location The location was fab, only a short walk away from the Shambles, it was our first time in York...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky878rae
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found your room to be clean. We’re sorry to learn that you were not allocated the room you originally booked due to problems with the room. We aim to provide a comfortable stay to all...

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked in september for are stay in january. The price was good having booked early. Very clean and great location. This trip was a family get together for a 50th birthday so we had 4 rooms in total on diffrent floors, all spotless.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T4805OCsharont
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room as it is our aim to provide all our guests with positive stays such as yours. We will be sure to pass your feedback on and we hope to see you again...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in December 2016. Hotel is close to City Centre Rooms are simple but contemporary. Staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast is not included but well worth the extra. Very Good value for the money. Would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN L
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s reassuring to hear you enjoyed a very good value for money stay and that you encountered polite, helpful staff members during your time with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you again for taking the time to review our York Central hotel.

Worksop
Reviewed 1 week ago

No one on reception had to wait 10 minutes and when he did arrive there was no apologies and didn't even look at us , it was very noisy all night and the bed was so uncomfortable myself and my husband are still suffering with back pain 2 days later ! On checking out we told the staff on reception...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank claireaW1541UL
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our York Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

North East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

You know what you get with Travelodge and the room was fine, hotel in a good location, Q secure parking nearby was reasonable £8 for 24hrs with voucher from reception (if hard to find). Great having Wetherspoons next door for cheap fry up and complimentary iced water for the hangover! Main problem was noise from about 7.30 am onwards anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthEast_76
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found us to be good value for money.We apologise that internal noise affected the comfort of your stay with us and will be sure to pass your comments onto the hotel manager. Thank you again...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed with my mum in the summer and we had a twin room. The small bed was really uncomfortable and the room was very noisy. Travelodge gave me an evoucher for the price of the room so me and my husband decided to give it another try. We were given room 210 which is in the lobby area right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moonchild484
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for submitting your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our York Central hotel. We will make the most...

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in this hotel twice now and will be returning again soon The hotel is clean and all of the staff are very happy and always make you welcome It is close to York town centre and there is lots of parking areas close by

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank steveni2017
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ideally placed for all York tourist attractions. Easy to find, very secure parking nearby for £8 per 24 hours which is all explained when you check in. Good room, clean, large. Efficient shower, nice and quiet. Tea and coffee facilities in the room and extras on the front desk to help yourself to. Good staff in the front desk who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moomersmum
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great Location near to all amenities Price is great value rooms could do with updating but on a two night stay wasn't too bothered as it's still very clean. There is no Carl park but you are offered discount at nearby Q park which is a five minute walk The staff could do with more training in customer service on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our York Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear of your experience with the reception team and we would like to reassure you that your comments have been passed to the hotel manager to ensure all team members are retrained in Customer Care. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service you received....

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.0 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#36 of 46 in York
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central

Address: 90 Piccadilly, York YO1 9NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge York Central 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge York Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Hotel York
Central Travelodge York
Travel Lodge York
York Travel Lodge
York Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge York Central staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge York Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get a room near lifts (e.g. 201)”
 of 5 bubbles NorthEast_76, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“not near the lift or above the bottle bins”
 of 5 bubbles Moonchild484, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 206. Lovely view out of the window in the morning (we arrived in the dark) of canal and city walls”
 of 5 bubbles ARM555, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A room at the back, away from the lifts, would definitely be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles justus1988, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“floor 3 for quiet rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Pepepotts, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay